Richard K Hurley MD Patient Reviews

  • Pain Management Gatesville, TX

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 41 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.6 (+ 0.5)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    44%
  • Satisfied
    10%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    39%
  • Wait Time 33.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 19th, 2016
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It didn't take long to figure out that some people shouldn't be in the medical field. Seems the staff have assimilated the same attitude.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 21st, 2015
Pain Free
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I must say Dr. Hurley has changed my life!!!! I am so grateful to him. And for those of you who complain about being over weight and not being pleased with him...well, all I can say is Yes, extra weight does cause extra pain...A pill is not gonna heal you...You must make an effort to take the first step and help yourself...I don't go in asking for pills to solve my problem with him. I get one injection. I was one who almost couldn't get out of bed by myself and now Life is so much sweeter. His staff is friendly the office is nice and clean and the wait time has never been long for me. I tell all my friends that live in pain to go to him...He changed my life for the better and I am so very grateful...Dr. Hurley..Keep up the fantastic work!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 31st, 2015
Bad Experience
My experience was very similar to all the other negative reviews. Told me my pain was all in my head and that I was "out of shape". Made rude comments indicating that I was lazy and needed to be forced to exercise. He made sure to point out he was 64 years old and could still do squats and he demonstrated. I was referred to this dr for pain relief. All I got from this visit was I was fat and lazy. Couldnt get a full sentence out without him interrupting. Horrible bed side manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 19th, 2015
Very pleasant experience
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I read all the reviews before going to my first appointment with Dr. Hurley and I would like to say that my experience was very pleasant and I would recommend him to others. He is nothing like he is portrayed in the negative reviews. His staff makes you feel comfortable as well. Pain management takes time and work by both the patient and doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 13th, 2015
Horrific Experience
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Horrific Experience! Dr Hurley explained that my husbands MRI was terrible and he needed not only a surgical procedure, but also injections in his neck. then he said because he smokes he is an addict and refused to give him the pain medicine hydrocodone, but insisted that he take Codeine, which he is highly allergic to.. Dr Hurley told my husband.go ahead and take medicine that makes you so sick you cant work because it will keep you from becoming an addict while he operates and performs procedures on his neck. Seriously??
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 16th, 2014
Perfect Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hurley never rushes through my appointment and takes a genuine interest in me and my health. Love this doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 20th, 2013
Depends on you also.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I knew when I saw Dr. Hurley that he had mixed reviews. He is truthful, blunt and very helpful. I have not had any bad experiences with him or his staff. We have worked through several different options on pain relief, which I am not pain free nor do I expect to be, but I received more relief than I have had in years. If you want sugar coating you will need to find someone else. If you want someone who will work with you and be honest with you, then he is your man. He spends time with me at my appointments and we are still working through issues I have. And yes, if you are gaining weight he will expect you to work on that. He is in the field of "pain management" and in my life management is the best I can expect. Pain free - when I see the Lord will be when I am pain free. No sugar coating, just the truth. I truly do appreciate what he has done for me and I do recommend him to people. He really is a funny man when you get to know him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 12th, 2013
Ridiculous!
Wait time
5 minutes
I was skeptical of going here in the first place when my doctor referred me here and I read all the bad reviews online but decided to give it a try. The reviews on this office were correct and wish I just went with my gut and stayed away. Just because you have a degree doesn't mean you can ethically run a doctors office. Unorganized, unprofessional, and completely rude staff. They overbook so if you are running 3 minutes late expect the receptionist to be snippy and cancel your appointment with his nurse sticking up for her. Out of all the years of waiting tables at restaurants to get through college I don't think I was ever treated and talked to as horrible as this office. If your doctor referred you here, request someone else!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 23rd, 2012
Professional and Direct
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I appreciated Dr. Hurley's efforts with me. At every turn, he did all he could. Yes, he lectures about weight and smoking - GOOD. Losing weight helped me a LOT. He encourages his patients to live as best they can, and to maximize their own efforts. I wish more doctors were as practical and genuine as Dr. Hurley.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 16th, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was greeted by Lisa at the checkin desk. She was professional and kind. The entire experience was amazing at the clinic. The doctor was knowledgeable about my condition and made recommendations to lower pain level.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 30th, 2009
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
does not seem to care how bad your pain is just thinks you can do anything you want and the pain is all in your head when it is not if you was not in alot of pain why would you see him and something about a person having a little weight on them he will act like that is causing the pain
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 3rd, 2008
Weight
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Don't bother to go see him if your over weight!
Was this review helpful? Yes No