Dr. Richard Matano MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 46 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

16 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    59%
  • Satisfied
    17%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    22%
  • Wait Time 40.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2016
Care Under Dr. Matano's control and attention
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He saved my leg from amputation, corrected existing problems and demonstrated care and attention I have never experience before. He is without doubt the most considerate and wonderful physician I have ever known.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 25th, 2016
The very very best
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 17th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I read some of the review they said he was working on his demeanor, that will never happen He does not like to be asked questions from family, his response is "what don't you understand. Bottom line don't ask him questions you feel belittled. Never in my life have I meet a Dr. like him. Disgraceful....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 14th, 2015
I can not understand any negative comments about Dr.Matano, This man did a bypass on my husbands leg and removed part of his foot where he was able to save the toes and you can hardly tell anything was removed...Wonderful man, Great doctor!! I believe if he wasn't my husband's doctor he would have lost his foot...He is the only surgeon after surgery that comes down and explains everything where all others call...My husband is not going to him for a social visit we want a doctor we can trust and is thorough but as a bonus he has always been pleasant! Also love the staff!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 1st, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr. Matano to be rude, arrogant and full of himself with absolutely no compassion for his patient and his family. My Dad was a patient of Dr. Matano and I strongly believe did not properly assess my Dad's condition from the beginning which resulted in 4 amputations in three weeks. Ultimately resulting in his death. Dr. Matano does not have the capability to look at a person in their entirety to determine the best course of treatment for that person. Instead he treats his patients as objects, and the operating room is his manufacturing center. He was unwilling and unable to listen and hear anything the tried to discuss with him. He may be a good surgeon, but his ego gets in the way him being a good doctor. He has the mentality of "one size fits all".... Just not the case when you are talking about human beings and their bodies.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
very devoted to medicine ,kind ,caring person
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 25th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very matter of fact. Highly Competent! I trust him completely and feel that I am in good hands.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 18th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
My mother had an appointment, but my father needed to go in as an emergency. At the request of another doctor. My father has 6 broken ribs from a fall from my horse. And they were waiting over 2 hours. He was in severe pain so he decided to leave. They had two cars. Matano called my mother into his office and yelled at her to get out!! Major intimidation. They both have swelling in their legs and needed to see him. My mother is having extreme panic attack from this! I am writing a formal complaint to the office of professional misconduct
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 30th, 2015
Excellent Surgeon
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Matano operated on an AAA which I had in 2008. Excellent surgeon and follow-ups are impeccable and thorough. Dr. Matano takes a genuine interest in each and every aspect of my well being and is much appreciated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 17th, 2015
Outstanding Surgeon
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
He saved my mother's life on the operating table!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 8th, 2014
Excellent doctor; very serious / blunt.
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Matano is an excellent surgeon. I became acquainted with him after my surgeon recently retired. Dr Matano is thorough in his explanations, gets you in quick, calls back fast, and even answers his emergency line, him self after hours. He even told me to just come to the office the next day with no appointment. He said "dont call my office for an appointment, just come in and tell them i told you too and bring a book to read". I liked how simple he made things.His office, is very nice and pleasant to deal with. But...... He is very blunt, direct, and has no patience. He's a very "tough" hard nosed doctor with a lackluster bedside manner- although the nursing staff at st francis said he has been working on this.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 24th, 2012
Joe Amoroso
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I credit Dr. Matano with saving me from a stroke and possible untimely death. I consider Dr.Matano one of the very best doctors in his field and kind human being . I trust him with my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Matano, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Great Neck, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Laurence Spier

26 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Toufic Safa

27 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Peter Patetsios

23 years experience

3.9 of 5