Dr. Richard Baumgartner MD, FAAFP Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Big Bear Lake, CA

Overall Rating

2.1
  • 13 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-1.1)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    8%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    15%
  • Poor
    31%
  • Bad
    46%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 12.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
May 26th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Is it just me, or is there something about an extremely obese doctor that should be worrisome? He is in and out of the examining room as fast as possible. And when I needed a medical record, his staff person told me the fee would be $25, which is in violation of California Medical Board regulations allowing for a copying fee of 25 cents per page plus reasonable clerical charge. Given the pay rates in Big Bear, $25 is about twice what a medical clerk makes per hour. Been there a few times; not going back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 1st, 2012
Efficient and thorough doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Definitely diagnosed and treated serious ailments in a most professional and thorough manner. Makes sure I take proper medications and refers me to specialists when necessary.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 29th, 2012
Used to be a good doctor
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We have been with this doctor for decades, and he used to be good. Now he couldn't care less; something seems to have gone wrong with him. Although he's supposed to be my primary doctor, he won't help me communicate with doctors to whom he has sent me. It is frustrating to have my questions met with a shrug and indifference. Others in the community are saying the same thing: he used to be a good caring doctor, but over the last few years he couldn't care less about his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
February 25th, 2012
Not my favorite
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I find Dr. Baumgartner to be quite arrogant and unwilling to listen to my questions and concerns. He got angry when I suggested an alternative treatment. He was ok until I mentioned a specialist had ordered a test for an ailment he had been treating me for. He is not nice.Whenever he orders a referral the office has never done it without a phone call to remind them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 28th, 2011
Wrong Diagnosis! (again and again)
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Instead of doing proper testing, Dr. B. pulls the (wrong) diagnosis out of his head! He told me I had "sugar diabetes" without testing my blood sugar or urine sugar levels. Well guess what: I went to 2 other docs, and they both confirmed NO DIABETES. He also told my brother he has prostate cancer -- again without testing first. My brother found out...NO prostate cancer. Stay away from this doctor!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 7th, 2017
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 4th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 of 5
January 13th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
September 4th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
June 26th, 2014

1.0 of 5
November 9th, 2012
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 12th, 2012
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Baumgartner, MD, FAAFP is similar to these 3 Doctors near Big Bear Lake, CA.