The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. R Gaston Is this you?
  • 17
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
10.8 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. R Gaston?


23 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 26th, 2016

Superior Surgeon

Think of what it would belike in life living without the use of your hands. Dr. Gaston has operated on both of mine and there is only one thing to say he is fantastic.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 18th, 2015

Multiple errors

Dr. Christian Clark (OrthoCarolina too) sent us to Dr. Gaston for a 2 Dr. surgery consultation to improve our child's severe loss of range of motion, following radial head fracture surgery w/ poor results. (Our child now types primarily with pinky on right hand.) Gaston's consultation has multiple errors. In "history of illness" section, the wrong treatment & pinning dates are listed. Our child waited 8 days for his initial surgery, not 1 day. He had closed reduction, not open reduction surgery. He didn't have extensive bracing, rather no bracing. . More importantly, under "PLAN" section of consultation, Gaston's report cites "no sign of synostosis, but at a consultation with another Dr, the very next day, "synostosis" and multiple other problems were identified. Multiple doctors visit our child at teaching hospitals. An MRI shows almost 100% synostosis.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 4th, 2015

Highly Recommend

Dr Gaston is an excellent hand surgeon; personable, easy going and talented. I've had 3 hand surgeries by him with excellent results.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 13th, 2015

Great Doctor....

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 18th, 2014

Dr. Gaston is one of the best hand surgeons in the US

Not only is Dr. Gaston an exceptional and accomplished surgeon, he continues to research and learn new techniques, and continues to share his knowledge as a mentor to interns/residents. He goes beyond the call of duty to ensure diagnosis is accurate and complete and that each patient is treated as an individual. For non-standard situations he will reach out to research centers, labs, etc. around the country and partner with them to gather complete and detailed information regarding treatment options, rates of reoccurrences, frequency of exams, surgical options, etc. He is remarkable and intelligent while showing compassion to each of his patients. I will always recommend Dr. Gaston to anyone needing a brilliant and skilled hand surgeon, who is an exceptional doctor who cares.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 29th, 2008

Best Hand Surgeon in the World

Well maybe that headline is saying a bit much, but I was very satisfied with the treatment and surgeries that were performed by Dr. Gaston after I had a motorcycle accident. He is top of the line, very professional and friendly. That says a lot about a doctor these days. I hope he never loses his selfless caring attitude. It was easy to trust him implicitly and he always took the extra time to explain every procedure and x-ray. He has a great team in the office and they are very friendly and professional as well. It was nice going in for a follow up visit even when things weren't going so well for me right after the accident. They all treated me like family. I would recommend Dr. Gaston to anyone who is seeking an orthopedic surgeon for their hand. The folks at Ortho Carolina really have their act together. :)

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 23rd, 2017

5.0 Rating

October 12th, 2016

1.0 Rating

July 29th, 2016

2.0 Rating

March 1st, 2016

5.0 Rating

January 13th, 2016

5.0 Rating

October 13th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. R Gaston is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Charlotte, NC.

  • Dr. Robert Chadderdon

    Dr. Robert Chadderdon

    Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery of the Hand

    Charlotte, NC 0.01 mi

    3.3
    (16)
    14
  • Dr. Gary Wertman II

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Charlotte, NC 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (6)
    11
  • Dr. Michael Paloski

    Dr. Michael Paloski

    Orthopedic Surgery, Pediatric Surgery

    Charlotte, NC 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    8