ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Richard Bowers Is this you?
  • 8
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
45.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Richard Bowers?


19 Ratings with 9 Comments

3.0 Rating

May 31st, 2016

The doctor may know his craft, however, he has an arrogant attitude. He spends a few minutes with you after you have made your "rounds" to all these other staff members. Sometimes he does not remember was he suggested at the previous visit and changes his recommendations. Don't call him on it. NO, NO! Wait time is ridiculous. I have been there anywhere from 2 - 4 hours awaiting my appointment. The staff is also rude at times. I do plan to find another doctor in the near future. Another thing. It seems that since he has this new office, he is prescribing many more tests - probably to help pay for the equipment. Such a shame for a doctor with such excellent skills.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 29th, 2015

Great Dr.

Knowledgeable, and explainers everything so clearly . Great "bedside" manner. Can't recommend him highly enough. Great doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

March 21st, 2015

Knowledgeable, but have heard him being rude to senior citizens with questions. Has been fine with me personally, however, I will be switching doctors because I am tired of waiting in the office for my appointment for 2-3 hours. My time is valuable too.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 21st, 2015

Excellent eye care, extremely knowledgeable and competent.

Extremely knowledgeable and competent. Direct , concise, and straight forward. Explained, answered questions, and instilled utmost confidence in his abilities and skills, what I look for in an individual who is going to operate on me. Excellent outcome after cataract surgery (his forte). Two years later returned with a different problem. He accurately diagnosed my condition and referred me to a specialist in that field, again what I would expect and appreciate. I am an airline pilot and my vision is quite important to my livelihood. I seek outcome related care and received no less. I only gave 4 stars on "promptness" , but that is indirectly an attribute as to the quality of care. If it takes extra time so be it, an extra 30 minutes when it pertains to my vision, as well as the previous patient's, is inconsequential.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 10th, 2014

surgical skill vs. patient skill

Dr. attempts to put on a pleasant demeanor but is very demanding of his staff and his patients. He is short tempered with patients who have questions and does a poor job about answering said questions. His typical answer to all questions is that he is an expert so stop asking questions. He puts on an initial front of "sappy," overdone sweetness but it is readily seen through and his staff privately confirm to me that he is demanding and, potentially, difficult to work with. I am willing to trust to his experience and allow him to treat me but I could never feel like I am valued or that my need to understand what is happening to my body is of the least importance to him. I have had prior care givers treat my chronic corneal disease who never wasted time and were efficient at moving through their schedules while still being sure to teach me everything I needed to know in order to understand what was happening to my body and what procedures being scheduled were meant to do, or why they were indicated. He wastes all that potential bonding and teaching time berating patients about their temerity in questioning his decisions. He obsesses about being an expert and to the expertese of his staff to the point that he refuses to explain why he is recommending that you see another member of the practice because, he is committed to a political treatment and interstaff relationship. If I want to know why I am sent from him to another staff member for specialized treatment, that specialist will have to do the explaining except that they, also, cannot explain anything that touches on the matter of my corneal health since that is a different doctor's perview. Ultimately, it is virtually impossible to get a straight answer out of him.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 24th, 2014

Very arrogant.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 27th, 2012

Unless you are going for a routine eye exam and glasses, go elsewhere. Had to seek treatment from a qualified physician.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 7th, 2012

Dr Bowers, was rude, agitated never actually stated a diagnosis was impolite, he was sarcastic laughed at my questions. I felt as though I paid a $35 copay to be treated like garbage. I will never see this doctor again. He was disrespectful and talked down to me. I did not appreciate or respect him. As a member of the healthcare field he should not practice with that attitude.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 7th, 2012

Over all a professional careful doctor

He took the time to discuss my moms cataract surgery carefully including the risks benefits and alternatives...She ended up with the multifocal lens and loves it.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 28th, 2017

5.0 Rating

June 11th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up

2.0 Rating

July 30th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Richard Bowers is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Sewickley, PA.

  • Dr. Ivan Baumwell

    Dr. Ivan Baumwell

    Ophthalmology

    Sewickley, PA 0 mi

    4.9
    (8)
    35
  • Dr. Thomas Uihlein

    Dr. Thomas Uihlein

    Ophthalmology

    Sewickley, PA 0 mi

    2.0
    (4)
    32
  • Dr. Robert Pavlis

    Ophthalmology

    Sewickley, PA 0.53 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    55