The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ralph Venuto Is this you?
  • 8
  • 3
  • 5
  • 2
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
20.5 min
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Accurate Diagnosis

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ralph Venuto?


25 Ratings with 11 Comments

1.0 Rating

November 23rd, 2015

The worst surgeon for any knee problem. DR. VENUTO charged me $7200 FOR A STEM CELL TREATMENT WAS A COMPLETE FAILURE and waste of money! I went to another doctor who found extensive knee damage that could never be fixed by stem cells! My new doctor had to surgically repair my knee...

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 28th, 2015

STAY AWAY FROM THIS DOCTOR

I WAS OPERATED ON FOR A MENISCUS TEAR OVER 3 YEARS AGO AND MY KNEE STILL HASN'T HEALED PROPERLY. SHORTLY AFTER THE SURGERY WHEN I WENT FOR MY SECOND POSTOPERATIVE VISIT, WHEN I TOLD HIM I WAS HAVING TROUBLE WITH THE KNEE HE OPERATED ON AND HE JUST DISMISSED ME AND QUICKLY LEFT THE OFFICE TRYING TO BLAME IT ON ME THAT I WASN'T FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS, WHICH I CAN ASSURE YOU THAT I WAS DOING EVERYTHING HE ASKED OF ME. I WAS SO UPSET THAT I CALLED HIS NURSE THE NEXT DAY AND ASKED HER TO HAVE HIM CALL ME BACK, HE DID NOT EVEN HAVE THE COURTESY TO GET BACK TO ME, THIS DOCTOR IS JUST ABOUT THE MONEY. HE TREATS HIS PATIENTS LIKE CATTLE AND HE HAS ALL HIS PATIENTS SCHEDULED FOR SHOTS AFTER SURGERY FOR ARTHRITIS PAIN EVEN IF THEY DON'T HAVE ARTHRITIS PAIN. HE DOESN'T EVEN MEASURE WHERE THE SHOT SHOULD GO AND WHEN HE GAVE ME THE SHOT IT WENT DOWN MY LEG INSTEAD OF INTO THE KNEE, IT HURT BADLY HE JUST LAUGHED TO HIS NURSE. PLEASE BE FOREWARNED TO STAY AWAY AND DON'T BELIEVE ALL THE HYPE ABOUT AWARDS AND THE CASTLE CONNOLLY LIKE I DID, FIND A DOCTOR WHO'S NOT SO OLD AND ONE WHO REALLY CARES ABOUT HIS PATIENTS,

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

April 15th, 2014

Just another Statistic

This office has too much to do and not enough time. Its like a major production line and your on the conveyor belt. Have your questions ready or you'll miss your turn and hate yourself for not asking.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 14th, 2013

LAZY DOC

After taking a hard fall on tile which prevented me from walking more than a few steps without intense pain in my hip, thiogh, and knee still months after the fall, I went to consult Venuto. Venuto spent literally less than 3 minutes in the room, never touched my leg or examined it in any way and then told me that physical therapy would not help me, claiming I was just "weak". What an idiot! How is a doctor supposed to form an opinion from across the room without examining your injury or even observing your gait? Thank God I obtained another opinion from a competent orthopedist who actually examined my leg, noted scarring of the IT band and referred me to an excellent physical therapist who is helping me recover through on-going physical therapy and ultrasound . Seeing Venuo was just a waste of time and money. Avoid this troll.

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 28th, 2013

Long story short, due to construction around doctor's office, I arrived 15 mins late; however, I called them to let them know what was happening (7 minutes past my appointment) and that I could not locate their building number. They simply refused to see me. Had it been the other way around, they'd make me wait for an hour with no hesitation.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 11th, 2012

great doctor

I agree that his bedside manner can be up and down, but I am not looking for a friend I was looking for a competent surgeon who could answer my questions. I feel very safe in his care and when I do have a question he stops listens and answers in detail.

Wait time
10 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

March 25th, 2012

Might be good care but seems short on time

It seems that they are way too busy too spend the proper amount of time with the patient. It appears extremely money oriented & feels more like a business than a medical practice .

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 30th, 2011

Not a good experience at all!

The reason the wait time is so short when seeing Dr. Ralph Venuto is because he does not spend more than 90 seconds with his patients regardless of your needs. He is rushed and doesn't connect with his patients or seem to care about their health concerns. I trusted him and followed his instructions yet I will be back in surgery 4 months after my surgery with him. I am so disappointed in the way he treated me and the results of his surgery.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 16th, 2011

Excellent experience. He is the best up-front and honest with you. Takes the time to explain what is exactly wrong. Always know the latest technique on how to fix it.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

November 24th, 2009

So Far So Good

Seems smart; very experienced. He's a little of an "old school" in-and-out, light on the bedside manner guy but will provide proper attention when poked. Just had meniscus tear surgery and will see what happens.I dont like coddling and he fits that bill - if the recovery works out well then he gets a B+/A- from me. Hope so.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 25th, 2009

Dr.Venuto in a hurry

Doesn't ACL replacement surgery seem easy for a good Ortho? Guess Venuto isn't so goog.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

July 6th, 2016

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ralph Venuto is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newport Beach, CA.

  • Dr. Scott Forman

    Dr. Scott Forman

    Foot and Ankle Orthopedics, Orthopedic Surgery

    Newport Beach, CA 0.01 mi

    4.4
    (31)
    31
  • Dr. Anthony Mork

    Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Newport Beach, CA 0.01 mi

    4.4
    (68)
    40
  • Dr. Nicholas Rose

    Dr. Nicholas Rose

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Newport Beach, CA 0.01 mi

    4.2
    (25)
    26