ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Richard Johnston III Is this you?
  • 11
  • 1
  • 3
  • 2
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
34.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Richard Johnston III?


24 Ratings with 13 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 26th, 2015

From an older patient

I had my right shoulder rotator cuff repaired in 2005 and the left repaired a year later. Dr. Johnson is a fantastic doctor, kind and understanding. Here 10 years later, I am still pain free. I have had excellent results. Just thought I would weigh in here and let you know if I needed a repair, he would be the first doctor I would call...Thanks from an old patient.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 23rd, 2015

All about the $$$

Worst "doctor" if that's what you want to call him....that I've probably ever seen. Excellent bedside manor makes his poor patient care hard to see through. He's in it for the $.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 6th, 2012

very sweet caring man an his PA STEPHINE BOTH ARE GOOD PEOPLE

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 7th, 2012

try someone else

He repaired my torn meniscus and left a piece of cartiledge behind. Went in for a follow up and indicated that I still had pain --- actually it felt worse. He bent my knee a few times, told me it was find. That cartiledge he left behind wound up bumping against the bone and scraping away. Don't bother.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

December 8th, 2011

Not always worth the wait

The biggest drawback to seeing Dr. Johnston is the wait time. I've waited as long as an hour to see him. His manner is inconsistent. Sometimes he's friendly but sometimes he seems distracted and distant. He operated on my rotator cuff, and I'm totally pleased. He's definitely a good surgeon, and I keep going back.

Wait time
55.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 31st, 2011

He's a great doc

Dr. Johnston performed rotator cuff surgery on my shoulder. Haven't had major problems since. He's usually running behind, but that doesn't bother me that much. I'd definitely recommend him as a surgeon.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 11th, 2011

Left in tears, every time.

Dr. Johnston has been my orthopaedic doctor since 2002. In '02 I broke my arm and my initial x ray came back irregular, and he didn't want to proceed with casting. My dad urged him to do so, and he complied reluctantly. 2 weeks later I went in for recasting and sure enough the next xray showed a clean break. Now, 2011 as an avid runner I started getting awful shin pain; finally went to see him. His bedside manner was that of a man too busy to be bothered with something so "simple." Initial xray was clean, during my follow-up he spoke down to me and when I pushed back, insisting on the unnatural amount of pain and lack of improvement, he placated me in assigning a bone scan. Sure enough, my bone scan came back with 3 severe stress fractures. I leave his office every time in tears because of his condescending nature, inability and unwillingness to listen, and complete lack of tact or interest in what I have to say. I would highly advise anyone considering his services to reconsider and RUN the other way. Not the doctor for you if you want someone to listen to you or at least fain interest in what you have to say.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 1st, 2010

ABsolutely outstanding.

Dr, Johnston did shoulder surgery on me a few years ago, and more recently repaired a torn meniscus. The results in both cases have been beyond, what one could expect; I find dr. Johnston absulutely ethical, and a true professional. I will never hesitate to use his services again, if needed.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

June 18th, 2010

Premadonna

This guy might be as good as he thinks he is if he lost the attitude. Long waits, rushed appointments, didn't listen, zero bed side manner.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 21st, 2010

Exceeded my expectations

Dr. Johnston was very helpful and professional in diagnosing my knee injury and spent time discussing the injury and my options and recommendations, I didn't feel like he rushed through the process and I feel like he was willing to work with me to find the best solution for my injury. Would definitely recommend him to others.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 28th, 2009

Unprofessional

Had to wait over and hour and half to meet him.Finally he walk in spend less than 5 minutes, won't give a straight answer - keeps flip flopping and then finally is dying to leave and move on.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

September 3rd, 2008

Great surgeon, not a great care giver

If you want someone with empathy who will spend time talking with you, Johnston's not your man. If he spends 10 minutes with you, you're lucky. But he's a terrific surgeon.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Richard Johnston III is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Atlanta, GA.

  • Stephanie Martin

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Atlanta, GA

    4.5
    (79)
    Accepts online appointments
  • Dr. Michael Mathers

    Dr. Michael Mathers

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Atlanta, GA 0 mi

    4.9
    (14)
    19
  • Dr. Peter Symbas

    Dr. Peter Symbas

    Orthopedic Surgery, Sports Medicine

    Atlanta, GA 0 mi

    4.6
    (32)
    21