Dr. Richard Fessler MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 40 patient ratings
  • 9 reviews

Last 12 months:

3.7 (-0.5)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    63%
  • Satisfied
    15%
  • Neutral
    13%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 17.1 minutes

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 12th, 2016
Ed.D.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The minute I came out of surgery, the pain was gone. Soreness was there, but over about three months, I returned to nearly normal physical condition
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 13th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellence from admission to discharge as well as any follow-up inquiries
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 24th, 2015
A true gift
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Fessler diagnosed a serious spinal cord issue within minutes of our first visit. He performed a c3 to c7 laminectomy and 12 weeks later I an a 5k. He is gifted and I am very thankful he was my surgeon
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2015
Friendly Staff
I was asked to have an updated MRI done for my first visit, after Dr Fessler viewed a previous MRI prior to that appointment. After spending all this money for new MRI's his nurse said he decided not to take my case. She said he that he had the right to make this decision. This was a very costly decision for me. I'm very disappointed in Rush and the staff!! The staff that I spoke with was very uncaring and this was such a disappointment when you're looking for help!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 18th, 2014
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Fessler is the best doctor/ person I have ever met. he saved my life when no other surgeon thought it was possible. and has followed my case for 17 years to make sure I remain stable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 15th, 2010
Fessler is the Best!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Fessler performed my cervical discectomy in spring of '05. I was very nervous because I had never had surgery or even any health issues until then, so being cut open for me, initially was a Big Fat "NO!" Dr. Fessler and his awesome staff, Laurie (nurse), Cheryl (receptionist) and others were SO comforting. I didn't answer the waiting because I've only had to wait a long time once, and I've had many appointments with him. The other appointments were about 20 minutes waiting time. My doctor at the time of my injury referred me to him. He was one of his med schoolmates. (When I got my herniated disc I was living out of the country and my doctor, thought I might recover better in my home country where there would be no language barrier.) Before I chose Dr. Fessler as my doctor, I spoke with him several times over the phone and through email - about a a 2 yr period. Over the phone he never sounded rushed, and his emails were always very thorough and the response was timely. During one conversation, I asked him, if he had a daughter with a cervical herniated disc like mine (and it was BAD), what would he advise her? (By this time he had already reviewed my MRIs.) He told me in a calm and sincere manner that he would recommend that she should have the surgery. That's when I made my decision and I haven't regretted it. My scar is barely noticeable. I just used Vitamin E, and pure cocoa butter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 6th, 2010
Miracle worker!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent outcome on lumbar revision surgery. Used minimally invasive surgical procedure. Was up and around quickly with no pain. Dr. Fessler is really excellent. Had prior surgery with another surgeon with bad results. Dr. Fessler is a highly skilled "miracle worker".
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2009
EXCELLENT CARE
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Fessler is such a calm and compassionate physician. I felt at ease putting my life in his gentle hands.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 16th, 2008
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Prior to my surgery I was in such severe pain that I thought would never end. Awaking from surgery, I had next to no pain, I spent 48 hours in the hospital, and was on my way to Florida (via airplane) 12 days later. His work is outstanding, his staff absolutely wonderful, his bedside manner relaxing and comforting, and his skill is about as close to perfection as a human can be. I cannot say enough positive about this doctor and his staff. Additionally, the hospital facility, Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago, was excellent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Fessler, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chicago, IL.

Doctor

Dr. Demetrius Lopes

23 years experience

4.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Sepehr Sani

16 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. John Otoole

12 years experience

4.4 of 5