Dr. Paul Thornton MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 32 patient ratings
  • 14 reviews

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.8)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    75%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    19%
  • Wait Time 25 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My son has been a patient of Dr. Thornton's for 5 years. He absolutely loves Dr. Thornton and feels he can ask him anything and get a straight answer. Dr. Thornton has a way of putting both parents and children at ease and has a great bedside manner. My son is turning 19 now and we have to transition out of Dr. Thornton's care and we will miss him. Whoever we choose to provide his adult care will have some very tough shoes to fill.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 20th, 2015
Totally Inappropriate
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Totally misdiagnosed and treated improperly. When Thornton saw that I was not improving with the improper treatment he blamed my health on a poor diet. He often used vulgar language in comments made against me and often blamed me for symptoms. He referred me to another doctor after he admitted he didn't know what to do with me. The next doctor immediately saw flaw in my diagnoses when looking at my old and current labs. He did not understand how Thornton could have come to that conclusion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 30th, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent Doctor...I will recommend him without a doubt. My daughter is doing very well and he takes the time to explain things to her and us in all of her visits.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 9th, 2012
Tough Love
Wait time
10 minutes
Dr. Thornton is a no-nonsense Doctor. He expects children to learn to take control of there illness and be able to manage their own care with parental support. He can get tough on teenagers but from my perspective that is a very good example of tough love.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 9th, 2012
Horrible.
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Appropriate Follow-up
I visited Dr. Thornton when I was 14 and diagnosed with an autoimmune disease. I was treated for about a year, and told that I might be able to cease taking my medication as the disease had gone into remission. I was told to get one more round of blood work, but unless I was called and told otherwise, I could stop taking the daily medicine. About 2 years later, I was exhibiting EXTREMELY bad symptoms (sudden weight gain, fatigue, joint pain, migraines, etc.) and I returned to Dr. Thornton. He scoffed at me and said that if I was worried about gaining weight, I should go on a diet because I'd simply been eating too much. That is something extremely upsetting to hear has a 17 year old girl.Even though it turned out that I had NEVER gone into remission the first time, and he had simply had failed to check my blood results when they came back, he told me that my problem wasn't bad enough to merit treatment and that it wouldn't help. I left his office in tears, with him telling me I should "seek counseling." I ignored my symptoms for another 18 months since he acted like they were no big deal. By the time they got so bad that I went to a different doctor, my blood work showed that my thyroid had essentially stopped functioning, and the doctor said it was amazing I was able to function day-to-day. I was told that I will absolutely need to take medication daily for the rest of my life, and always should have been. He is the absolute worst doctor I have ever had exposure to, or even heard about.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 28th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor and his nurse practioner were wonderful!!! They educate you and are there for you whenever you need them a true blessing
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 28th, 2011
Much improved!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The first time we saw Dr. Thornton was four years ago. He was seemed knowledgeable, but rather rude. Our 2nd visit, a year later, was about the same. Our last visit was two weeks ago, and what a difference!!! He was friendly, helpful, patient, and even spent about 30 minutes with us discussing my son's condition. Very happy with him now and impressed with the change!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 12th, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Thornton is thorough and speaks to my son "man to man." We drive a considerable way to see him, rather than someone closer, because of his professional skills and his excellent "bedside manner."
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2009
THE BEST EVER
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
if you are looking for a doctor that knows his stuff - see dr. thornton. each time i have to take my son into his office we leave feeling like we've spent time with an old family friend. he takes the time to answer any question no matter how silly it may sound. he will also take the time to teach you new things that might help with your childs care. i feel like everyone in his office cares about the patients and learns the family - best doctor ever!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 28th, 2009
Great experience
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was very informative and was able to connect with my child. Was joking around and made the visit a pleasure!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 25th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
he is rude and can get very nasty the first time I took my daughter I left in tears because of the hateful things he said to me. However I do still take my daughter to him because he is great at what he does and knows more about my daughters syndrome that anyone else she has seen. he is a great doctor but does indeed have a bad attitude and worse bed side manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 15th, 2009
Excellent Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Thornton has won my heart forever. He correctly diagnosed my son with having hyperinsulinism resulting in a surgery that has saved his life. I cannot say enough good things about him. If you are looking for a brilliant doctor, look no further!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Paul Thornton, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Fort Worth, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Timothy Mccavit

15 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Chanda Simpson

23 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Robert Ursprung

18 years experience

5.0 of 5