The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Raleigh Kent III Is this you?
  • 26
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
  • 12

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Raleigh Kent III?


44 Ratings with 15 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 20th, 2017

One of the best surgeons in the Birmingham area

Has performed over 4000 thyroidectomy and you can tell

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 25th, 2017

Informative and terrific bedside manner.

I have been going to Dr. Kent for years and I have always been pleased with his service.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 18th, 2017

Worst doctor I have ever had!

He was very rude and did not explain things very well. He got very upset and walked out of the room when I asked for a second opinion. When I asked if I could ask a few questions I was told I needed to make them quick because he needed to go. He was very uncaring and made me feel even worse about the surgery that I was already nervous about! He has the worst bedside manner of any doctor I have been around in my entire life! And there have been a lot!

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 31st, 2017

I highly recommend Dr. Kent. He did a wonderful job with my surgery. He has a great sense of humor and made me feel at ease. I believe he is a wonderful Doctor and I will Definately use him if I need surgery again.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 4th, 2017

Dr Kent has alzheimer he can't remember from one visit to the other. He told my wife one thing at a visit and when she went back he said he never told her that. Didn't like him from the first visit. The nurses act like his baby sitter they go out the room and whisper to him. This is very rude!!!!!! Do not recommend him looking for another Doctor. #HeNeedToRetire

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 14th, 2016

First doctor I've considered suing.

I was shocked at the way Kent both spoke to me and kept lunging in close to my face while barking orders. He is lucky we didn't sue him and any hospital who employs him should secure the best liability insurance possible. Someone will not be so generous. The nurse actually put her arm on him to hold him back once when he leaned in and raised his voice harshly to me. If I could go back to 2010, I would go through the pain of a lawsuit. How dare he speak to people that way. I would love to live that day over, prepared for his behavior.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

March 3rd, 2015

Dr Kent was reassuring and caring. I immediately felt at ease, and was not frightened about my upcoming surgery.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 4th, 2015

Dr Kent made what could have been a scary experience very personal and relieving.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

April 23rd, 2013

Burned

I was referred to Dr.Kent by MedHelp in Inverness for 2nd degree burns received on my legs from a brush fire accident. Once we arrived at Dr.Kent's office it was about a 10 minute wait in the reception area and another 45 minutes in the examination room. We were told the extended wait was due to Dr.Kent still being in surgery. After the doctor finally arrived he examined my wounds, cleaned and dressed them and sent me on my way. I've been back for follow-up and the wait was minimal. Nurses were courteous and Dr.Kent was very cordial. I found my 1st and follow-up visit experience to be quite acceptable. I would go back to Dr.Kent for treatment if required.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 8th, 2013

Dr. Kent is amazing & has changed my life. He is my angel & hero. He removed my gallbladder . I was taken in surgery with a very minimal wait & was able to leave in 2 & 1/2 hrs. Would have been sooner not counting the prep. He has a wonderful bedside manner & I had a quick & great recovery. Luckily he has found some other problems that could be serious he is addressing. I really like him & would definitely recommend him. He is very thorough & kind. I would use him again in a heartbeat & will use him in my future findings. He was highly recommended by one of my doctors & so thankful I used him. He also was very informative & didn't try to just rush & get me out of there. He is great!!!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 19th, 2013

Wonderful!!!!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 27th, 2013

Another Doctor said I needed to go to a surgeon because my thyroid goblin was high he thought I had thyroid cancer. I collected my blood work reports and ultrasound reports all the while worrying if I might have cancer. Dr Kent just felt of my thyroid, did not do biopsy, and told me I did not have cancer and any weight I had gained was because my fork went into my mouth. This man was so very rude. I had taken a friend with me and he had me to go get her so he could tell me that in front of her! This man is very degrading to women. Just hope I don't have cancer because he sure did not check to see if I do.

Wait time
5 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Raleigh Kent III is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Birmingham, AL.

  • Dr. April Maddux

    Dr. April Maddux

    General Surgery

    Birmingham, AL 0 mi

    3.6
    (26)
    18
  • Dr. Carroll Harmon

    Dr. Carroll Harmon

    Bariatric Medicine, General Surgery, Pediatric Surgery

    Birmingham, AL 0.04 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    34
  • Dr. Jeffrey Albright

    Dr. Jeffrey Albright

    Colon and Rectal Surgery, General Surgery

    Birmingham, AL 0.06 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    16