Dr. Paul Trautman MD Patient Reviews

  • Adolescent Medicine Ramsey, NJ

Overall Rating

2.5
  • 14 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 2.5)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    36%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    57%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 10 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 24th, 2016
Insensitive, moody, unprofessional
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Although Dr. Trautman spends a decent amount of time evaluating his patients and talking to them and his costs are reasonable, his bedside manner leaves much to be desired. At times, he does not return calls or takes several days to do so, regardless of the urgency. More recently, I was in need of medication (which he regularly prescribes me) and he refused to call it in because it was his day off. At times, he has been moody and rude on the phone, which is unacceptable for a psychiatrist, responsible for the well-being of vulnerable patients. I am searching for a new doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 13th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the rudest doctors ever! I've never been treated so awful my a person let alone a doctor in my life. For someone who should be compassionate, kind and helpful he is the total opposite.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 5th, 2015
Not really nice or helpful.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's really only interested in giving prescriptions and charging your insurance. No real interest in helping you with any issues. He lets you know point blank that he's not there for therapy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 6th, 2014
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Trautman has helped my child for the past 8 years. He is highly intelligent and knowledgeable. When he doesn't know something, he doesn't hesitate to do the research -- in other words, unlike many doctors, he doesn't need to act all-knowing and powerful. He is human and humane. He treats my child with respect and has made himself available during emergencies. I put only 3 stars for Bedside Manner because his personality is not particularly warm and "mushy". However, he shows much empathy and caring through his actions. He also takes various insurance when most psychiatrists have stopped doing that (i.e., he is absolutely not money-hungry).
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 14th, 2014
Irresponsible
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Trautman isn't interested in any kind of contact or treatment, he just wants to write a prescription and get patients in and out as quickly as possible. Beyond that he can be very irritable if he makes a mistake and you are forced to point it out; he has behaved childishly and vindictively. I don't this is appropriate for a psychiatrist (or any kind of doctor). I wonder if this is more common when doctors become elderly? Dr. Trautman is only in his sixties but early onset dementia is not uncommon in ones sixties.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 1st, 2011
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If your child has an eating disorder, do not go to this doctor! Inaccurate at diagnosis and prescribes medicines not supposed to be given to those with eating disorders. Does not answer phone calls from other therapists.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 16th, 2011
One of best psychiatrists I've ever had
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr. Trautman since early 2007, and during that time have had practically non-stop family and financial crises. During all this time, Dr. Trautman has been enormously supportive and kind, and extremely wise as well as accommodating during numerous stressful, emergency situations. He is also outstanding in his knowledge of pharmacology. This might sound like a paid advertisement, but I have had many psychiatrists, both for myself and for my family, over forty years, and Dr. Trautman is definitely, along with a few select others, the absolute tops. He is also a child and adolescent psychiatrist, and helped my family through two life-threatening emergencies for two teenagers; no one could not have done a better job. In addition, he has special expertise in my profession, which is an added bonus that I don't expect in a medical professional, but which has been a godsend. With deep thanks from a very grateful patient.

5.0 of 5
March 20th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 29th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 14th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 18th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 8th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Paul Trautman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Ramsey, NJ.