Dr. Paulo Monteiro MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Jacksonville, FL

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 37 patient ratings
  • 18 comments

Last 12 months:

2.8 (-1.1)

37 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    59%
  • Great
    14%
  • Good
    3%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    22%
  • Wait Time 33.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 7th, 2017
Dr. Montiero is the best!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In the first place, the glory goes to God. Secondly, my precious Dr Monteiro. This man worked on me for 10.5 hours and the out come has been tremendous! I trust this man with my life. I can't say enough good about this wonderful surgeon. He is brilliant, compassionate, caring, and I highly recommend him to anyone who needs the very best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 8th, 2016
RUN!!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Ruined my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 21st, 2016
RUN AWAY
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Horrible time scheduling, always late, rude contemptuous staff, condescending bedside manor, not time for patients, won't admit mistakes, ruined my life for the last 2 years. Stay away at all costs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 5th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful, kind, conscience, excellent physician. I known him for 25 years with two surgeries by him. Both experiences were good experiences.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 13th, 2015
Our Hero
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Monteiro is our hero! He performed a very very difficult procedure with elegant technique and genuine caring. He was able to restore a quality of life that would have been lost without his intervention. He is a man with a gift for healing the body and the spirit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 24th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Arrived 15 minutes prior to appointment only me and one other person in waiting room. Still had to wait an hour to go back then sat in office waiting on doctor for another 30 minutes. Doctor looked very sleepy and did not ask a lot of questions. I felt like he did not take the time to answer my questions or give me any feedback on what my condition entails. The next thing he wanted was for me to have another test. That is the only time that he smiled and looked awake. Not very happy. May try another neurosurgeon before I have all these tests.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 2nd, 2014
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's a caring compassionate doctor. He stepped up to consult with my mothers end of life decisions. I see him once a year for an inoperable neck issue. He takes great care of me. Always available when I call, quit returns on those calls.He's taken care of my father and my son.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 26th, 2013
highly recommend
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I refer to Dr Monteiro as my angel and would recommend him to anyone. he performed emergency surgery on a herniated disc (L4 / L5) in 2009. Prior to the surgery, I was suffering from numbness in my leg, weakness in the leg and severe pain. When I woke up in recovery I was pain free and felt as though I could have got up and danced. The numbness faded over several months and I was thankfully able to resume a normal life. Due to a weak back and overall poor discs, I recently had to have surgery on the same disc and I'm very happy to report after just 8 weeks I am living a normal life. Therapy has reminded me how important it is that I keep up with an excercise plan to hopefully avoid another surgery. I highly recommend Dr Montiero. He is one of the most compassionate Dr's I've encountered and really takes the time to speak to me and walk me through what's going on and what's to be expected. I sometimes had to wait past my scheduled appt time but I recognize some patients needs may be greater than mine and therefore may take longer. The staff is always courteous when delays occur by giving me updates for expected wait times.

4.0 of 5
August 27th, 2012
experience
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My first two visits: I prefilled out all paper work got an spot rather quickly for a specialist. Wait time however was two & half. To three hr's. There were at least five to six all set up for 1:30 appointment. Recommended bring water and pain meds. Surgery was set up quickly one night in hospital replaced disc between C5 & C6 and fused. It has been a month arms still numb pain is worse but no more pinched nerve that is a blessing. Starting thearpy for headaches pain in neck, shoulders, arms, hands & back. But many positives staff so friendly and caring. With God's blessing this to will pass.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 1st, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Greatest neurosurgeon in the country. I have no more back pain. I would recommend him for any procedure he does. Thank god for his skills.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 29th, 2012
back surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Paulo Monteiro is a very caring Physician. He took considerable time with me and thoroughly explained the procedure. Follow up was exceptional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 26th, 2012
Gave me my life back.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After spending 4 months trying to resolve my back/sciatica issues withe another group, I went for a second opinion from Dr. Monteiro of the Lyerly Group. He immediately was able to diagnose the issue. He scheduled minimally invasive surgery within a week of determining the cause of my problem. I was in the OR at 8:30 AM and was back home having lunch by 1:30 that same afternoon. It was if the pain switch had been turned off. I am now back to my old self. I can not say enough positive things about the Lyerly Group and Dr. Monteiro.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Paulo Monteiro, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Jacksonville, FL.