ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Richard Alvarez Is this you?
  • 11
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
42.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Richard Alvarez?


21 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 9th, 2013

Excellent

I spent 2 years playing on bad ankle and every doctor I saw told me everything was normal. When I saw Dr. Alvarez he suggested a scope and possibly surgery. Turns out I had torn 2 ligaments and had globs of scarred tissue. He is a very good doctor...but you must have a sense of humor.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 28th, 2011

Never again

If you do not mind waiting over 2 hours for this doctor, be my guest. Waited for 4+ months to get in and then left after 2+ hours and never saw him except from a distance.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 27th, 2011

I have had 2 surgeries with Dr. Alvarez, foot and ankle. He is not a doctor, who rushes you to surgery. He explores other options, before recommending surgery. Both operations were extremely successful, and I could not be any happier with the results. Be prepared for "sarcastic" personality. Having 5 brothers, I am quite used to dealing with sarcasim, and I really got along well with Dr. Alvarez. However, I warn that it does take a long time to get an initial appointment, but the wait was so worth it. I have seen 2 other "foot/ankle" specialists in Chattanooga, and none of them compared to Dr. Alvarez.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 12th, 2011

Following surgery my follow-up appts. were canceled twice and rescheduled - only to get to office and he is out of the office and asked to reschedule again. When I am seen the wait was 90 mins and he was very distracted and saw me for only 5 mins - with minimal ambulation instructions. What was to be a 6 wk follow-up is now 9 wks and still waiting.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 24th, 2011

I had a very complicated fracture and Dr. Alvarez has been the most courteous and caring about my trimalleolar fracture and his staff is the greatest If you need a orthopedic surgeon he is the best your gonna get in my opinion

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 12th, 2009

He came in with a resident and was rather snide. I had pain in my ankle, but he was more interested in the fact that I have dry skin and insisted that I probably had diabetes. Follow up with my Regular doctor shows I don't have diabetes, not even close to having it, as my blood sugar is dead normal. He referred me for PT, which I cannot have as he uses only one particular therapist and they won't see me as my husband has a bill that he bankrupted. So we are having to pay that off before I can get care.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 15th, 2008

I had a terrible problem with my foot. I had not been able to walk for about 5 years without terrible pain. To my amazement Dr Alvarez did surgery on it and I can now walk pain free. I think he is the most amazing man I have ever met.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

October 6th, 2017

3.0 Rating

June 7th, 2017

1.0 Rating

March 6th, 2017

2.0 Rating

January 10th, 2017

1.0 Rating

November 4th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Richard Alvarez is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Chattanooga, TN.

  • Dr. Jesse Doty

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Chattanooga, TN 0 mi

    4.1
    (25)
    9
  • Dr. Humphrey Heywood III

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Chattanooga, TN 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    53
  • Dr. Daniel Doty

    Orthopedic Surgery, Residency

    Chattanooga, TN 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    7