Dr. Richard Gellman MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.1
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (+ 0.4)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    48%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    43%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 37.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
April 14th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Exceptional surgeon and staff. I had a bad tibial plateau fracture and he put it back together with no complications. Would recommend highly
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 7th, 2015
The right stuff
I've seen many reviews on here about the lack of bedside manner. He probably is not the person I'd pick to have a beer with or hold my hand when I was scared, but he is a brilliant surgeon. The skill with which he repaired my fractured femur was amazing. Thank you Dr Gellman
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 20th, 2015
Saved my leg!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After a terrible motorcyle accident I found myself in emergency surgery at Emanuel Hospital. I was very fortunate because Dr. Richard Gellman was the orthopedic trauma surgeon who was there to put me back together after double compound fractures of my lower left leg. His follow up and care was exceptional. Four years later when I decided to have the two plates and more than a dozen screws removed, the orthopedic surgeon in California was amazed at the skills of Dr. Gellman. One of the best orthopedic trauma surgeons in Portland.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 11th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Gellman has some rough bedside manners, but his sincerity and experience is not lacking. After three surgeries I was very pleased with the results. I would use Dr Gellman in any further orthopedic surgeries. His staff is more than competent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 1st, 2012
Doesn't care
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Impersonal. Poor follow-up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 11th, 2011
Fixed both my shattered heels after a rock climbing fall.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gelman did an incredible job putting my heels back together after I shattered both of them in a free style rock climbing accident. Not many doctors could have fixed my feet they were so badly broken. Today a little over a year later I am walking, jogging, even water skiing, as well as playing racket ball, activities which would not have been possible without Dr. Gelman's care and professionalism puzzling both of my shattered heels back together.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 26th, 2010
Couldn't care less
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Seemed out of his league with my fracture. Overhead him in hall yelling at his staff for booking "NO pay dirtbags". Seems more interested in money than patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 29th, 2010
I don't recommend
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Spent less than 10 minutes with me for a pre-op visit, didn't do an exam, or take a history, couldn't be bothered with my questions, was insulting and generally disinterested. I ended-up cancelling my surgery with him because I didn't trust him to touch me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 7th, 2010
Very Happy
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I get in and out in a very reasonable time frame. My broken leg will be totally healed using the frame system. I couldn't be more thrilled!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 18th, 2010
Dr. Evil?
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
What a Joke for a Doctor, DR Evil is his real name.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2009
Best surgon in portland
Easy Appointment
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
This man is a wonderful amazing surgen he handled my husbands emergency surgery up at legacy emanual and i could not be more pleased with how kind careing and brillant this man is
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 14th, 2008
Money grubber
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
All he cared about was getting paid.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Gellman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Portland, OR.

Doctor

Dr. Susan Haralabatos

27 years experience

3.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Bryce Bederka

15 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Britton Frome

16 years experience

4.3 of 5