Overall Review

3.5
  • 26 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.8)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    54%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    27%
  • Wait Time 20.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been a grateful patient of Dr. Townsend's for over 30 years and he has provided excellent, compassionate care to me and my family. I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of a physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 21st, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wants too many visits. Wants visits when patient does not need to see the doctor. I felt he wants you to come in often so he can bill the insurance co.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Love Dr Townsend and Dr Grundy. They are wonderful people who truly care for their patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 30th, 2015
Trending worse
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Appropriate Follow-up
Townsend has been my primary physician my whole life. The practice is losing touch with the grass-roots care and understanding that helped Townsend become a successful doctor. All he and his practice are now concerned with are 1. shoving pharmaceuticals down your throat (heavy emphasis on the newest, non-generic meds) and 2. billing extra items on your visit invoice without proper, proactive communication. The practice was great before he made the decision focus strictly on monetary gain by selling out to Big Pharma.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 26th, 2013
RUDE, COCKY, RACIST!
Wait time
5 minutes
Very rude and disrespectful! I have heard him speak to his staff as if they were the dirt on the bottom of his shoes. The last time I visited he scalded the sweet girl at the front to the point that she ran to the restroom crying. I wouldn't recommend him to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 11th, 2012
terrible organization, dr. used profanity, waited over an hr....
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This was one of the worst doctor visits. Appt. Was at 10:30, I didn't leave until 12:15!! I was in miserable pain and the doc talked and talked and talked...so rude! Calling ppl on the west coast a**holes and dumb. Rambling on and on, he looked into one ear and my throat then started rambling on again this time about seperation of whites, blacks and mexicans. He then brought me into his office which was so messy, files everywhere, pull out a presc. Tablet (old school) not to mention the outdated signage in the waiting room, next to the bible and wrote me a script for antibiotics. I had an ear and throat infection. All he put me on were antibiotics. The admin ran my card on accident for another patient (messy desk) ran it for the difference than called me that afternoon for a $9 balance that she forgot to charge me!!I was is bed for 4 days, throat pain subsided but went to my regular doc yesterday. She pulled me off the antibiotics because I also have a double ear infection and swolen lymph nodes!!!!!I was mortified and angry about that doc office. Don't go! The lady at the
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 25th, 2012
Great doctor!
Wait time
15 minutes
I have been seeing Dr. Townsend for years. He is a great doctor and has a friendly staff. I would definetly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 9th, 2012
Great doctor, friendly staff
Wait time
15 minutes
Dr. Townsend and his staff are excellent! He really takes time to listen to his patients and is very caring. His staff is friendly helpful and courteous. I feel lucky to have found him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 28th, 2012
This office is more interested in profit than patients
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctors practice has gotten too large. He has 2 nurse practitioners and I was assigned to one of them. I have Blue Cross Blue Shield and have NEVER had a problem with billing. This doctor and his nurse practitioners dont bill in-house they send it out. The Nurse wrongly coded my lab work and the "billing service" was of no help. My insurance, Blue Cross Blue Shield said they would be happy to pay for the bills that were due to diagnose me if the nurse would recode the procedures to accurately reflect the nature of the tests. After getting their assurances that this would be done I got a bill from a collection agency yesterday. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRACTICE UNLESS YOU HAVE THE MONEY TO PAY FOR THEIR INCOMPETENCE.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 19th, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Townsend is a great GP! He's very caring and I feel like I could go to him to talk about anything at all...He always takes time to keep up with what else is going on in your life, outside of your office visit - we end up laughing and joking, which is medicine in itself!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 5th, 2010
Family doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
over all great family doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 18th, 2009
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Clean, modern office with a great staff and really nice nurse. I feel blessed to have found such a great doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Townsend, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Richardson, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Joseph Kim

9 years experience

3.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Uzma Tanveer

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Le Thanh Nguyen

19 years experience

1.0 of 5