The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Paul Trautman Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Paul Trautman?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Paul Trautman?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    8
  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    8

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
10 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 14 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

June 24th, 2016

Insensitive, moody, unprofessional

Although Dr. Trautman spends a decent amount of time evaluating his patients and talking to them and his costs are reasonable, his bedside manner leaves much to be desired. At times, he does not return calls or takes several days to do so, regardless of the urgency. More recently, I was in need of medication (which he regularly prescribes me) and he refused to call it in because it was his day off. At times, he has been moody and rude on the phone, which is unacceptable for a psychiatrist, responsible for the well-being of vulnerable patients. I am searching for a new doctor.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 13th, 2016

One of the rudest doctors ever! I've never been treated so awful my a person let alone a doctor in my life. For someone who should be compassionate, kind and helpful he is the total opposite.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 5th, 2015

Not really nice or helpful.

He's really only interested in giving prescriptions and charging your insurance. No real interest in helping you with any issues. He lets you know point blank that he's not there for therapy.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 6th, 2014

Dr. Trautman has helped my child for the past 8 years. He is highly intelligent and knowledgeable. When he doesn't know something, he doesn't hesitate to do the research -- in other words, unlike many doctors, he doesn't need to act all-knowing and powerful. He is human and humane. He treats my child with respect and has made himself available during emergencies. I put only 3 stars for Bedside Manner because his personality is not particularly warm and "mushy". However, he shows much empathy and caring through his actions. He also takes various insurance when most psychiatrists have stopped doing that (i.e., he is absolutely not money-hungry).

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 14th, 2014

Irresponsible

Dr. Trautman isn't interested in any kind of contact or treatment, he just wants to write a prescription and get patients in and out as quickly as possible. Beyond that he can be very irritable if he makes a mistake and you are forced to point it out; he has behaved childishly and vindictively. I don't this is appropriate for a psychiatrist (or any kind of doctor). I wonder if this is more common when doctors become elderly? Dr. Trautman is only in his sixties but early onset dementia is not uncommon in ones sixties.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 1st, 2011

If your child has an eating disorder, do not go to this doctor! Inaccurate at diagnosis and prescribes medicines not supposed to be given to those with eating disorders. Does not answer phone calls from other therapists.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 16th, 2011

One of best psychiatrists I've ever had

I have been going to Dr. Trautman since early 2007, and during that time have had practically non-stop family and financial crises. During all this time, Dr. Trautman has been enormously supportive and kind, and extremely wise as well as accommodating during numerous stressful, emergency situations. He is also outstanding in his knowledge of pharmacology. This might sound like a paid advertisement, but I have had many psychiatrists, both for myself and for my family, over forty years, and Dr. Trautman is definitely, along with a few select others, the absolute tops. He is also a child and adolescent psychiatrist, and helped my family through two life-threatening emergencies for two teenagers; no one could not have done a better job. In addition, he has special expertise in my profession, which is an added bonus that I don't expect in a medical professional, but which has been a godsend. With deep thanks from a very grateful patient.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 20th, 2017

1.0 Rating

March 29th, 2016

5.0 Rating

March 14th, 2016

5.0 Rating

September 18th, 2015

1.0 Rating

June 8th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Paul Trautman is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Ramsey, NJ.

  • Dr. Mohab Hanna

    Dr. Mohab Hanna

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Ramsey, NJ 1.09 mi

    5.0
    (8)
    18
  • Dr. Elizabeth Crowley

    Dr. Elizabeth Crowley

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Ramsey, NJ 1.09 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    16
  • Dr. Indu Mirchandani

    Psychiatry

    Ramsey, NJ 1.45 mi

    3.4
    (5)
    43