Dr. Philip Shields MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.9
  • 27 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

3.1 (-0.8)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    56%
  • Satisfied
    15%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    15%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 29.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

2.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Twice I've had to wait an hour or more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 14th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I came to Santa Fe a year ago with a diagnosis in hand from my doctor in San Antonio, Texas. My S.A. dr. wanted me to immediately have surgery to replace a disc in my neck that was pressing on my spinal cord. All sorts of dire warnings had been given. When I saw Dr. Shields he said he saw the disc in question but he did not think the situation was bad enough for surgery. He advised PT and to watch and wait for awhile. He was absolutely correct. I have not needed the surgery, the PT made things a million times better. I trust Dr. Shields and based on my experiences I think he is a great doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Very kind and seems quite competent (as if I am qualified to evaluate a neurosurgeon) and is well respected by another local doctor and his own staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 4th, 2013
a real doctor ?
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Be aware of the service they provide. Really a shame when we spend that much money for a visit. They need to reconsidered their customer service. A loss of time for my wife and I
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 9th, 2013
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am grateful to have found Dr. Philip Shields as my neurosurgeon! I am recovering successfully after a four hour anterior cervical diskectomy fusion and my terrible months of pain and numbness are over! Dr. Shields spent all the time my husband and I needed to fully understand this surgery and the recovery. Except for a scar that is still resolving, I have resumed my normal activities "with caution" after only four weeks. His staff and particularly his wonderful nurse practitioner have been terrific, and always available to answer my questions. Also, I stopped in one day just "to be sure" all was well and I was fit right in. A little piece of stitch was removed right there. My follow-up will continue and I couldn't be more pleased with the results and my care. I spent one night in my local hospital and was off meds the third day. Life is good again!! Dr. Shields could not be kinder or more thoughtful to me as his patient along the path to a full recovery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 6th, 2012
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent surgeon, is very quiet but nice
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 26th, 2011
Excellent surgeon and staff!!!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shields removed a tumor from my spine a couple years ago and I am SO appriciative that he was able to be my surgeon! I have never had any problems whatsoever with him or his office; all his staff are great wonderful people! Anyone who thinks differently must be out of thier minds! When you can get a guy who has been in a wheelchair up and walking again; I'd say he's an awesome Dr./surgeon!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 4th, 2011
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr shields is a wonderful doctor,he cares so much about all that are in his care.I would never go to anyone else foe my care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Philip Shields, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Santa Fe, NM.

Doctor

Dr. Philip Smucker

15 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Hal Hankinson

49 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Marshall Watson

18 years experience

4.4 of 5