Dr. Randall Porter MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.6
  • 127 patient ratings
  • 59 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (+ 0.2)

59 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    86%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    2%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 24.4 minutes
  • Promptness
  • Bedside Manner

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 1st, 2016
Spinal Stenosis Surgery
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would like to say much better I am, but it is difficult because the improvement is almost indescribable. Dr. Porter is a wonderful Doctor and between he and God my life is so much more enjoyable without the constant pain and all that went with it. Dr. Porter cured my spinal stenosis and all of the terrible symptoms associated with that. He also fused L4-L5 and used minimal hardware. I can now stand and walk all day if I choose with no limitations. Dr. Randall & his staff are wonderful and I am so thankful God led me to them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 5th, 2016
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best dr. In the world. He saved my life. Thanks dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 26th, 2016
7 minute office visit
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
have a compressed degenerative disc C-6 C-7 pinching my spinal cord. He did not recommend surgery cause I am not in enough pain yet . He was exhausted and yawning for the 7 minutes he spent with me . First impression not positive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 24th, 2016
Best Neurosurgeon You Will Find.
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Porter is the one and only neurosurgeon that I would trust with my spine or brain. He has performed surgery on me and I could not be happier and more grateful for his care and expertise.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 21st, 2016
Thank You Dr. Porter !
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Porter was my surgeon last month when I underwent a Craniotomy for the removal of a Meningioma tumor. Both my surgery and hospital stay went extremely well. During the time that I spent with Dr. Porter both before and after my surgery, Dr. Porter exhibited such professionalism, competence, respect, understanding, commitment, empathy, honesty, optimism and grace! Thank you Dr. Porter, you are, without a doubt, one of the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 13th, 2016
Dr. Porter is the very BEST!!!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Porter recently completed a surgery on my C2 Ganglion nerves to sever them after YEARS of severe headaches, especially on my left side. After exhausting pain management and doing a trial on the St. Jude neurostimulator, it was decided that direct surgery was most likely the best course of action. During surgery, Dr. Porter found the left Ganglion involved with the C1 & C2 vertebrae, clearly the root cause for years of suffering. He freed the Ganglion and completed the planned procedure. When I awoke, I could tell immediately that the pain I endured for YEARS was gone. I have pain from the surgical site, as it required cutting muscle and nerves to get to the problem area, but NOTHING like the pain I increasingly suffered over many years….. pain that no Rx or procedure was able to subdue. I feel like I awoke in a new body and am now ready to endure a few weeks of surgical site pain in order to get back to a full and happy…..pain free… life again. Thank you again, Dr. Porter…..you are the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 28th, 2016
EXCELLENT DOCTOR BUT VERY RUDE STAFF!!!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've had a couple of appointments with Dr. Porter to discuss the best option for my condition. I have seen over eight neurologists and neurosurgeons and sad to say most of them were not very compassionate. My experience with Dr. Porter has been nothing but positive. Unlike most neurologists who are very cold and arrogant, he is very caring and really takes the time to address all your questions/concerns. He is not quick to recommend surgery unless it's truly necessary. He will propose method of treatment as if you were one of his family members. Reviews for Staff (not including Nurse Practioner): The staff here are not very compassionate. They treat you as a number and not as a human being. It baffles me how someone who works in the medical field has no empathy. Whoever hires these people need to train them on how to speak to patients or simply hire people who possess characteristics that exude empathy. I believe in the Golden Rule, treat people the way you would want them to treat you. The surgery coordinator is one of the most rude and sarcastic person I've ever dealt with in a doctor's office. Then you have the person who answers the phone sometimes (Andrew) who can be friendly on some days, and rude on another day. I was so fed up one day by their unprofessional and negative attitude that I finally spoke up and shared my thoughts. I told him that patients are under enough stress and pain as it is. We need the staff to answer questions without being condescending. That should not be too much to ask for. Leave your personal issues at home and come in to work with a professional attitude and some human touch wouldn't hurt. Though he apologized in words, his tone was not sincere. So sad. Just a quick note about the Julie, the Nurse Practioner. She is friendly and always patient to answer your questions. She's also very knowledgeable! She is always prompt to call back whenever I've emailed. Dr. Porter made a wise choice in selecting her!! Be prepared for a below average experience with Dr. Porter's staff but expect excellent bed side manners, knowledge, and experience from Dr. Porter!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 21st, 2016
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I don't usually write reviews. I am taking the time to do this because it is deserving and I believe if this can help anyone else with a decision then it was worth it. I am a Fire Fighter, and it is a career that is not easy on the body, although it is a career that I was not willing to give up. I fractured my L-5 Pars bone and as a result I aquired severe spondylolisthesis. My condition required surgical intervention due to the fracture and loss of the mechanical advantage that the pars bone provides. This was a stressful time for me; I have a wife and 3 kids that depend on me, this would be my very first surgery, and I could possibly lose my career. I researched and researched to find the best possible surgeon. I essentially interviewed 4 surgeons prior to making my decision. I chose Dr. Randall Porter to perform my surgery. I could not have made a better decission! Dr. Porter and his NP Julie are second to none, this includes; Bedside manner, Professionalism, Knowledge, Expertise, and they really care, I never felt like just a number. I must also say that Dr. Porter will pray with you and you family prior to the surgery, this was big for me. Im a year post surgery and my CT scan looks great, I am pain free, I'm able to work out, run the mountains again, and I have returned to my career full duty without restrictions. I highly recommend Dr. Randall Porter and his staff!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 29th, 2016
Dr Randall Porter
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This office is a 5* rating all the way. From DR Porter to his PA and office staff they are amazing. I would recommend Dr Porter to everyone!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 28th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Porter, Julie, and all the staff are wonderful! They take the time needed to help you! His video recordings are awesome! You can look back as many times as you need to be clear on exactly what was said. Dr. Porter did an iFuse implant for me and I am completely satisfied. Couldn't have found a better place and people to help me!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 5th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was extremely pleased starting with the very first appointment. Never having had major surgery, I found Dr. Porter did a wonderful job of easing my anxiety.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 23rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Porter is excellent. I feel totally confident in his care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Randall Porter, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Phoenix, AZ.

Doctor

Dr. Andrew Ducruet

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Laura Snyder

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Vernard Fennell

7 years experience

5.0 of 5