Dr. Rex Cooley Jr DO Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 33 patient ratings
  • 11 reviews

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.4)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    70%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    21%
  • Wait Time 22.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

2.0 of 5
May 31st, 2016
Disappointed
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen Dr. Cooley for many yrs but this was the worst visit ever. Waited for over 2 hrs to be seen didn't spend any time talking or listening to what I had to say & didn't even address the main reason I was there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 30th, 2016
Compassionate, very communicative and extremely detailed surgeon
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In 2013, Dr. Cooley replaced my dad's knee despite a complex history on breaks in that leg 50 years prior - no issue for Dr. Cooley. He took every precaution. He educated me and my dad about the intricacy of the procedure, the after care and what to watch for. Dr. Cooley examined dad's prior clot history, did a 4 day hospitalization with nerve block, then walking and movement as often as tolerable. He conducted patient rounds every morning before going to surgery or his office. He is very concerned about patient comfort and adamant about having a clean environment for healing. As an experiment, he sent my dad home with inflating compression wraps for his legs (designed for home use) to keep circulation going at night in bed. Dr. Cooley said my dad was the first patient to receive this new treatment and Dr. Cooley arranged it all through Hanger Prosthetics (who came to the house to set us up and explain everything). Dr. Cooley even called my dad a week after surgery to personally check in - before he had to go back for the post-op visit. He referred a great physical therapist who provided excellent care at home. Dr. Cooley conducted two post op visits out of abundance of precaution. My dad couldn't be more grateful for the level of care he received from Dr. Cooley. He is extremely detailed and thorough as a doctor and listens to his patients, giving every option available. He is considerate of your needs as a patient and genuinely expresses compassion. (He now gives me cortisone shots for my knee.) His office is immaculately clean, his staff is very kind and reachable, and has a good overall positive environment for healing. He only does knees and hips now, and is the best you can get in Tucson if you ask our family. ( Only recommendation is to get taller chairs for the waiting room for older folks.)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 14th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A very kind, caring, knowledgeable, competent and sympathetic physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 5th, 2015
Great Doc.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had 2 surgeries on different body parts from Dr. Cooley. He is EXCELLENT with all he does. From office visits to post surgery care. He even returned my phone call and answered questions about a problem 3 years after surgery. His is great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 5th, 2014
Total knee surgery
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Cooley is an excellent surgeon. I had my rightand left knee done in 2006 and have had no problems. He was a wonderful doctor with a great bedside manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 30th, 2012
Horrible follow up
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was waiting on insurance to approve an MRI, his staff said they would call me as soon as it was approved. I find out from my insurance provider that the MRI was approved 2 weeks ago and I have not received a call from his office. I have placed 2 calls in to them to find out what I need to do, they haven taken messages and said they would call me right back... I have not heard from them again. How can someone stay in practice with a staff like this?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He knows what he's doing and does it well...wish he could be my general doctor...not just my surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 29th, 2010
What a Hack.!!!!!
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Poor surgery caused some nerve damage. Failure to properly install plates and screws caused some loss of use in that arm. Use at your own risk.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 14th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr, Cooley is the 1 of the best surgen's we have ever had. Uur nanes are Gerry & Pat McGann , Gerry had a new knee and I broke my knee and Dr. Cooley was a very caring and excellent surgeon
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 12th, 2010
Uncaring and very rude
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was inapropriate and rude. He didn't explain what was being done and was basically put out by the fact that he had to treat me. I found him to be a very poor doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 12th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
very caring, easy to communicate with.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Rex Cooley Jr, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Tucson, AZ.

Doctor

Dr. Felix Jabczenski

33 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jose Alicea

30 years experience

4.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. John Maltry

31 years experience

4.4 of 5