The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Phillip Mcallister Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Phillip Mcallister?

Ratings and Reviews

29 Ratings with 11 Comments

  • Excellent
    21
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    21
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
23.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 29 Ratings with 11 Comments

5.0 Rating

December 27th, 2016

C5 and C6 compression surgery in June 2006

Dr. McAllister was WONDERFUL!! 10 years after the surgery I still have had NO issues

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 21st, 2016

Very compassionate about his work & his patients. Very much a patient advocate! He's an ex Navy Seal, so he just gives you the facts. But in reality, he can be a big teddy bear! LOVE HIM!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 6th, 2015

Was very impressed with Dr Mc allaster, he is the best Doctor that I have ever been to. He checked me from head to toe and found issues that other doctors were unable to detect, I can tell he was very knowlegable and very confident and did a aw some job at explaining the back and neck issues that have been causing me chronic pain. I would highly recommend him to anybody that needs a great doctor.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 16th, 2014

Former patient.

The most memorable is the fact my surgeries were a total success. I had spinal stenosis of the lower back and neck. This was performed in two separate occasions. I would recommend Dr. McAllister to any one. He is most courteous and has time for the patient. Also his staff cared for the patient. These procedures were done in Brunswick,GA

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 8th, 2012

"One of the Best"

Dr. P. Mcallister is one of the best doctor's in Terrebonne Parish. Dr. Mcallister believes in what is best for you and not his pocket book. The staff in his office is also outstanding. Every thing from appointments to diagnosis and treatments, etc. are handled with care and understanding. I would recommend and have already recommended him to many of my friends and family.Thanks for just being who you are.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

June 5th, 2012

Know it all/Blames your problems on other issues or physicians

Gives up and blames your spine issues after MAJOR SURGERY on other issues and other doctors. Keeps changing his mind about type of physical therapy needed. Physcial therapy never ending 6 months post opt.He talks too much about his self and his wife and how they do things. Keep the focus on the patient.When they ask a question, do not interflect your personal life. Tell them when you change there medications and the time period between doses. Explain Why. Don't just do it!!!!!! Never give a patient pain medication and pull them off cold turkey after 6 months. This is dangerous. Always tell a patient you have given them blood during their proceedure. Do not get aggitated when they question you.It is their body, they have a right to answers. We all have an attorney in the family (as you say).

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

April 10th, 2012

Fooled & Disappointed

He's got the whole town fooled!!! He leads you to believe that he's the best and most knowledgeable dr. in the area. Then, when it's all said and done, the truth is then known. He's an OK surgeon, but DEFINITELY not the best. He's the most arrogant, sarcastic, and definitely the meanest doctor I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. He diagnosis you and then.....he tells you that if you don't have surgery, you will be in a wheel chair in less 6 months. If you're smart enough, you'll get a 2nd opinion. Then you realize you did the right thing. If you don't, you may regret it for the rest of your life. Another thing about Dr. McAllister is, he MAY be able to do the surgery but,,, after that, he cannot follow up because he's not capable. All he can do is some surgeries. He's also known for losing his temper. Especially if you ask him a question. There's by far, BETTER doctors out there. GOOD LUCK!!!!

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 17th, 2011

By far the most professional, competent physician I have ever seen. Complete exam & diagnosis of my problems. Even helped me get my socks & shoes back on! I don't know many spinal doctors, but he has to rank at or very near the top in Louisiana!

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 20th, 2010

I went to him for a second opinion and he did my surgery and I am very satisified with the outcome. Very little pain after surgery.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 7th, 2010

best doctor in louisiana

He cured my husband, he is a wonderful doctor, who has faith in god, does not offer false hope, his diagnosis is accurate bedside manner fantastic. With him its not about the money its about the patient. His hands are guided by the lord and he works miracles daily. my god, people wake up and realize that the relationship between our faith and our doctor is one. Prayers are answered every day. Please go to him he is wonderful.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2010

surgery

Approximately 2 years ago, you removed a benign tumor from my spine and now I am pain free.Thanks

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

March 21st, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Phillip Mcallister is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Gray, LA.

  • Dr. Peter Liechty

    Dr. Peter Liechty

    Neurological Surgery

    Thibodaux, LA 7.16 mi

    4.5
    (4)
    14
  • Dr. Thomas Donner

    Dr. Thomas Donner

    Neurological Surgery

    Thibodaux, LA 7.31 mi

    4.1
    (20)
    29
  • Dr. Deepak Awasthi

    Dr. Deepak Awasthi

    Neurological Surgery

    Thibodaux, LA 7.31 mi

    3.3
    (5)
    31