Peter Thurlow MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Madison, WI

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 10 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.6)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    60%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    40%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 11.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 26th, 2014
Saved my life
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr T literally saved my life. I have had 4 surgeries performed by him. He has treated me with respect and courtesy. He even delayed a vacation until I was released from the hospital--a delay of several weeks. I know he does not hunt so the reviewer who talks about a "hunting trip" is clearly confused--either there is another doctor with the same name somewhere in the country, or that reviewer is just plain confused. The other negative reviewers are not describing the Dr. Thurlow I know.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 12th, 2013
Do NOT use this Doc
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Things couldn't have been much worse. He lacked expertise to deal with my case but didn't disclose it. He declared my surgery successful but it did not meet acceptable standards. Didnt send me to specialists or provide life saving meds. I was inadequately cared for on many accounts. Do NOT believe anything this guy tells you. He truly failed me in grossly negligent ways.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 27th, 2011
The Man with Golden Hands
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This man has golden hands and is not intimidated by performing manuel open surgeries vs dragging in mesh by painful laproscope or open methods. No one in Madison offered to hand tie vs. rip out and replace (that leaves the inside wall twice as damaged). Plus he has a heart and bedside manor that you will not find by a Surgeon on one of hospitals payroll. If you have a serious problem, see this surgeon. He fixed the Mayo Clinic's work that was damage and is far superior to Rochester, right here in madison. He did 4 surgeries for me over 2 years and I am grateful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 15th, 2011
Do not let this doctor cut you open.
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Thurlow botched my hernia repair surgery. First, he convinced me to have a straight incision, even though most doctors recommend having the procedure done laparoscopically. Then, he used a patch that was considerably too large for my body, so that to this day, 4 years after my surgery, I still have nerve pain from the spot where the patch grates against my nerves. He explained that most people in Wisconsin are heavier than me, and the normal patch is fine for most people, so my thinness was the reason for my pain. His suggestion: gain weight.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 28th, 2009
Run Away!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Thurlow perforated my intestine during a sigmoid resection and even though I had a fever, swelling and severe pain, he refused to treat me or see me. After 7 days I was put in the hospital with a diagnosis of sepsis and Dr. Thurlow still refused to treat me, but ordered xrays with iodine, knowing full well I was allergic to iodine. After he returned from his hunting trip on the tenth day, he did a second surgery. This time he damaged nerves to my spine and gave me a colostomy. He never talked about my medical condition, but stopped by my room for a minute each day so he could charge for a hospital visit. This story was so horrifying that I wrote a book describing problems in the medical community.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 9th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 13th, 2014

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 25th, 2010
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 9th, 2008
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Peter Thurlow, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Madison, WI.