Family Physicians, Internist
17 years of experience
Video profile
Accepting new patients
Spring Hill
Spring Hill
11077 Spring Hill Dr
Spring Hill, FL 34608
352-684-3300
Locations and availability (4)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.5
  • Currently 2.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

16

Total Reviews

13

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.7272727272727 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.1818181818182 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.3636363636364 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.3636363636364 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.3636363636364 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.0909090909091 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 53 minutes
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  my daughter there today very terrible event for her  |  show details
by marilyn shaw on Jul 7th, 2014

your staff did not tell daughter angelica shaw that she had to pay cash for her visit before the visit ariel was the name she lied and said angelica was told before visit said she cant have scripts unless cash paid staff acknowledged that she is a patient hippa violation will report this immediately and unethical practices here will report to medical board and the state i am a medical professional and i have observed the behaVIOURS OF TEENS AROUND THE OFFICE LOOKS LIKE THEY SHARE PILLS THIS VERY MUCH APPEARS LIKE A PILL MILL ALSO NEED TO REIMBURSE MT DAUGHTER HER MONEY THEY TOOK TODAY WE CANNOT HELP THE FACT THAT THE URINE SPECS ARE NOT BEING REIMBURSED TO TOUR OFFICE YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELF AND START FOLLOWING YOUR OAth dr you can let angelica shaw how to get her cash back immediately

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Ewwwwww  |  show details
by Mary Contrell on Dec 29th, 2013

She is not the best, If you need additional anything, you will be charged more than what the secretary says. I paid $170 for 4 prescriptions. No exam, no personal feeling there. Just, flat jack service. Then I had to wait an hour to see a very rude man/doc that I had never seen before, only for him to be very rude to me to about my health issues (at $100 or more) Go there for a broken arm or a sick stomach. But don't go there if you need a real doctor care. They are prescription writers.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE  |  show details
Nov 22nd, 2013

ME AND MY FAMILY WERE LOOKING FOR AN MD AFTER BEING NEW TO THE AREA. WENT TO THIS DOCTOR 3 TIMES TELLING HER I WAS SICK, TWO FAILED ANTIBIOTIC DOSES, ABNORMAL BLOOD WORK (WHICH I GOT FROM AN ER) 2 DIFFERENT TIMES. NO FURTHER TESTING ORDERED OTHER THEN BASICS. WHICH I ALREADY HAD. STAFF WAS RUDE, ONE PARTICULAR MA CLAIMED TO BE A NURSE. I WAS QUESTIONED WHEN I WAS VERY SICK BY THIS DOCTOR, WHAT DID YOU SAY TO MY STAFF? I SAID TO THE MA, YOUR NOT A NURSE. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL FOUND A MUCH BETTER PRIMARY CARE DOCTOR THAT FOUND OUT THAT MY VITAMIN D LEVEL WAS LOW, I HAVE LUPUS AND MONO....WOW EXPLAINS THE 2 MONTHS OF ER VISITS AND 3 VISITS TO HER OFFICE. VERY BAD EXPERIENCE. DEFINITELY DO NOT RECOMMEND. MORE LIKE AN URGENT CARE, NOT A PRIMARY THAT WILL FOLLOW AND GET TO KNOW HER PATIENTS.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  An admirer,  |  show details
Oct 29th, 2013

Prettiest Young Lady I have ever seen

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Wonderful  |  show details
by S. Kennedy on Jul 11th, 2013

Dr. Mahaultra has spent every step of my recovery from Ovarian Cancer, supporting, encouraging me and my family. 2 years out of that nightmare I know when I see her or need Medical attention, she not only treats my illness but see's me as a Professional in the Community as a Mother and a Wife. Without her expert Medical care and taking the time. I honestly do not know where I would be. She is absolutely remarkable and I am so appreciative of her outstanding Medical care and her Caring Spirit. Although her practice is building and she has had to deal with the growing pains of her practice expanding. It is only because she is so good and a consummate professional that sometimes I do wait longer. But it is worth it. Thank you Dr. Mahaultra for saving my life and my Spirit

