Dr. Richard Richards MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.5
  • 22 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.5)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    55%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    23%
  • Wait Time 19.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

1.0 of 5
November 16th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His bedside manner had a lot to be desired. He was condiscending, rude, did not listen to what I had to say and took offense when I asked him questions, stating "Obviously you don't trust my opinion so I recomend you see someone else". All I asked about was the MRI report so I could understand it better. What a jerk.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 20th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I thought he was very professional--very thorough and very helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 19th, 2016
DISATISFIED
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I almost fell causing an injury to my right leg and knee. I saw Richard Richards (he does not deserve the title Doctor). He was not very informative, did not explain things, was rude and rushed thru the little exam he did perform. He gave me a cortisone injection and then to come back within a couple of weeks. When I did return, he asked how the physical therapy went. I wasn’t sent for any. He asked how the injection worked. I told him it worded a little, but I was still in pain. I tried to tell him where, but he wouldn’t listen and said that the injection should have worked. I asked him why I would still be in pain and he told me that my issues were degenerative. I clearly had an injury in which I twisted my leg and knee and that is how all of this began but he seemed to discount that fact. When I asked him about a ligament tear that was stated on the MRI report he said “what ligament tear? He had to go reread the report and when he came back he said that there was no tear and that the technician made a mistake. He was offended that I would even ask questions. And then he said I should seek a second opinion since I was questioning him. He was the rudest, most uncaring, unprofessional doctor I have ever seen. The receptionists were all very nice and the office manager was able to get me an appointment with another doctor right away (who was booked until August). For her I am grateful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Richards operated on my shoulder over a year ago and I have full range of motion. He has always been very professional, and empathic. I wouldn't let another surgeon touch me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 1st, 2016
Great doctor!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had a great experience with Dr Richards. He has always been prompt, courteous, and explained everything in great detail. Dr Richards performed ACL surgery for me and everything went smoothly. Recovery was easy. I had a great experience, none of the previous experiences.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 26th, 2016
The worst doctor ever?
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I don't think it's a stretch to say this is the worst doctor I've ever seen. He has no redeeming qualities. He acts like a spoiled child. He has no patient care skills, no bedside manner, and basically no social skills. I went with my mother-in-law to see him, and he was incredibly demeaning and rude to us. I wouldn't care about any of that if he was a good doctor, but he just isn't. The thing that put me off the most was that his hands shake CONSTANTLY. Does that happen during surgery? That's not a good quality in a surgeon. His surgeries also take significantly longer than other surgeons. I've heard numerous accounts of post-surgery complications coming from this guy. I've also heard rumors of alcoholism, but that's just hearsay. It would explain his shaking hands though. Avoid this guy at all costs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 14th, 2015
Egotistical
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He took no time in explaining in terms I could understand. When I asked questions he looked at me like I should already know the answers and that he had more important patients to see.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 30th, 2015
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Did not spend any time explain a procedure he wants to do, just kept saying ok lets do it....He just wanted to do an extremely fast check n leave. No confidence, thankfully he handed me off to a different doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 19th, 2014
Lacking doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Having an ego and a flawed character doesn't impress anyone anymore; it makes you look uncaring and incompetent. Some doctors should be avoided like the plague. They don't care if they give you they right diagnosis and that could be dangerous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Richards, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chambersburg, PA.

Doctor

Dr. Brad Conner

6 years experience

2.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Anthony Bruno

29 years experience

4.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jeffrey Lutton

4.2 of 5