The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ralph Curtis Jr Is this you?
  • 20
  • 0
  • 3
  • 2
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
21.5 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ralph Curtis Jr?


28 Ratings with 10 Comments

3.0 Rating

June 10th, 2016

Dr. Curtiss is an exceptional doctor/person

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 31st, 2016

Only problem I have is that he doesn't spend a lot of time with you. Coming from a small town environment where Dr.'s come in and sit, visit and explain things, I was a little bothered. After seeing as many San Antonio Dr.'s as I have seen I came to realize this is the way it is now. Not unhappy just wish they would spend more time with you.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 19th, 2016

TERRIBLE POST-OP

Post-op patient care is the worst I have ever experienced or heard of. Every single post-op appointment has been rescheduled, with appointments pushed back minimum of two weeks each time (this occurred 4 times so far post surgery). This was a huge inconvenience as it delayed many things - starting PT, taking sling off, clearance to drive, etc. Also, when requested to speak with Dr. Curtis I was told each time that he refuses to speak to patients directly. Absolutely horrible patient care.

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 16th, 2015

Shoulder and Knee surgeries, no issues, good followup

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

May 4th, 2015

What happened to patient care?

Once the surgery is done, you no longer exist. Staff is unresponsive. Will not return calls about missing prescriptions or urgent pain issues. They cancel appointment after appointment and when you finally do get in, plan on waiting at least 45 minutes in the waiting room.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 20th, 2015

EXCELLENT

DOC OPERATED BOTH MY SHOULDERS

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 23rd, 2012

Wrong diagnosis

I went to Dr. Curtis after a fall and dislocation of shoulder. He said he felt the rotator cuff was not torn and did not recommend an MRI to confirm this after I asked and recommended 3 day a week treatments at his physical therapy clinic. I went 3 times a week as requested and experienced no improvement and was in so much pain at night I could not sleep. Each visit I asked about an MRI, but was told it was not necessary. This went on or seven weeks. Finally, when I asked for the third time for something to help me sleep, he ordered an MRI. I had 3 tears, one a full thickness tear that would never have healed without surgery. After questions about this treatment, I went to a specialist in arthroscopic shoulder surgery and had surgery. I am doing fine now, but the delay in diagnosis because of his refusal to order the MRI caused unnecessary pain and time off of work. I would definitely get several opinions before proceeding with this doctor.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 1st, 2010

Fantastic Doctor

Brought my 13 year old child to Dr. Curtis for a 2nd opinion. 1st opinion Dr. wanted to do a major surgery, Dr. Curtis chose extensive PT and it worked! We have been back for numerous follow ups and what I really like about Curtis is how he makes my child responsible for her recovery and her rehabilitation. She is now 14 and back to her sport, which would not have happened if we went the surgery route. I have highly recommended him numerous times already and will continue to do so. Definetly worth the little bit of a wait in the waiting room.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 23rd, 2009

the best doctor ever.....i had a torn acl and went thrtough surgery and i am good as new...thank-you dr curtis!!!=)

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 3rd, 2009

dr. curtis repaired my torn rotator cuff- he did an awesome job. it's as good as new!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 13th, 2017

2.0 Rating

January 5th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ralph Curtis Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.

  • Dr. David Green

    Dr. David Green

    Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery of the Hand

    San Antonio, TX 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (12)
    51
  • Dr. Ramesh Srinivasan

    Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery of the Hand

    San Antonio, TX 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (4)
    10
  • Dr. John Friedland

    Dr. John Friedland

    Orthopedic Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine

    San Antonio, TX 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (42)
    24