The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Richard Chessler Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Richard Chessler?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Richard Chessler?

Ratings and Reviews

18 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
25.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 18 Ratings with 5 Comments

3.0 Rating

February 21st, 2016

Caring compassion concerned .

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 10th, 2013

HORRIBLE Experience

I had a procedure done with this guy. My follow up appointment was at 4pm and I didn't see him until 5pm. He basically read the result from the computer and started yelling at me when I asked if I need antibiotics for stamach inflammation. He goes no, NO bacteria. I told him the previous medicine didn't work and asked him why I am not getting better at all in two month. He said "then we try another one." Seriously I think patients are jokes to him.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 9th, 2013

Excellent

Going for a colonoscopy and/or related office visit is an awkward thing. Had both upper GI endoscopy & colonoscopy 5 yrs ago when Dr. Chessler was in Ft Lee. Just had another upper with another colonoscopy next week. Dr. Chessler is a kind, patient but straightforward dr with the best "bedside manner" I've ever had-very important to a patient in this circumstance. At recent consultation, he had fully reviewed my file before i came in so he recalled my family medical history, everyone in the office is kind, professional, punctual, detail oriented and knowledgable. I don't understand when people give doctors bad reviews because of their insurance. If I had a nickel for every time the staff told THE SAME PATIENT who just wasn't getting it that they will get a pre-cert but it is THEIR RESPONSIBILITY to see what their insurance covers. They give you a brochure about your procedure reiterating this. Follow-up wasn't necessary so I didn't rate that.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 13th, 2011

Never going back there again

The staffs do not explain everything to you. If you have Aetna Insurance, do not go there because you will be paying 30%. I found out that they do not have contract with Aetna after I got my bill. At the beginning, they say they do accept my insurance and I don't need to pay copay. And after few weeks, I got the bills with different amount each time. Now I have to pay 30% for the office visit, GI and Colon screening tests. And they want you to pay everything in amount in 6 months or it will go on collection agency. I am so angry that the staffs never explained well enough about my insurance coverage (they are too busy chatting). I WILL NEVER GO BACK THERE AGAIN and I WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS OFFICE TO ANYONE especially if you have Aetna.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Friendly Staff
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 28th, 2010

Butcher, Money grubbing fascist
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

April 25th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.0 Rating

January 6th, 2016

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 4th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

September 12th, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 27th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

November 25th, 2014

5.0 Rating

May 2nd, 2012

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Richard Chessler is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Englewood Cliffs, NJ.

  • Dr. Barry Zingler

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Englewood Cliffs, NJ 0.01 mi

    4.4
    (19)
    32
  • Dr. Michael Meininger

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Englewood Cliffs, NJ 0.01 mi

    4.0
    (15)
    21
  • Dr. Mitchell Spinnell

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Englewood Cliffs, NJ 0.01 mi

    3.5
    (23)
    26