Dr. Richard Mccallum MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology El Paso, TX

Overall Rating

4.5
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (-0.2)

31 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    81%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    3%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    6%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 22.7 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 17th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Only physician to correctly diagnose my son. Truly outstanding.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 10th, 2016
One of the best doctors you will ever see
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.McCallum is one of the best doctors I've ever seen. Not only is he brilliant, but his bed side manner is excellent. He is a caring and educating doctor. He does not leave your room and you until every question is answered and you are well educated with your condition. He goes above and beyond. I only wish he was still in my area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 16th, 2015
Outstanding Doctor
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. McCallum was the first doctor to listen to my daughter and take care of her. After 4 yrs of being hospitalized and seeing many doctors he was the first one to ever say that he was truly ill.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 3rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Diagnosed my son when no one else could. Can't say enough!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 1st, 2015
MD needs to retire
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Mccallum is the following physisican in the UMC Endoscopy center, and I was a patient there this week haing an outpatient test, he was the physisican that guided and gave results even tho he is not my physician. He was very rude, throwing things, rude and unprpfessional not just to me, but to the 77 year old lady who was confused about what he was yelling at her for. He also took cell phone calls that appeared personal of nature while he yelled at both myself and this other patient. He should have retired years ago, graduated from Medical School in 1968!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 4th, 2014
A complex man, but at the top of his field
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was sent across the country to Dr. McCallum when my local care team found my condition (postsurgical complications from anti-reflux stomach surgery) too complex to diagnose and treat. Without Dr. McCallum's intervention, I would never have been diagnosed. His findings formed the basis for my ongoing care and my eligibility for government services. A visit to this specialist is an intense experience. He spends MANY hours with each patient, so time management is an issue. For each of the approximately twelve hours face-to-face with him during my week-long stay, I probably spent at least the same amount of time, or more, in a waiting room meeting others who had traveled across the country for help with unusual problems. Dr. McCallum can be difficult--it took my team and I six months to get his final report faxed to us. However, that being said, there's no match for the level of thoughtful scientific inquiry that occurs when this doctor is considering one's case. His personality quirks are not malicious or self-promotional, just the byproduct of a detail-oriented mind. Stand firm, insist on getting a word in, and you will have questions answered that you never even dreamt of asking. My team sent me to Dr. McCallum because a review of cutting-edge journals highlighted him as a pivotal figure in setting the standards for gastric emptying studies, particularly in distinguishing rapid emptying as a separate disorder from gastric retention. He was also one of the developers of the gastric pacemaker, and had the integrity and scientific acumen to accurately report the disappointing news that gastric pacing did not restore neurological function of the GI tract as hoped. (It is still marketed elsewhere for pain and nausea control much like a TENS unit.) If you suffer from anything other than a straight-forward, commonly diagnosed GI problem, then you have probably learned as I did that gastroenterology is a uniquely difficult field; the GI tract is slow and complex, and its intricacies are difficult to image. If your problem confounds rank-and-file GI professionals, you would be well advised to add Dr. McCallum to your care team.

5.0 of 5
November 9th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr McCallum literally saved my life. I had been having extreme bouts of diarrhea lasting through the night. No other GI Doctor could help with why or what to do to stop it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 25th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 19th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 24th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 19th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Mccallum, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near El Paso, TX.