The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Peter Tothy Is this you?
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
10.6 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Peter Tothy?


16 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 5th, 2017

Time Saver

I recently changed from other local hematologist for my low iron. I was receiving infusions every week with little benefit. I got a second opinion from Dr. Tothy. He gave he 2 dose of different iron in 1 week. My blood count went up and I haven't needed additional iron in 4 months! He has saved me so many hours and time off work.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 1st, 2017

Great Experience

From front desk to medical assistant, the lab, the nurses - all great experience. Dr. Tothy is very knowledgable, well connected with experts in Indy and Chicago and show he cares about me. Great sense of humor too. Such a wonderful office and MD!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 4th, 2015

Changed from other MD in area based on friend's recommendation at church. Very pleased with his knowledge and communication. Couldn't ask for more. Spent more time with me during first visit than the last 10 visits combined with my old MD. NWI's TOP DOC!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 17th, 2013

Top Doc!

I transfered from another oncologist in the area. Dr. T. is a world of difference (for the better)! He listens, is never rushed, and truly cares. He has a great command of knowledge and is well connected with the University Hospitals in Chicago and Indy. Can't ask for better. I've encouraged others to RUN to his office. Great friendly staff too!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 27th, 2010

wait time is entirely too long, he commands that patients that have been stable for years to continue to pay office visits on bi week or monthly schedule..I have never had to wait less than 45 minutes to see this doctor, also will not make it convenient for patient to have labs closer to home, insists everything must be done at office...REMINDER, THIS IS FOR A PATIENT THAT IS STABLE WITH NO PROBLEMS AND ONLY NEEDS INR'S DONE EVERY OTHER WEEK

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 27th, 2008

Fanstastic Cancer MD

Dr. Tothy was prompt, thorough, warm and caring. I'm recommend him to anyone. Treated me with current therapies. Has a wealth of knowledge.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 19th, 2008

Excellent oncologist!!!

Fantastic!!! Very warm, caring & listens well. Up to date with cutting edge treatments. Knowledgeable about chemotherapy and alternatives. I value his helping my mother with her cancer. Fantastic at addressing symptoms and side effects. Highly recommended to all my friends/family. Unfortunately he now is in Merrillville, Indiana, but will travel there for his cancer care.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 9th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 10th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 3rd, 2014

1.0 Rating

August 11th, 2014

5.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Peter Tothy is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Merrillville, IN.

  • Dr. Pimpa Tara

    Dr. Pimpa Tara

    Hematology and Oncology, Internal Medicine, Medical Oncology

    Merrillville, IN 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    35
  • Dr. Neeru Bose

    Medical Oncology, Internal Medicine

    Merrillville, IN 0 mi

    9
  • Dr. Saket Sinha

    Internal Medicine, General Practice

    Merrillville, IN 0.32 mi

    4.1
    (10)
    20