Overall Review

3.0
  • 37 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 1.0)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    38%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    35%
  • Wait Time 30.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
January 2nd, 2016
I got tonsilitis maybe twice a year
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had I read these reviews I would never had ANY surgery ,never mind two. I went in for a tonsilectomy,and was told I also needed to have a septoplasty and that I would notice dramaticly the differance in my breathing..,and that "it would be a life changing experience" his words..,and it sure has,but unfortunately for me not for the better...Rite after surgery (and its documented) my saliva gland swelled like a balloon,and now two years later I live on antibiotics because I now have chronic sinusitis..My own Dr.told me had he known I was going to have this surgery he would of advised me not to..I felt like I was rushed into surgery,with out getting a second opinion..South Shore Hospital referred me..Looking back I would have gotten a second opinion ,and had let my primary know..but I have found some really good drs through all this,and have found out there are procedures that can fix my saliva gland with out a scapple.by simply dialating the gland..I wish I could go back two years,but I can't .Now I have two swollen eyes,and 1/2,my right face (same side as gland that swells) coincidence? that's swollen ,black,and puffy. It has taken away from my looks ,thats for sure...Please Always get A second opinion,dont be rushed,because you cant go back,and fix...peace
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 27th, 2015
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Overly aggressive in surgery and post op care. I had complications and had to go to another practitioner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 6th, 2015
PATIENT
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really wish I had read these reviews before I went to see Dr. Ambrus. All he wants to do is rip apart your head with surgery....there is no other solution. The surgeries are unneeded. He has no regards for his patients, just for the month he will make from yet another surgery. He should not even be practicing!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 10th, 2014
Surgery Happy Doctor
I was recommended to Ambrus by my early teen son's pediatrician for nose bleeds which occur often in the winter with a dry home heating system. I give Ambrus one star because he did cauterize the blood vessel well. However, he said my son had a deviated septum and will absolutely need surgery to correct it or the nose bleeds will never stop. We followed up two weeks later and I asked to see the deviated septum. It was deviated for I could tell when he showed me from studying them online in photos and videos before our second visit. That being said, Ambrus was extremely pushy about the surgery and like others who commented here, he said he did them all the time 100's per year and why not have my son feel better and breath better. My son could breath fine thru his nose. I asked him what the urgency was and Ambrus said he would definitely need to have the surgery before my son's braces came off his teeth. Now, I'm thinking about time off from school or lost time in the summer. Something was nagging at my gut. He was making me scared about my son's septum but at the same time, he had an air of superiority. I told him I will be getting a second opinion. I figure with all the advertisements on the counters in his office and exam rooms for injections for wrinkles and such that he was concerned more about looks. That nagging feeling in the gut just wouldn't go away. I was anxious for two months about my son having the surgery and finally got a second opinion this past week. The second ENT said that there is no way a person of early teens years should have deviated septum surgery for their face isn't even fully grown yet. The second ENT said 19 years old at the very earliest for surgery, and if it's not bothering him later let him decide but never under the age of 19. LISTEN TO YOUR GUT! It's your second brain. So glad I listened to my gut and not Ambrus's authority. Mother's Intuition won out. I am so sorry for all the others that ended up feeling pressured into having unnecessary surgery that caused more problems. What a shame!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 19th, 2013
Pls seek Second opinion
I went to Dr. Ambrus for chronic ear infection. I suffered so much pain and everytime I came in he would suction the infection out and kept me on antibiotics. He wanted to do surgery and I was willing to do anything at that point to stop the pain and be able to hear again. I was pushed into getting a second opinion by my mother. I went to an ENT who cleared the infection in ONE visit. He said surgery was absolutely NOT needed. I look back and don't understand why he let me suffer and had me on antibiotics while pregnant when it was all unnessasery. Please seek another Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 21st, 2013
Stay away.
I first saw Dr Ambrus for persistent strept throat, he was to take my tonsils out. After an MRI I was told that I had a deviated septum and my sinuses could be "opened up" to also help alleviate the throat issues. As he came highly recommended I had no reason not to trust his advice. Keep in mind I had NEVER had a sinus issue in my life. Two weeks after the surgery, I had a sinus infection (and a life threatening allergic reaction). That was five years ago. Since then, I have had to have ANOTHER surgery to correct the damage from the first one. I have also spent the last five years suffering from chronic sinus infections and issues from a surgery that never should have been done in the first place. His bedside manner is non existent to say the least and at no point does he have the patients best interests in mind.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 27th, 2012
HORRIBLE Dr Beware
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I totally agree with previous poster he does not care about the patient at all 2 years later and I am worse off than before I met this clown. My friend 25 years later the same. STAY AWAY
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 28th, 2012
Performed Septoplasty - Amazing Difference
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My wife had been suggesting for quite a while that I should have my nose checked out (she thought I had a deviated septum due to snoring and weird breathing at night). I went in because of a nasty sinus infection and he suggested I get a septoplasty. (Another reviewer mentioned his suggesting surgery as bad form, although I'm not sure why.)He ordered me a CT scan and showed me the results - my septum was horribly deviated and there was a cyst (non-cancerous) that was also blocking airflow through my nose. My septoplasty was five days ago and I just had my first post-op visit. The difference is incredible. Even though this is the within the first week after surgery (apparently ability to breathe increases as the nose heals, up to six months out), I feel like I can breathe better than I ever had before. There's little sinus pressure anymore.As for Dr. Ambrus himself, I like him. He's straightforward and succinct and has guided me every step of the way. I've had issues with wait time for my appointments but the benefits of seeing him make it worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 26th, 2012
Needless and Wreckless Surgery
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Peter Ambrus is very quick to tell his patients that they need surgery (especially sinus surgery and is known for operating numerous times on individual patients). Sinus surgery should be used by an ENT as a last resort, not as a first option. I bet there is a disproportionate amount of his sinus patients that undergo surgery as compared with other ENTs. My opinion of Dr Ambrus is that he is more concerned with billing the insurance companies than he is with the best interest of his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 24th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i would not recommend this doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2011
Excellent ENT
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was concerned about some of the bad reviews here prior my deviated septum and sinus surgery. 1 month after it i can breathe like never before and my sinus headaches are all gone. Very happy with the results and Dr Ambrus.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2011
Never again
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I waited almost an hour for the 3rd time for Dr. Ambrus. The second time I complain. I bring in 2 small children with me that are both his patients. I told him please if the wait is going to be more than 30 min please call me and I will come in at a later time. My children can not wait almost an hour in his office especially my 17 month son. This was a last time when I was sitting in the waiting room with the other patients and asking what time there appointments where. Mine was at 2:10 another 2:20 another at 2:15. Is this enough time to see each patient? He then took the 2:20 before me than the 2:15. Why did I make an appointmnt then? I walked out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Peter Ambrus, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Quincy, MA.

Doctor

Dr. Peter Friedensohn

36 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. John Lazor

26 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Edward Reardon

46 years experience

4.4 of 5