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  great docter  |  show details
by pauline g on May 23rd, 2013

dr p ia a verry caring dr...get treated verry well by her,she is caring and does not rush you,she takes the time to explain anything that may be on your mind,,,thanks dr p,,,should be more dr like you,,

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great diagnostician with warm and compassionate bedside manner  |  show details
by Dee W. on Feb 26th, 2013

I went to Dr P for a Well Woman exam and was treated with respect and compassion by both Dr P and her staff. At the end of my exam I was informed I had growths in both breasts which took me by surprise since I had received a letter after my mammogram stating everything was fine. In truth everything was not fine, Dr P and her staff walked me through the testing needed to find that my growth were non cancerous. Had it not been for the good exam I received I would not have known I have a condition that needs to be watched. I am amazed at the reviews I have read, I have never had a problem with Dr P or her staff, they have all gone out of their way to be kind and friendly and always professional. I have and will continue to recommend Dr P to all who ask me for a recommendation without hesitation. Thank you Dr. P

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  no concern for the patients dignity or respect by your personell  |  show details
Aug 31st, 2012

Dr. P. Malholtra,you appear to be just as nice as your husband, who WAS my primary Dr. Although, You agreed to dismiss me as a patient based soley on your staffs oppinion. The day I was upset in your office is due to the fact that I made the appt. a week in advance, following your husbands request. Upon arrival to my appt. I was told I did not have an appt. and was pushed behind an intire waiting rm. of patients. Then I was told that I do not have insurance coverage. By the time 'Janet' got it straight, I was an hour and a half into my appt. I was told by the phlabotomist that 'Janet' had been doing that to patients all week. By the time you entered the room, I was in tears and upset. Due to 'Janet' usually being so fun, I chose Not to throw her under the bus, by telling this to you. I did try to explain to you and your staff that I am the sole caretaker for an elder and have limited time. I was nervous, because my relief person had to leave as I was long past the time they allow. Then you gave me refferals to see a few specialist. The first one being a Rhumatologist. Upon making my appt. with thier office, I was instructed to bring my lab results, so I contacted your office and spoke to 'Janet'. She said she would fax them. This was the day after my appt. with you. During the week of waiting for my appt.w/Rhum. I called to verify that they had recieved my labs and they had not. This was repeated three times throughout the week. prior to leaving home for my appt. w/Rhumatologist, I contacted them to make sure they had the labs and again, they did not. I was informed that I would need them to see the Dr. I again called 'Janet' @ your off. and told her. 'Janet' said she had done it and would do it again, so I headed to clearwater to the appt. About half way there, I found out the labs still had Not been sent and that the Dr. would not see me without them.I again called your office, to find out you were closed for lunch. I called back @ 1:04 and got 'Janet' again, I informed her that the Rhumatologist still does not have the labs and could she please fax them as I was almost there.I was not rude nor combative in any way shape or form and had a whittness to this. 'Janet' comletely lost her composure and began yelling at me. She stated that she had sent them twice and was not going to do it again, nor was she going to argue with me and my Dr. about it. I asked her why she was yelling at me and if I had said or done something to offend her, She just hung up on me. Upon my arrival to the Rhumatologist, the fax was just comming through. I was so upset behind the wheel of my car, being screemed at by my Doctors office, I was completely astounded. When I returned home, I called your office and informed the Nurse 'Sarah' about the situation and asked her to discuss it with you and to please have you contact me. I then recieved a notice BY MAIL that I was cancelled as a patient. This is a terrible injust to me, as well as Dr. G. as he was my PCP and he and I got along just fine. I completely valued him and am just as completely upset to have been terminated. All because of your office personnel, haveing more on her plate that she apparently can handle. I also tried to talk to your office Mgr.'Justene' about this. Justene somewhat heard me out, but was rather RUDE and Biased at the same time. She actually interupted me and told me to stop talking and listen to her now. However, she did say that she would discuss this with Dr. G. and see if he would continue to see me at his location and for me to call her on Monday 9/3/12 for the answer. I spoke to her on Wed.8/29/12. I contacted Medicaid area dist 5 Mgr. to find out what I should do about this, as I am not well and can not afford to be without a Dr. for one day. I was informed by him, that if Dr. G. said no, then I would be past the cut off date to get a new PCP and would be without a Dr. for a month. I went ahead and made that change, in fear that his answer may just be no, or if he would be informed at all. I spoke to some professionals following that and was instructed to take other measures and change providers anyway. I have done so, but wanted you to at least hear my side of this. I have had several experiences where the office personell does the wrong doing and passes the buck off onto the patient and yet the Doctors never even question it or the patient. It is very sad that WE the Patient, who are YOUR customer/practice/paycheck are treated this way by your staff and penalized for it as well. There is no one governing the Patient. What ever happened to Quality Care and the concern for the Patients rights. Seems we don't have any. I am a 24/7 caregiver and have limited time. I completely understand that an appt. does not mean prompt on the second attention, but to put me through the episode that 'Janet' did, is unexcusable. For her to scream at me, is completely and utterly unproffessional and unethical in every way. She demonstrated vindictiveness on every level. You can choose to beleive your staff and close your eyes to this, or even place blame on me, but that shame will be on you. I appologize to you, that you and I were ever put in this perdicament. I can only assume, that you are as kind and professional as your husband. The two of you make a great practice. Pay attention to your office personell and please consider the patients point of view. We wait to see you, we verbally advertize for you and we line your pockets. Just because we can be so easily replaced, does not give them the right to disrespect us and show suck lack of concern. I have family members who are Doctors and I grew up being teated by them in their practices. When I became disabled and on Medicaid, I was forced to seek medical attention elsewhere. What a nightmare! Talk to your husband about me, find out what I went through prior to being his patient. He was a blessing to me and your staff repeated that exact injustice to me, that I had previously experienced elsewhere. This is a huge problem in many Doctors offices. The staff cover for each other and the patients suffer. Very sad affair. KELLY SACKETT

