ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Richard Granese Is this you?
  • 26
  • 2
  • 6
  • 10
  • 57

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
16 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Richard Granese?


101 Ratings with 52 Comments

2.0 Rating

October 31st, 2016

Poor phone communication

I'm sure Dr Granese tries to help as many people as he can since there seems to be a shortage of psychiatrists available in the Value Option insurance. The doctor's communication with his office is horrible. I can't even leave a voice message because the mail box is almost always full. When I do leave a message to cancel an appointment, I get a bill for a missed appointment. Then, when I call the billing office, I don't get a call back and there's no record that I called! The office set up an appointment for me in another office and didn't let me know until the day before and when I tried to cancel, I got a full voice mail message! I will not be seeing this doctor again.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 4th, 2016

Absolute worst! Took my son to him and he wouldn't even speak with me, told my son that I would have to make an appointment with him, naturally be charged. When I paid my bill in the office I received yet another bill at a higher amount. How do you diagnose someone after 5 minutes and then start out at high doses? Medication had adverse reaction and he wouldn't change it. Bad diagnosis! Horrible excuse for a doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 6th, 2015

Get someone else, anyone

Terrible human being and doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 10th, 2015

Very professional and courteous staff

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 28th, 2015

BAD PERSON!

He's careless and is in the wrong business. His billing system is extremely unorganized as well as his own mind.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 17th, 2015

Couldn't ask for a better doctor

Great doctor he knows what he is doing

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 18th, 2014

Be careful in using this doctor, his billing department is horrible to work with. Ask for a monthly statement and quickly address no shows. The office ignores your questions about no show appointments and over charging. In six months I have yet to talk to the billing person. All calls have gone unanswered and the office gives you the runaround.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 23rd, 2014

Understanding this practice!!

I have been a Registered Nurse for 30 yrs and worked in many fields-even psych. I have had psych care off and on since 1993. I eventually ended up with Dr Granese. He cares for 3 people in my family. Psychiatry is not always therapy.This Dr runs medications management only for a very good reason. There are a huge number of people in this county that need mental health services and there are simply not enough psychiatrists available. Medical school and residency program for psychiatry is more years of schooling than just about any other medical professional. Some psychiatrists also do therapy, I have seen it. Dr Granese is providing a huge service by seeing as many people as he can so they can be on stabilizing meds. He is not in this for the bucks. He knows what he"s talking about with meds which can take a long time to adjust and start working properly. If the doc says you need treatment in the hospital he does not do this lightly. In plain English there are not enough psychiatric beds in OC for the patients that need them. The doctors have to justify the bed use in terms of other patients. Finally--He is not there for 30-45 min therapy sessions that"s what all those therapists in his office are for and psychiatrists aren't there to sympathize, empathize maybe. But if you want sympathy talk to your family--better yet start some heavy duty therapy. Be glad the man is there at all.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 16th, 2014

Granese is an uncaring idiot

I cannot say a truthful positive thing about him. He is just A-W-F-U-L.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 28th, 2014

UNCARING IDIOT,

He is just awful to deal with. Run, don't walk, to get away from him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 2nd, 2014

Billing is horrible

He has an off-shore med degree and it shows. His billing person, who works from home, is terribly disorganized and does double bill. It is a major hassle to get in touch with her. She does not like to return calls and offers excuses for her billing errors. After her and his disinterest, I happily left. Those who rated him highly are either friends or relatives.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 30th, 2014

Awful experience...

Saw a therapist who works with this doctor. Only saw him(Dr. Granese)1 time for 2 minutes. He didn't even assess me and just believed everything she said about the diagnosis she gave me after 2 sessions. His PA handled my care during the rest of my treatment; she was blunt, brutal, and damaging to my self esteem. SCPA is dangerous and ANY therapist affiliated with them should be avoided at all costs. Dr. Granese pushes the first medication that comes to mind. He wont change the medication, only forces higher and higher doses. I wish I had read the reviews here before I ended up in his "care." The therapist who works with him that I saw is ALSO entirely unethical. Please avoid SCPA for your health. There are much better places for mental health treatment in Orange County.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Richard Granese is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Dana Point, CA.

  • Dr. John Lagourgue

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Dana Point, CA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    43
  • Dr. Anna Molnar

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Dana Point, CA 0.01 mi

    9
  • Dr. Lewis Lane

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Dana Point, CA 0.05 mi

    4.1
    (34)
    39