Dr. Richard Hoffman MD Patient Reviews

  • Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism Staten Island, NY

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.2 (+ 0.6)

25 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    60%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    12%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    28%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 16.7 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 19th, 2017
The best doctor I have ever dealt with.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 14th, 2017
EXCELLENT DOC
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been under the care of Dr Hoffman for 20 years. He is a caring individual whom is extremely knowledgeable in his field of endocrinology. He has helped me with referrals for other problems that did not pertain to the Endocrine system as well. I have had unscheduled blood work, biopsy, ultrasound on the day of my office visit which makes the treatment of my illness much more convenient.Being a Registered Nurse myself, I have and will continue to refer others to his practice for excellent care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 5th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the worst drs I have ever been in a room with. Time to retire and hang up the chauvanist coat. I have one star because I could not leave it blank. But is a no star dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 29th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This man needs to retire. Outdated information and office smells like cigar smoke. Very condescending and cranky.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
November 19th, 2015
He is rude and condescending. I would never recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 19th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Abrupt and rude. Very outdated
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
October 31st, 2015
Find Another Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This review is not just for Dr. Hoffman - this is for the entire office of all their doctors/pa's and office staff at Victory Blvd Staten Island NY. 1. PA wrote prescriptions were written incorrectly, and the pharmacy needed clarification. His office NEVER called the pharmacy back to clarify the prescription. I had to call every single day for three days leaving multiple voice mail messages and still did not receive a phone call and neither did the pharmacy. 2. The Office wrote two prescriptions for medication without dosages. Both the pharmacy and I tried to get in touch with the doctor for several hours and we never got a call back. I finally got frustrated and called Staten Island Hospital and spoke to the nurse manager who called me back 15 minutes after leaving a voice mail message to tell me that she looked up the information in the hospital computer and had already clarified the information with the pharmacy. Over a week went by and never received a phone call from his office. 3. A prescription was written for a self injecting insulin pen with no needles. The office manager admitted that the needles were missing on the prescription, and a week later the office still has not called in the prescription for needles. We have a pen with insulin, no needles. I had to go to a different doctor to get a prescription for the needles. 4. The office has staff that only operates off of a voice mail system. However, the do not call you back for weeks, if at all. You never get a live person when you call, EVER. 5. The office staff only calls you to confirm an appointment and to reschedule a missed/cancelled appointment. 6. My pharmacy has called me a number of times to let me know that they have called his office every day for 5 days to get refills on my prescriptions that were overdue for refill and the office does not call them back at all. EVER. 7. The only way you get to speak to a person is if you take off from your job, drive there, and walk in without an appointment. I've done this twice so far. 8. The P.A. made a derogatory comment describing how my boyfriend (who is also a patient) was as stubborn as one of her family members, but she said it in another language. 9. One of the nurses in the office said that I would be the "death of her" because she never did so much testing on a person. 10. When I complained to someone in their office about all the statements above, they said they were very busy and don't have the resources that "other" Endocrinologists have, such as hospital affiliations and staffing. (I thought they were affiliated with a major hospital? no? And they fail to realize their staffing problem IS their problem) 11. I feel their office professionalism, lack of response for patient care, poor prescription writing/clarification with pharmacies is is one big medical malpractice lawsuit waiting to happen.

1.0 of 5
June 24th, 2015
Horrible
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Terrible bedside manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 15th, 2014
Horrible experience and have not yet even seen the doctor. Receptionist was curt and kept me on held for 15 minutes. When i called back the service was not available. Making me think twice about what type of doctor conducts his business in this manner!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 5th, 2011
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hoffman was very thorough in his evaluation of my symtoms.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 16th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 7th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Hoffman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Staten Island, NY.