inactive

Dr. Phillip Toskes MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology Gainesville, FL

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 11 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.9)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    73%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    9%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    18%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 21 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

1.0 of 5
April 25th, 2013
Patient
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Worst doctor ever. If you need to see a gastroenterologist. Do not pick this one. Arrogant. Tells you what he knows. Only wants to run diagnosis test on you but will not treat you. His nurse "Nell" is rude and argumentative. A know it all also and does not return your phone calls. Save yourself. Do not see this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 1st, 2013
Top Shelf
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Toskes is a world renowned physician in his field and is a tremendous researcher. While his area of work (UF Gainesville Shands) does not allow rapid contact, he can be reached and is well worth any time one spends to have his services.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 19th, 2012
Is not helpful
Wait time
60.0 minutes
I thought he was very arrogant and self centered. Did not listen to any of my concerns. Bragged about his book and how much he knows. Told me I did not need any additional testing, and dismissed some of my concerns as malnutrition even though multiple bloodworks have shown my symptoms are not due to malnutrition. Did not listen when I told him the antibiotic he wanted me to take every month makes me extremely sick. Completely forgot to call in one of my prescriptions. When I tried calling it in, he refused to fill it because I requested to see another doctor because I did not like his unhelpful attitude. I had to call multiple times and argue with the nurse to finally get it filled. Horrible! Horrible! Horrible! I would only want to see him if I had something common and easy to treat. If it requires thinking outside the box, do not expect him to help you discover the cause of your condition. I will be going to Mayo for further treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 17th, 2011
Awesome
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My hero, I went to several different doctors before I saw dr toskes, one appointment one procedure and I was pain free for two years after being in pain everyday for years, if you have pancreatitis go to him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 19th, 2011
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
discovered my problem after numerous doctors were unsuccessful
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 29th, 2010
An Exceptional Doctor and Institution
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Shands is one of two or three places nationwide where tests usually done for research purposes are available for GI patients every day. Many of the tests were pioneered and performed by Dr. Toskes, a great gastroenterologist and an world-famous expert in pancreatitis. Nowadays technicians and nurses taught by him have performed thousands of state-of-the-art procedures and have accumulated a great deal of experience. Thanks to them I was correctly diagnosed and subsequently successfully treated by Dr. Toskes. He works strictly as a gastroenterologist but I was impressed that every Shands specialist I saw demonstrated awareness, deep knowledge, and understanding of GI diseases. Dr. Toskes works as a great educator on doctors rounds. All doctors at Shands represent the perfect example of true teamwork. I live in a large metropolitan area and have been to many leading hospitals and clinics but I have never seen anything like Shands. Shands is the only institution I fully trust. Every year I go to Shands because Dr. Toskes practices medicine there.

5.0 of 5
March 19th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 18th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 8th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 28th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Phillip Toskes, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Gainesville, FL.