Dr. Paul Shapiro MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Southfield, MI

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 65 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.2 (-0.2)

65 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    43%
  • Great
    8%
  • Good
    15%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    26%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 34 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
May 8th, 2017
Finger Surgery
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I injured my finger during a softball game and thought it was jammed. I waited two weeks to be seen by a doctor. I understand I had scar tissue built up during that time. I was seen in the emergency room at Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oak, MI. They tried to reset it and advised me to have surgery as soon as possible. I had surgery just two days later with Dr. Shapiro. He decided the best method would be to put two screws in the area that needed repair and to do PT after surgery. After surgery I started PT 3x/week for a little over 12 weeks with little progress. Dr. Shapiro is suggesting I may need to take the screws out and do a join replacement instead. I want to heal so I am open to ideas, as well as a second opinion. I am 11 months out of surgery and my knuckle is still very much enlarge, I cannot make a closed fist, it is painful, and the finger is useless.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2017
Very good doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's a top notch doc. Very good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 8th, 2016
Excellent Surgeon
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Performed a difficult surgery that restored use of my hand.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 30th, 2015
Shoulder And finger
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This dr is a very good dr fun to talk to him very expert he did a very good job for my shoulder And now he did an outstanding job for my finger after was injerd So far I am happy with booth operation I do recommend this Dr Nice and smart dr Thank you dr poul
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
dec 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Long waiting lm not happy with my hand surgery l had trigger finger
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 28th, 2015
Does not "LISTEN" to his patient
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This guy is a total DIVA. He has the GOD syndrome, He knows it all and the patient and even others don't. After having rotator cuff surgery, I told him many times I heard and felt (Grinding) in my shoulder. He said it was nothing and never even took an x-ray. I went thru 8 weeks of physical therapy by his direction and even the Physical Therapist called and told him I was no where close to getting where I should be and there was something wrong. He just said He's fine. Well after this I went and got a MRI done on my shoulder and it revealed it was still torn and full of fluid. I was recommended to a BETTER DOCTOR and upon giving him my MRI and he took several x-rays he found that not only was my rotator cuff still torn but now I need a total shoulder replacement because this full of himself doctor who doesn't listen to his patients. He didn't investigate further into my complaint of the noise and grinding in my shoulder.

1.0 of 5
April 17th, 2015
Worst Person I've Ever Met
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Rude, condescending arrogant. No PT recommended after joint replacement. I'm left with chronic pain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 13th, 2015
Save yourself the time, do not see Dr. Paul Shapiro
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Never going back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2015
stay away
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
he was a very rude did not listen to me when I told him there was still something wrong in my shoulder told me he fixed me and I needed to get over myself told me I was the first person in his entire surgeon history to tell him he didn't fix me I transferred to lansing to michael austin who is awesome but does have a long wait but well worth the wait after 2 more shoulder surgeries to repair the damage in my shoulder that dr. shapiro had missed so apparently I was glad I didn't listen to him and get over myself
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
October 14th, 2014
I had a good experience.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shapiro operated on both of my shoulders a few years ago and it all went very well. Recently I had a problem with my left shoulder and he gave me a shot & had an MRI done, sent me to therapy. I'm feeling so much better. I did wait way to long this time in the waiting room.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 5th, 2014
Stay away
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited over an hour and think he botched my cortisone injection not once but twice. Serious issues relate to customer service when calling office If you could give zero stars I would
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
March 26th, 2013
rude and doesn't listen
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
doctor Shapiro was short with me and it was hard to get test results and very hard to get somebody to call me back. I wish I never wasted my time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Paul Shapiro, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Southfield, MI.