The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Paul Zimmering Is this you?
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 8

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
17.7 min
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Paul Zimmering?


17 Ratings with 6 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 2nd, 2014

Orthopedic surgeon with the worst personality.

Seems like he likes his reputation as a short, bad tempered orthopedic surgeon. The rumor in the office is that three nurses quit because he is such a tyrant. Isn't it time for such an immature person in a doctor's outfit NOT to be tolerated? ACT like a real doctor...your job is to treat and comfort people who are sick. Your day-to-day mood swings should not be the issue of the patients who are there because THEY are sick not You who seems to have a sick personality. I am sure there are other doctors that are just as competent if not better. I am not tolerating Paul Zimmering's abusive temper and bad manners !!!

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

April 4th, 2014

Good surgeon with a bad personality

I heard him, through an open door, screaming at another patient about the patient hurting his staff members feelings. I knew that staffer, and she's insane, very difficult to carry on a conversation with; I felt bad for the patient. I think this guy is an average surgeon, but hearing that outburst really bothered me. I didn't like following up with Dr Zimmerings APRN; her pain control philosophy is borderline cruel. Sadly, I will go elsewhere for further surgery, if required; Midstate Hospital does not use a baseline/ maintenance IV med for pain control, so you have to push the self- medication button every 8 minutes for a teeny bit of pain med. NOT my idea of a fun time for a total hip replacement. In summary, a good surgeon ruined by a bad temper.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 31st, 2012

Terrible Experience

This is the first time I have ever commented on a doctor. But, after the experience I have had I feel compelled. After getting misdiagnosed by Dr. Zimmering, which caused further pain and healing time, he sent me a bill for that mistake. Then, after 2 more visits, each lasting about 5 minutes, he was unable to supply any direction regarding the recovering process. Especially since it is a fractured heel and effecting my ability to walk, I owe that information to my employers and FMLA regarding my recovery process. He doesn't give you the time of day and when you do ask questions, he is short and even went as far as opening the door during an appointment saying I won't answer any more questions, closing the door and cursing to his staff. No good!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 2nd, 2012

ACL and MCL reconstructed surgery

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 30th, 2012

Opinion of an RN

I've been with this group a long time - over 20 years. Zimmering has a pretty good bedside manner, to me. Smiles, jokes, serious when he needs to be. His diagnoses are accurate, and he gives me the options for treatment, the chances of success of each one. The wait time in the office varies; I have waited there as little as 5 minutes, with one awful wait of 96 minutes but that was unusual. Dr Willett's office staff recommended Zimmering to me, and I've been happy with him (and his recommended treatment).

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 16th, 2012

this doctor did not like answering any questions. it seemed to make him very agitated. his bedside manner stunk.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 19th, 2017

5.0 Rating

October 17th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

September 25th, 2017

1.0 Rating

June 12th, 2017

1.0 Rating

March 4th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me

4.0 Rating

November 24th, 2015

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Paul Zimmering is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Wallingford, CT.

  • Dr. Leonard Kolstad

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Wallingford, CT 0.01 mi

    4.4
    (11)
    41
  • Dr. Alfredo Axtmayer

    Dr. Alfredo Axtmayer

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Wallingford, CT 0.01 mi

    3.5
    (33)
    41
  • Dr. Jeffrey Pravda

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Wallingford, CT 0.35 mi

    4.2
    (25)
    33