Dr. Richard Konsens MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.5
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 17 reviews

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.5)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    58%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    26%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Wait Time 17.9 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 18th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
The staff never smile! Doctor was Great! Looked at my X Rays and knew just wher it hurt and told me what we could do to fix it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 4th, 2013
Expert in his Field
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Konsens is an expert in his field. There is nothing he doesn't know about your knee. I have found him to be the most prompt doctor I've seen at Jewett Orthopedic. He spends the right amount of time with me; sometimes longer than other times. He has been courteous, professional, and friendly. There is a reason he is a Top Doctor in Castle Connelly. I highly recommend him for any problem you have with your knee.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2013
Awful office staff
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The appointments staff at Jewett is awful, awful, awful! They are rude and nasty. It's not my fault that they're swamped with patients because they have the ortho monopoly in this area. I expect to be treated with a minimum of courtesy, and that hasn't happened the 4 times I've called.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 28th, 2013
Highly Recommend Dr Konsens
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you are looking for someone to hold your hand or just give you a script for pain meds... Dr Konsens is not your Doctor... If you are looking for a highly skilled surgeon to repair your damage, I highly recommend Dr Konsens. He has performed surgery on both my husband (MMT, PCL Tear, LMT) and my knees (osteochondroma excision). He explains the problem, the options and lets you choose what to do. He had both of us back to our normal active lives relatively quickly after surgery. The staff at JOC is always professional and prompt. Don't be discouraged by the complainers... Dr Konsens is an outstanding Physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 24th, 2012
Can't get much better than Dr. Konsens for knee problems
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Konsens is an excellent doctor and surgeon. No, he doesn't sit and hold your hand or linger during an appointment but I have found him to be quite personable, extremely knowledgeable and definitely concerned about his patients. Every doctor is different and Dr. Konsens moves at a faster pace than some but I have no complaints. I wouldn't see anyone else!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 5th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Did absolutely nothing for me on my shoulder injury refer me for physical theraphy 3x a week. . I went for a 2nd opinion and I'm headed for surgery next month.This tear could never repair itself.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 1st, 2012
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Totally dismissive of pain complaints, did not give clear - or any - instruction on icing, bracing, pain management. Handed me some pamphlets describing surgery that he told me I did not need. Complete waste of an appointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 26th, 2012
Terrible bedside manner
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Konsens is rude, arrogant, and always in a hurry. The worst bedside manner I've encountered. I would not recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 3rd, 2012
Excellent doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am completely satisfied with the care I have received from Dr. Konsens. Yes, he moves at a faster pace than some doctors but he has patients that come from all over the state, if not all over the country to be treated by him. The comments made, in some of the previous reviews, about his bedside manner make me wonder what kind of patient they were. I have had no issues with his bedside manner and he has, in fact, been very cordial and friendly each time I've seen him. I have never heard him be anything other than respectful and cordial to other patients in the office. I recently had knee surgery and when we walked into the surgery center he was out giving a family member a report on the patient and sat with the gentlemen for a few minutes afterward discussing a friendly topic other than surgery. In the pre-op holding area he was very relaxed and friendly with everyone in the area as well as occasionally joking with me as I was being prepared to go back to the OR for my surgery. I have asked the nurses and staff he works with at Jewett, as well as the staff at the surgery center, how they feel about him and without fail every one of them has said he is a pleasure to work with and spoke very highly of him. He is a very smart guy and when he is doing his work he is very focused. I am of the opinion the people that have complained about him being "short, rude, impatient," or whatever are sorely mistaking focus for rudeness. They are at opposite ends of the spectrum. I have worked in the hospital setting for many years at a well known hospital in Florida and yet I drive 3 hours to see Dr. Konsens instead of seeing a physician at this very popular hospital, which, by the way, is less than 30 minutes from my home. There are no doctors in my area that can hold a candle to Dr. Konsens. If you want to see someone that know's what they are doing go to Jewett and see Dr. Konsens. If you want someone that will just give you drugs or randomly inject you with steriods without looking to find the root of the problem, go to someone else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 24th, 2011
Torn Rotator Cuff
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Did absolutely nothing for me except refer me for physical theraphy 3x a week. No medication, no steroid shot, nothing. If I had gone for therapy, I would have destroyed what's left of my shoulder. I went for a 2nd opinion and I'm headed for surgery next month.This tear could never repair itself.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 20th, 2011
Arrogant and Pompous
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The words "aloof" and "short and rude" are highly accurate. Let me add "arrogant" and "pompous" to the list. He visited me in the hospital, did not explain anything to me, and gave me the impression he could hardly wait to leave. When I explained my condition, he told me about a similar situation he had. He did not exhibit the least bit of empathy whatsoever, and I certainly was not interested in his problems. With that said, the Physicians' Assistants and other physicians at Jewitt are some of the best I have encountered and would not hesitate to visit them again. Jewitt is excellent, Dr Konsens, not so much!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 28th, 2011
Surgeon, not Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Rude and dismissive. He did surgery on my knee to clean out arthritis and the surgery was a success. Everything else, including follow up after surgery, was a waste of my time and seemed to be the same for him. He very obviously only really is concerned with surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Konsens, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Orlando, FL.

Doctor

Dr. Jeffrey Deren

30 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. John Felix

11 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Douglas Meuser

32 years experience

4.8 of 5