Dr. Phillips Labor MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.6
  • 42 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.9 (+ 0.3)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    60%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    29%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 36.4 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
July 21st, 2016
Treated like a number.. and uncaring if you have problems!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 6th, 2013
I would not recommend this Dr.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had cataract surgery a year and a half ago. They convinced me crystal pence would be the best way to go when I told them I wanted mono vision. I let me in to the lense which was 7000.00 cash. I then was told my co pay was 5000.00, so I paid that the night before surgery they called and said I was to bring a check for 250.00. I asked them if this was all I owed and everything was pre approved with my insurance. They assured me we were all set to go. After my second surgery I get a call my insurance was declining to pay and I owe another 6000.00. I've had other surgeries and the Dr. Office always found out first if insurance would pay. I would not of had the procedure done if I would of known. I wrote Dr. Labor a letter, no response. Now I'm suffering with scar tissue and its affecting my job. I talked to another person that had similar problem with Dr. Labor. Is there NO integrity any longer!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 7th, 2013
Hard sell of the expensive lenses.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Don't be talked into the Crystal lens. I wasted my time and money. Very disappointed. After cataract surgery and lens implants I can't see any better than before. Of course, colors are beautiful! Thats what you will hear. I advise you to get the regular cataract lens put in, your bank account will not suffer. I wish I had gone on a cruise instead of having them put into my eyes. I have floaters that I never had before. He did laser surgery because I had swelling behind the lens. Got some fairy tale about my eyes not being curved right. I am disappointed and poorer. Do Not Go For The Crystal Lenses. I am sure this wil never be posted since I have not found anything but glowing reviews but have spoken to others who are as disappointed as I have been.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 24th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Labor is the best!He takes special care of his patients. I was very satisfied with the care he gave me. I am now taking my Husband to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 29th, 2012
DANGEROUS QUACK
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Performed cataract surgery on my wife. Couldn't get new lens to line up. Shook her head and banged her head on the table trying to get the lens to line up. Immediately, she suffered a brain hemorrhage and bruising of the optic nerve. Now has head aches, gran mal seizures, memory loss, Parkinsonism (can't walk). Many nurses in operating room ran over to stop him in his fit of rage. No lawyer would take our case due to tort reform, only $83K max to lawyer.Labor got away with assault- no penalty.My wife now sits in a chair unable to perform any tasks whatsoever. Use this quack at your own risk!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 9th, 2011
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wow, I can't believe the range of ratings here. From syrupy sweet to disgruntled. OK, I'm a one-eyed Crystalens patient, who hasn't had time to schedule the second surgery. Dr. Labor implanted my lens, and he will do my second surgery. He is a very good surgeon. YES, to the reviewer right below me, it is perfectly legal and quite standard to have to write a $520 check to the optometrist who referred you to Dr. Labor. I hate this practice with the fury of a thousand blazing suns, but there is nothing to do but write the blasted separate check to them. And, no, my optometrist didn't do a fricking thing post-surgery to deserve that fee. You also need to know that in many other ophthalmological practices, the referring optometrist gets a $1000 fee. (How special is that?) Dr. Labor is quite mid-range and reasonable in his pricing of the Crystalens, and I know this because I went to get a cataract evaluation from another surgeon. All ophthalmologist's offices have a "refractive coordinator" or a "refractive counselor" and some are better than others. Take any information about IOL's from Dr. Labor's office staff with two grains of salt instead of two aspirins, and then call them in the morning, after thinking over your options for cataract surgery. Do your own Crystalens research -- it will pay off for you handsomely. Talk to neighbors, talk to friends. I found that 3/4 of cataract patients don't even know what lens they have, but a few do, and there's where you'll get decent information. Also, please remember that the Eye Consultants of Texas is a Crystalens Center of Excellence, which is what you want if you are even considering this lens. Dr. Labor has years of experience with this lens, and wants you to have a good outcome. As far as the communication from the office and the doctor, sometimes it seems that my concerns over the phone aren't answered right away. It may appear to be somewhat disorganized at times, but eventually, every time there is an important need for information to be filtered up to Dr. Labor, it happens. Maybe not as quickly as I'd like, but he follows up. So I don't have any complaints there. As far as wait time, I was there as a patient on a very stressful day for their office recently. I actually had a marathon day of 4 hours there, but that is unusual. Unfortunately, all doctors' offices are going to have days like these occasionally, but I haven't found Dr. Labor's office any slower than any other ophthalmologist's office, where a total time of 2.5 hours seems to be the norm. In closing, whether you're going to have Lasik, PRK, or cataract surgery, do go for a second opinion, and make sure that Dr. Labor or his staff knows that you did. This is a highly competitive, serious business, and if they know you are checking out other clinics in your area, I think they'll treat you well. As they say in the airlines, "We know you have a choice when you fly, and we appreciate your choosing us."
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 7th, 2011
Good surgeon - Very poor physician.
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My surgery went well. I had a lot of reactions with the eye solutions following surgery which Dr. Labor wanted nothing to do with. He does the surgery, collects your money, and does not want you taking his time with anything else. He will give you all of the attention required to get your business but loses his cool if you have issues following surgery. Dr. Labor uses office staff to mislead patients in their decision on the choice of lens to correct their cataracts; "you don't want cheap window glass in your eyes, do you? You want to have the best premium lens." This of course is crystalens. At the time I signed up to have cataract surgery I was forced to pay the opthomologist who recommended Dr. Labor $520.00 for a year's worth of follow up. Is this legal?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2011
Choose another
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Labor is a very good surgeon. However, the office staff leaves a lot to be desired... Expect to spend1 to 2 hours waiting to see the Dr. (after a scheduled appt time). Overall experience for office visits is very bad. Multiple issues with staff, scheduling, and even Dr. Labor. I asked him a question regarding my eyedrops and got no response... as he started to leave the exam room, I told him I expected an answer and he got very defensive and condescending. I WILL NOT GO BACK TO THIS DR. OR THE CLINIC!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2011
I can see!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Labor performed my lasik recently, and I can see perfectly! Sabrina helped me through everything from my apprehensions to actually being in surgery with me explaining everything that was going on. Dr. Labor was very caring which helped because I was scared to death! I came in to my next day appointment seeing 20/20 after wearing high prescription contacts for years. His office is beautiful, too. I felt like I was in someone's home, not a doctor's office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 15th, 2010
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The wait time in the office is a bit long because he is apparently in demand and very busy; HOWEVER, for me, the wait was well worth it. Dr. Labor helped me with problems stemming from a recurrent corneal abrasion and subsequently he performed LASIK - which was a complete success.... Excellent doctor- wonderful staff- worth waiting for...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 22nd, 2009
Perfect Results!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Labor:I wanted to let you know how pleased I am with my Lasik surgery. After 40 years of glasses and contacts I can see like an eagle!! Your staff was awesome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 15th, 2009
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My experience was an above average visit. My doctor highly recommended Dr. Labor. I had cataracts. Dr. Labor talked to me about what that meant and all of the choices available to me. Then I met with Sabrina and she informed me of the lens choices and what insurance would pay for and what it would not pay for. The office did not throw a medical determination at me and left me to figure it all out. They took me by the hand and educated me about the seriousness of cataracts and the choices that might work best for me. How many times has one gone to a doctor to leave feeling that the office staff and doctor really cared less if I were there or not. I am so proud of my doctor and the caring staff! I cannot wait to have my surgery!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Phillips Labor, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Grapevine, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Caroline Corpus

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Michael Mong

32 years experience

3.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Barbara Smythe

32 years experience

3.2 of 5