The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Richard Bird Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Richard Bird?

Clinical Depression

Clinical Depression

Get the facts about clinical depression, including the symptoms and related depressive disorders.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Richard Bird?

Ratings and Reviews

26 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    17
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    17
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
21.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 26 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 8th, 2016

only had the initial visit, we were very impressed with knowledge and mannerism.....and he listened!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 16th, 2015

Dr. Bird is a very good doctor he takes his time with each person, so your wait time may very.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 25th, 2013

Thoughtful, knowledgable, thorough, and caring

Dr. Bird is the best! I have seen MANY neurologists at Mayo Clinic, NIH, Johns Hopkins, Emory, and even in Europe. In the end, after a plethora of tests and days in the hospital, they all seem to come back into agreement with Dr. Bird on my very difficult and unusual case--migraines with edema and other related issues. Dr. Bird's patience and kindness are only overshadowed by his thoroughness, deep knowledge base, experience, and willingness to do what it takes to solve a problem. He does not talk down to you, is a good listener, and a credit to his profession and oath. Also, after 25 years of being his patient, I can tell you that I have never found his staff, or the other doctor in his office when he was covering, to be anything but helpful and thoughtful. But, every patient should remember that they are people too, it is not all about us (certainly there are others being seen by the practice that need/deserve their attention, and their staff's attention during crisis more than we do at that moment) and thoughtfulness is reciprocal. This is difficult for those of us with long-term, chronic pain issues, but in the long run it pays off to treat others with the respect they deserve-especially an overworked staff. : )

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

September 15th, 2011

Dr.Bird is great,but the receptionists are a little rude.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

November 5th, 2009

Terrible staff

After being given an initial appointment of 130 i sat in the exam room until 2. Dr Bird came in and talked to me for 10 minutes then excused himself to make some phone calls, another 45 minutes later he came back. I was in the office for 2 hours and talked to him for maybe 30 minutes, and then I was forced to stand around (literally) and wait while the girl at the desk checked her email and chatted about her personal life with the woman scheduling Radiology procedures at PRMC. When given a spinal tap because of intercranial pressure, Dr. Bird didn't order an opening pressure. While it's not necessary it would have been helpful to have in case of another spinal tap, to compare. the idiots at the front desk will simply give you rhe run around. My GP called Dr Bird to find out about any medications I would be put on and was told I would be put on medication immediately. When I called the office to ask about the prescription, the idiots at the front desk first told me the Dr wasn't there he had left for the day, and then told me I'd be getting no medication (to lower brain pressure !) until the Dr received the opening pressure (which remember he didn't order!). So i called my GP and when he called 5 minutes later, Dr Bird was all of the sudden there. I am not terribly impressed with his Doctor in particular, and his office staff is a bunch of idiots who do nothing but give you the run around.

Doctor's Response

this is totally invalid . i have to answer caals when on call duty at hospital and never more than five minutes . the spinal tap was repeated because the radiologist did not do the ordered opening pressure which was the whole reason for the procedure. this patient gave my staff a very hard time.

SHOW
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2008

Great Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me

1.0 Rating

July 23rd, 2017

1.0 Rating

July 23rd, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 10th, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 10th, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 1st, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 1st, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Richard Bird is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Salisbury, MD.

  • Dr. James Morgan

    Dr. James Morgan

    Neurology

    Salisbury, MD 0 mi

    3.9
    (16)
    28
  • Dr. Talmadge Reeves

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Salisbury, MD 0.40 mi

    3.2
    (13)
    54
  • Dr. Anita Venkataramana

    Dr. Anita Venkataramana

    Neurology, Psychiatry, Family Medicine

    Salisbury, MD 0.51 mi

    1.0
    (2)
    22