Dr. Peter Colegrove MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 12 reviews

Last 12 months:

3.1 (-0.1)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    52%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    45%
  • Wait Time 8.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
May 10th, 2016
Zero stars for Bedside, Time Spent & Follow Up
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Performed 2 test procedures, promised discussion of possible options once test results were in, never followed up. I had to call for results, left message was not feeling any better. He had a nurse contact me to say condition was chronic & there was nothing further he could do for me!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 18th, 2015
Great doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Colegrove called me himself to give me my diagnosis. I asked all of my questions to him and not some nurse. He was always on time, professional, helpful and his staff are fantastic. Would definitely recommend to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 5th, 2014
Are you in the habit Dr?
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
This is a question Dr., My Father (85) was recently instructed by you to remove his own catheter at home. He was advised to be sure to do this in the a.m. in case he caused damage and could then come and see you in emergency mode. ARE YOU KIDDING ME! Having spoken to several medical professionals each of whom heard this with alarm, asserting the damage a man this age, this frail with a fractured pelvis , a man almost entirely immobile for a month and a half, could do to his bladder could be life threatening. With scant instruction you sent him home to perform this procedure. You have since recommended he do this twice a day. We will be in touch Dr. His regular physician was also unable to hide her alarm at this instruction. I'm alarmed on a number of levels, not the least of which that someone has to award you even 1 star just to write a review here. I wonder , do you read these reviews Dr.? Is there somewhere you'd rather be Dr.? Something you'd rather be doing?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 20th, 2013
He doesn't care about his patience
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He doesn't care about his patience
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 12th, 2013
Colegrove as hospital specialist
Wait time
5 minutes
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Never felt so sick. (pyelonephritis) Was originally misdiagnosed by Emergency Room gp. Dr. Colegrove correctly diagnosed what the problem was, patiently explained it to a NON-medically knowledgeable person and gave the correct treatment. He didn't stick around to chat, but most don't. Out of the hospital now and doing much better; would definitely use him again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 21st, 2012
Doesnt care if you have cancer
Wait time
20 minutes
do not use him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 11th, 2011
I couldn't disagree with previous negative posters
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I was really nervous to see Dr Colegrove after reading the other reviews on this website. I decided to see Dr Colegrove based on a personal referral. My experience just couldn't have been different from the reviews that I read. Firstly, I made the appointment on Tuesday to see him on Friday. I showed up at 1:55pm for my 2:00 pm appointment. It was about 2pm by the time I checked in, and as I sat down (literally 10 seconds), I was called into a room. Dr Colegroves nurse/assistant sat with me first and gave me some information, and then I was kept waiting about 2-3 minutes before Dr Colegrove came into the room. He was personable and friendly. He took time to answer all my questions. He was attentive and responsive. When I digressed from the reason for the appointment with other questions, he answered them patiently and in detail. I never felt that he was in a rush to get out of the room. Now that I have seen him, I know that I have found a doctor for the long term. The concern that I did have from the negative reviews has been put to rest.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 12th, 2011
Negligent and disrespectful
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
My greatest grievance is that Colegrove had the lab report necessary to notify me of proper medication for a severe bladder infection on a Tuesday morning but only let me know about it four days later. (Meanwhile he had me taking the wrong drug!) With exceeding disrespect he continually called me "buddy" and also by a wrong name (I'm not "Dave"). One of his nurses is a frightening gorgon and will give you an answer such as "I haven't the slightest idea." When I told Colegrove about how uncaring she was when I was urinating blood and in excruciating pain, he implied that it was my fault. He has two other nurses who are warm and caring. That's the best that can be said.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 10th, 2011
Negligent
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Terrible doctor. I am a current medical school student who initially went to a primary because of pelvic pain and was referred to a particular urologist but due to school conflicts had to schedule Colegrove Peter (I do not wish to even refer to him as a doctor) as a replacement. Much like the other reviewer stated (which sadly lets me know this individual colegrove has a habit of being negligent) I stated my concerns, symptoms, medical history. He took a look at all my previous tests (which I already had mentioned came negative i.e. STDs ,Urinalysis etc) and with a straight face looked me in my eyes and exclaimed it was all in my head. No tests. No explanation. I did offered that maybe it might be a prostate issue and he dismissed it with no tests, no exam, no physical, nothing. I had to bear through this ordeal for a whole year until I decided to that I could not deal with the pain anymore and went to another PCP while I was in houston and not only did he conclude a tender prostate through ACTUAL examination but explained the etiology, forms of treatment, you know things a doctor should do. A Family doctor did what this suppose SPECIALIST could not do. Avoid him! I recently finished my course of antibiotics prescribed by the houston PCP and finally feel normal after a year. I did an MRI recently to see if any damage is present and if the criteria are met I do intend to inquire about malpractice against this guy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 15th, 2010
DO NOT VISIT THIS DOCTOR
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had an infection in my testicles. Before my visit to doctor Colegrove I did all possible STD tests, urine and blood (couple of times), I did also yeast infection test and nothing showed up.I explained to him that nothing showed up after all these test but I know that I have something going on in my body (especially in my testicles and urethra) and I told him that I want semen (sperm) test and swab of my urethra. Initially he refused to perform any of those, and was repeating: do you believe me, you are in a good health and your mind is freaking out.I told him that I believe him, but I will not leave the office if I do not have semen test performed. Well finally he agreed to do this test and was very very discourteous and neglectful.Couple of days later the test showed up an infection and I was on antibiotics for 2 weeks.Needless to say, I never got a follow up phone call from "my" doctor, after the treatment.I think I got new infection because of the antibiotics - yeast infection. My urethra burns, I have headache and stomach ache and I tried to schedule an urgent appointment with the same doctor because he is familiar with my case and treatment. I have been referred to the Emergency Room or to schedule an appointment after couple of weeks which I can't afford.I think he doesn't love his job, he doesn't care about his patience and he works this maybe only for prestige. My advice is: DO NOT VISIT THIS DOCTOR!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 15th, 2010
DO NOT VISIT THIS DOCTOR!
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
I had an infection in my testicles. Before my visit to doctor Colegrove I did all possible STD tests, urine and blood (couple of times), I did also ye ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 28th, 2010
Good uroligist, but clueless elsewhere! And not very motivated or Sympathetic either.
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
More than 4 years ago, Dr. Colegrove performed a minor prostate procedure, commonly known as a turp, on me. I awoke the next morning with profound ba ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Peter Colegrove, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Evanston, IL.

Doctor

Dr. Thomas Keeler

36 years experience

3.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Charles Brendler

43 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Brian Helfand

12 years experience

4.5 of 5