The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Phillip Gilson Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Phillip Gilson?

Ratings and Reviews

52 Ratings with 13 Comments

  • Excellent
    24
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    20
  • Excellent
    24
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    20

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Bedside Manner
Wait Time
15.6 min

Showing 52 Ratings with 13 Comments

1.0 Rating

September 2nd, 2017

Very rude and unprofessional
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2017

Still Hurting

I am only one of many men that this guy is butchering . He is giving men vasectomy, but either not doing it correctly or he isn't gentle enough. Everyuone of his patients that I have spoken with are either still hurting, more than 6 months post surgery, or have hurt for year afterward. This man should not be allowed to practice medicine anymore and should have his medical license stripped.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 17th, 2017

Doctor talks down to you. Very rude responses when you ask him questions regarding your procedure. Made me feel like I was a waste of his time.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 7th, 2016

I would not choose this doctor. After my surgery. I had an appointment. And it was canceled as I was walking into his office. Then his assistant seen me. Made another appointment. It was canceled, for unforeseen reason. Rescheduled with his assistant and three times they were rescheduled with her , for unforeseen reasons. When you have problems and have reported them to his assistant and the person on the phone doing the scheduling. And still no appointments. They all get canceled. So I am searching for a physician who can see me.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 11th, 2016

I had no problems with Dr. Gilson....He sat and talked to me, he didn't have his hand on doorknob running to next patient. Followed up w office visit after surgery. Follow up phone calls? From Suricare Center/or his nurse not Dr. Gilson himself. Only complaint is phone msg left are not always returned by his nurse who is also some of the other drs. phone nurse ....Maybe he wasn't in that day??? Bummer of having to speak to a machine.....Todays NEW humans.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 24th, 2015

Rude. Does not prescribe pain medication.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 1st, 2015

Pitiful

This doctor made my 82 year old Grandmother cry. My 85 year old Grandfather has prostate cancer and dared to get a second opinion elsewhere. My Grandparents are some of the sweetest people in the world. This doctor was extremely rude to both my Grandparents. I have half mind to give him a piece of my mind. What a jerk. My Grandparents are going elsewhere.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 18th, 2015

Dr. Gilson, has been my Doctor for years, I am well pleased

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 6th, 2014

Have written a review before. This doctor would have a ZERO rating if it was allowed. You have to select one star. I'd put zero as I'm sure every other one who has rated him would. Since seeing him, I went to a very good urologist in Vanderbilt medical center - outside of Nashville, TN. A two and half hour drive from here! AND with the help of my gynecologist and this urologist in Vanderbilt, I now feel VERY healthy and positive I am on the way to feeling so much better than I ever believed was possible. I was that sick and this Dr. (Gilson) stated I was not in pain and furthermore, asking for pain medications from the receptionists?? Not him?? Beware of this doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 11th, 2013

Completely Unethical!!!

After a week of being in pain, this doctor never called me back with any of the unnecessary tests results. Told me I was not in pain, I never saw him for pain (it was flank pain due to a 1 inch kidney stone), but yet he wrote me a script for percocet, had an xray taken, CAT scan, and ultrasound. He basically argued with me on the phone. I found a wonderful doctor a week later. Dr. Anvita Sinha who immediately diagnosed the problem (the stone of course) did a lithotripsy procedure and now I am pain free! Dr. Gilson deserves a dose of his own medicine. Uncaring and unprofessional!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 28th, 2013

Arrogant, jerk. Agree with advice but bedside manner is awful and very impatient. Thinks he's God and talks down to you like your stupid

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 1st, 2013

Seriously I had to wait until today after my appointment to get anything for pain. I have been suffering with acute pain for a week. The office got my results last week. I have Edema & blood in urine. Possibly cysts or stones. They told me if my symptoms got worse over weekend go to nearest emergency room. I wonder if Dr Gilson would treat his family member this way or better yet himself?? This Dr is just treating the symptoms & I still do not have a conclusive diagnosis. I will be seeking a 2nd opinion not affiliated with this group.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Phillip Gilson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Evansville, IN.

  • Dr. Michael Gallentine

    Dr. Michael Gallentine

    Urology

    Evansville, IN 0 mi

    4.9
    (22)
    19
  • Dr. Michelle Boger

    Urology

    Evansville, IN 0 mi

    4.8
    (4)
    15
  • Dr. Bruce Romick

    Dr. Bruce Romick

    Urology

    Evansville, IN 0 mi

    4.4
    (7)
    46