ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Philip Shain Is this you?

Filter Reviews

17 Ratings • 7 Comments

1.8
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3
  • 11

Quality Rating

Dissatisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
20 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Philip Shain?

Showing 12 of 17 Ratings

One Star

Posted on August 6th, 2016

awful, never go to this guy

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Beware of Dr. Shain. He can do more harm than good.

Posted on January 7th, 2016

Dr. Philip Shain doesn't believe in any other kind of treatment (such as diet and supplements) other than increasing dosage of prescribed medication. Every visit, he would increase the dosage and doesn't listen to feedback about the observed side effects. He is very rude. He prescribes the maximum dose even to young children, particularly Abilify. Abilify can have serious side effects at high doses such as involuntary muscle movement and twitching and these side effects are irreversible. Beware of Dr. Shain.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Out-of-date skills, Ineffective doctor

Posted on December 14th, 2014

Dr. Shain spent most of our session times reciting success stories of other patients rather than asking questions or providing guidance to us (and our son). He misdiagnosed a medical condition (depression) as being ADD, then insisted we follow a series of medications for our son in extremely high amounts before we could expect any help with therapeutic counseling sessions. Three months of no improvement under Dr. Shain's care drove us to seek accurate, professional help from other doctors in the area. Unless you like to hear textbook lectures and self-proclaimed success stories from the past, avoid wasting your time in the office of Dr. Philip Shain of Concord. I wish we sought another doctor sooner!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Incompetent

Posted on September 22nd, 2013

I struggled with bipolar issues for years and went to see this doctor for years and never got better. He only made me worse. I sought out another doctor, found the right one and am doing exponentially better. I personally find Dr. Shain to be almost criminal for he is an awful doctor who shows little care in his patients. He only hurt me more, never healed me. Do not go to Dr. Shain. The only reason I continued with his services for so long is that he was covered by insurance. It is better to pay for a doctor who has the qualifications. I strongly recommend to whoever reads this to NOT have Dr. Shain as your psychiatrist.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Never returned call

Posted on May 26th, 2012

Dr Shain never responded to an urgent call. 3 weeks later And 2 messages left. Nothing. Thanks

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on February 11th, 2011

Pompous and very poor patient relations.

Friendly Staff
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

A Livermore Family

Posted on December 6th, 2010

Our 13 year old son has been a patient of Dr. Shain's since he was five years old. We believe that, because of Dr. Shain's expertise in the areas of Early Onset Bipolar Disorder and psychopharmacology, our son is alive and well and living with us. Dr. Shain has always been caring and concerned, not only about our son, but also about the effect his illness has on us a family unit and each of us individually. He has taught us parenting techniques that provide us with the best results in dealing with the difficult challenges we face at home with our son's behavior. I would not hesitate for a moment to refer other families to Dr. Shain. In fact, as the facilitator of a support group for parents of children with BP, I have referred many families to him. Thank you, Dr. Shain, for teaching us how to provide an environment that our son can flourish in.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on December 22nd, 2015

Two Stars

Posted on December 16th, 2015

Three Stars

Posted on August 10th, 2015

One Star

Posted on July 2nd, 2015

One Star

Posted on May 30th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Philip Shain is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Concord, CA.