ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Richard Rento II Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Richard Rento II?

Erectile Dysfunction

Get the facts about erectile dysfunction (ED), including the conditions and medications that can cause it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Richard Rento II?

Ratings and Reviews

48 Ratings with 17 Comments

  • Excellent
    29
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    10
  • Excellent
    29
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
22.6 min

Showing 48 Ratings with 17 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 25th, 2017

Great Doctor

Dr.Rento saved my life i had bladder cancer he was put on my case along with dr, brian billings my husband read reviews about dr.rento and when he told me what some had said i was shocked he was never rude had a great bedside manner answered mine and my husbands questions never felt rushed at visits was a great doctor i would reffer him to anyone wanting a life saving doctor

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2017

He was my doctor for a few years, but I was told he retired. How can I find out if he is retired?

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 18th, 2017

I Need an appointment with Dr.. Rento. His office may call me at 757-242-6728 Thank You So Much, Donald C. McCracken

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 10th, 2016

Excellent, went over surgery in detail. spent a lot of time with my wife and I.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 13th, 2016

Dead Man Walking?

Brushed me off after PSA rose from 1.5 to 5.5 and then again to 6.5. He decided "watchful waiting" but wouldn't explain how that was done. Walked out of the exam room and ducked into another while I followed him up the hall asking for more details. Have been diagnosed with Stage 1 Prostate cancer. Thanks Doc

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

June 5th, 2016

Very capable doctor. But has the worst bedside manner I have ever encountered. He is very short and berated me when I was trying to answer his questions. He was so rude and condescending that I was in tears when I left his office. He told me he had 26 other patients that day and I was wasting his time. He dismissed me and my problems without any answers. I will not go to his office again.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

July 13th, 2015

ED Problems

After having a Prostatectomy done, I suffer from ED (Erectile Dysfunction). I thought maybe I would have some sort of Treatment Therapy Plan after the surgery?

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 5th, 2015

If you're looking for a doctor that can communicate with other humans, this is not your guy. He has a good reputation for his medical knowledge but a horrible reputation of how he interacts with his patients. He is very abrasive. Who wants to pay for this type of treatment????

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 17th, 2014

Ms.

A CT scan was order after finding blood in my urine. My primary care doctor referred me to Dr. Rento. Dr. Rento schedule surgery for me and then called me to tell me my kidney would have to be removed. I found him to be warm, professional and very knowledgeable in his field. During our first visit, he showed me the CT scan and it was obvious even to my untrained eyes that the kidney had to be removed. I had had previous abdominal surgery and he contacted my previous doctor to make sure he could remove the kidney laparoscopically. The pathology showed that the tumor had begun to bulge outside of the kidney; however, Dr. Rento was able to remove everything intact so I will not require chemotherapy nor radiation. I feel his fast action saved me from from chemotherapy and radiation. I highly recommend him.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 4th, 2014

downgraders need to get real

i would strongly recommend dr. rento -- he knows what he's doing and is perfectly capable as a urologist -- i've been under his care for two different problems and i'm totally satisfied with how he's handled both -- he's not marcus welby, m.d., but, under today's business, economic & political constraints/expectations, noone can be -- time's have changed folks -- any dr has only so much time they can allot for each patient -- so, listen up, do as he instructs and don't be so thin-skinned -- as to his supposed yelling at patients, i've been to his office probably a dozen times now and, if that was anything close to his normal behavior, i would've heard/witnessed it by now -- bottom line, he's got to try to be a compassionate doctor and a successful, professional businessman -- that combination is a challenge in themselves but, throw in what's coming down b/c of obamacare? heck, we're downright lucky to have strong, well-educated doctors like him who will put up with all that crap and remain in the profession vs backwoods county tech medical school grads . . . . .

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 16th, 2014

First Rate!

I have been seeing DR. Rento for almost 14 years now. He saved my life when I had prostate cancer. He has always been upfront and to the point with me.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 28th, 2013

Excellent Doctor

Dr Rento is an excellent doctor and I speak from several experiences. He is professional, well versed and one of the finest experts in his field of Medicine.I personally would recommend him and I trust his expertise.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Richard Rento II is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newport News, VA.

  • Dr. Janelle Fox

    Urology, Family Medicine

    Newport News, VA 0 mi

    5.0
    (12)
    11
  • Dr. Scott Burgess

    Dr. Scott Burgess

    Urology

    Newport News, VA 0 mi

    4.4
    (55)
    19
  • Dr. Henry Prillaman

    Dr. Henry Prillaman

    Urology

    Newport News, VA 0 mi

    4.4
    (12)
    25