Overall Review

2.1
  • 47 patient ratings
  • 30 comments

Last 12 months:

2.4 (+ 0.3)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    17%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    62%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 49.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 29th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This review is for Dr. Fong and his medical abilities. If there is a skill that he has mastered, it is performing eye surgery. He is an absolute perfectionist when it comes to actually providing medical care. My 90 year old grandfather came to him with extreme blurred vision and had Dr.Fong perform cataract surgery. Post surgery, my grandfather is extremely pleased with the results. He claims that he even feels young again because he can finally see so well. There was great aftercare instructions and he had no issues with recovery. If you want a smooth operation with no problems, I would definitely recommend Raymond Fong. He has done something very wonderful for my grandfather and our family is very appreciative of his efforts. Great work!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 21st, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Absolutely no problems
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 25th, 2014
Unprofessional staff
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Called for an appointment and was told to walk in. When I arrived at the office in Chinatown (which I live in Whitestone) and I'm currently pregnant, the staff told me that I should be here before 1pm. This is news to me because clearly I was NOT told over the phone which I have to be here before. I told them at the office that I came all the way from Whitestone and I'm pregnant and WHY THE heck they didn't tell me this before I came!!! Very unprofessional. I also work in Weil Cornell myself and this is not the way we treat patients!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 3rd, 2013
Unscrupulous Greed!
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It was a mistake for Harvard to have accepted him as a student in the first place. This doctor is the most shameless and unethical doctor I've ever seen. He's so hungry to be making more and more money through his practice that he couldn't care less if that would ruin his reputation or not.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 14th, 2013
Disappointed
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
GREEDT! GREEDY! GREEDY! All this doctor cares about is $MONEY$, $MONEY$, $MONEY$. About 20 years ago when I was still young, poor, and unemployed, I went to see Doctor Fong for a discomfort in one of my eyes. He took a quick look and determined that it was an ingrown eyelash. It took him only a few seconds to pluck it off. Even though I explained to him at the time that I had no insurance, he still instructed his assistance to collect $100 from me in $CASH$. What a greedy and heartless doctor ! In the early 1990's, $100 was a lot of money - especially to a recent college graduate who is still struggling to be on his own. SHAME on him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 12th, 2013
Ripoff report
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My friends and I have been a patient at Dr Raymond Fong's Center since 2009, and we have decided not to use his service anymore. In these recent two years, his Center insisted charging our health insurance + $45 co-payment before they would perform a dilated eye examination. We called our eye insurance companies and realized that both of our eye insurance companies covered the examination to dilate pupils. I think his services are a total ripoff. My eye insurance company suggested me to file a complaint about this issue and we will do so. Their services were unprofessional. Anyway, we will not be going back
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 26th, 2012
waste my time seeing this doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i did some research before going to this doctor, i read the review and everything so i guess they are professional. But when i go there i wait like a hour before seeing the doctor and his attitude was not so good ,he 's not paying attention when i try to explain to him what the situation is . He sound like i was there for nothing but trying to get some free eye drop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 16th, 2012
Don't Pick Him
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not a good doctor, not care about his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 14th, 2012
Poor poor service an pt care
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i have been going to dr gong for over 12 years + in the beginning he took his time with each pt. Now since he is making so much money he has gotten too big for his boots as the saying goes. I use to really respect him and admired hm now...his office is like a zoo...everything is like an assembly line..rush, rush...and I never get to see dr fong unless I go mon or tues...he is always in surgery all other days.Both my husband and my mother went there, my mother had her cataract surgery done by dr gong a few years ago. I have no choice now but to change ophthalmologist..i need someone who will take time when I go to see them...poor service, poor bed side manners...dr fong is heading for serious law suits if he does not pay more attention to pt care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 16th, 2011
Worst Staff EVER
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Staff won't give my records to the dr who referred me to them. They can't even tell me when the report will be ready. So disorganized and rude! If they can't take care of their patients' medical problems, they shouldn't see so many people!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 4th, 2011
poor poor service
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This has been probably the worst experience of mine.First off, it's very difficult to see the doctor in person. The waiting time is long. Then all the other staff take exams for him.He only spends less than 5 minutes with me each time. Consider he's the surgeon for my eye procedure, that is not enough.Second, the procedure is a failure. Since I had LASIK before, they suggested me to have LASEK instead. After almost 8 months past the procedure, my reading vision is still blurry. Every time I went to see them, they claimed that my near sighted vision has been removed, and the only reason is my eye is dry. Luckily, I only had one eye done. Again, each time, Doctor Fong spent less than 2 minutes with me, and all he could suggest is to use eye drops.This is very bad, and very unpleasant. I'm swtiching to see other eye doctors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 20th, 2011
I waited for 2 hours...torture....
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr.Fong's reputation seems pretty good but he only spent 2 minutes with me aftere 2 hours of waiting..I won't go back there.They charged me $ 150.00 but I heard in Queen's office it is $ 120.00.It was a nightmare.Waiting and waiting...One guy checked my eyes and waiting...and another guy checked and waiting.....And finally Dr.Fong came and spent 2 miniutes and gone.It was a torturous experiment(rather than an examination or experience)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Raymond Fong, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Jay Fleischman

41 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Melissa Leung

20 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ian Chan

9 years experience

4.5 of 5