Dr. Rakesh Patel MD Patient Reviews

  • Pain Management Hamden, CT

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 27 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

2.6 (-0.9)

27 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    56%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    30%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Wait Time 15 minutes
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2016
Still Waiting for Appointment One Month Later...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Due to a change in CT Law, I cannot continue care with my PC. I called Dr. Patel's office and was told to send my records, which my doctor's office did, twice, and IF they can take me, I'll get a call. Each time I called to follow up I was told my records weren't there. So, I brought them myself, but cannot get a return call to see if they're in the doctor's hands yet. Either someone is on a power trip, they are overwhelmed, or don't care at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 15th, 2016
Bad Experience
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you want a pain specialist with awful support staff, who spends no time with you, doesn't inform you of risks of a procedure, writes inaccurate notes and care nothing about his patients, he is for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 30th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Don't see this man if you have drank or have done any other drugs that aren't proscribed by a doctor ! I have chronic back pain that I've been getting treatment for the last year and my Dr. sends me to him for pain management and they do a drug test ! They find something other then what I've be proscribed ,his next words are have a nice day I can't help you ! Just like that put me to the curd ! Not come back take another drug test just good by ! Yes i went out had a few drinks and had a puff or two that makes me a bad guy I have to live in pain for a simple mistake ! He treats you like a second rate person O God you have drugs in your system the biggest drug dealer around telling me to get help ! Really ! I would have love to give him the back of my hand the way he talked to me ! Like I was a piece of crap unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 14th, 2015
Dr Rakesh Patel, Best CT pain management!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Amazing! Professional! Courteous! Bree is a plus also!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Patel and his staff are the some of the best medical professionals I have!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2015
RTR/RN
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Rakeesh Patel has "golden hands"...I have had several injections with him.He -along with his staff -Breeann & J.P. - are superb!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
December 10th, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Patel for two epidural injections. He is very pleasant and his staff is wonderful, but the visit with him was very rushed and I didn't think he took the time to fully explain the expected outcomes of the procedure and some of the risks involved. He does not follow up after procedure and it is tough to get someone on the phone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 28th, 2012
Lesa LePage
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Rakesh Patel is absolutely one of the best doctors I have ever had overall in the entire time I have been diagnosed with a quite serious and very painful chronic illness. He is caring, courteous, helpful, and has an amazing bedside manner. He (unlike many other doctors) listens to the patient. And in my case, in consideration that I have a very rare (NORD classified) disease. There are times I have known more than the doctors or nurses, yet they do NOT want to listen to what I have to say. Dr. Patel not only listens, but follows up, to make certain that I am getting the best care.Very professional doctor indeed!!!

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2010
Cares about the patient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Patel is very compassionate, cares about the patient, listens to their problems, very strict about being compliant with taking narcotics as prescribed since they can kill you if you take more than prescribed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 25th, 2008
worked for me
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wanted to ge off oral pain meds and Dr.Patel found different altenatives for me. The only problem I have is the call backs take days and having to drive to get medication. His nurse Jennifer is a peach with a heart of gold and makes you feel comfortable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 20th, 2008
they give you meds- but...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you need help with the insurance company to get an authorization, forget it. They take days to get back to you and then they tell you "We don't do that"
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 30th, 2008
Pain Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Patel is a pain specialist but he puts people on medications and gives needles. I almost died from the needles. He never saw or listened to the problems. His staff is the rudest doctors staff I have ever seen. They keep you on pain medication. But don't dare take an extra one after how ever many years you are on it because when they find out they treat you like a drug addict and refuse your medication. Then he stops seeing you and throws you to a nurse or a pa (who don't know what they are doing). For someone who is supposed to help you with pain after you are there awhile he doesn't want to be bothered you now become an addict to the staff and pa's. This is very sad for a doctor to take this specialty and do this to people. Time for my lawyer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Rakesh Patel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Hamden, CT.