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Worst Doctor Ever  |  show details
Feb 24th, 2012

This is the rudest doctor... She is horrible and should not be practicing medicine...

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Above and Beyond  |  show details
Jun 17th, 2011

Dr. Poonam Malhotra is one of the kindest doctors I have seen. Her elegance and bedside manner make me feel so comfortable and safe. She is so intelligent and kind. What a great Doctor!!!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Wish more doctors were like her  |  show details
May 31st, 2011

I am shocked to see that there are patients who have put a bad review for this doctor. It just goes to prove that unhappy people want to malign a perfectly sweet doctor. I have seen her 3 times as a patient and feel she is going to be my family doctor for as long as I am around. The office is easy to use as I am not told to come 2 weeks later whin I need them today. She has been both compassionate and thorough. I love their staff and always leave their office feeling better than when I walked in. Would recommend her to any one of my friends and family. Keep it up Dr. P.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Health Professional  |  show details
May 12th, 2011

Asked Dr. about results of tests, why an ultrasound was recommended and about the prescription. She became defensive, sharpely spoke and said that it appeared I was going to decide what treatment I was going to do anyway in front of others which is against HIPPA. I explained that I just wanted to know why as an informed patient, should ask. She than responded that she did not care what I was going to do anyway and since I questioned the treatment she wanted me dismissed from the practice! I am a fellow health professional with a master's degree from Columbia University and I was never treated so rudely. I, welcome when my patients ask me questions as I believe an informed consent is vital and ethical practice. She unfortunately, makes a bad impression for other foreign trained physicians. I do hope she can obtain some advisement in this area so she will not cause harm to an innocent. blindly trusting patient.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  this office is run terrible we called a number of times you never can speak to the doctor terrible i would not recommend this doctor to anyone terrible  |  show details
Oct 4th, 2010

i was given the wrong medication have i dealt with such unprofessional staff this is the most unorganized disfunctional staff its like a circus in the office i called 14 times and put on hold

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse