ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Richard Shin Is this you?
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
49.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Richard Shin?


8 Ratings with 4 Comments

1.0 Rating

February 9th, 2016

Terrible experience with this "doctor". He made me feel stupid every time I answered one of his questions and basically made me feel like he didn't believe me. Talked to me like I was a 5 year old and I'm in my 30's. Not all women are stupid Mr. Shin and just because you're a doctor doesn't mean you can ask like a know-it-all a**hole. I will never be back to see him again. I'm taking my business somewhere else where they treat humans with respect and dignity.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 20th, 2015

Beware of this dangerous 'Dr'.....

Be very careful of being treated by Dr. Shin. He and the ER doctor made numerous errors and ruined my hand/arm by butchering it. Both of my careers are ruined and im left in electrifying, debilitating pain and can no longer perform even the simplest of tasks. I have great difficulties driving, writing, opening doors, and cannot even open a two liter of pop. Hes so lucky I dropped my lawsuit. I will NEVER drop a malpractice suit again. Be very wary of this guy....

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 29th, 2014

Ruined my life w/his gruesome surgery...

Well, what a nightmare this has been. 1st the geniuses at the Copley ER miss diagmose my severed tendons, then Dr Shin agrees. So I nag and nag insisting that my tendons must be severed due to the extreme pain and loss of use. DR shin agreed to open my arm and look inside. I beggged him to wake me up and tell me my options. He didnt live up to his end. I woke up w/my tendons rwmoved feom my forearm and grafted to my thumb. Now my entire hand AND arm are butcheeed and im wracked w/electrifying pain and cant work. My life is ruined and he could care less. Be VERY CAREFUL OF WHO YOU TRUST WITH YOUR LIFE OR YOULL END UP IN MY POSITION. ...

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 14th, 2014

Disappointment

For the period of time that I saw Dr. Shin I was NEVER taken at my given appointment time, always at least a 1/2 hour or more after my appointment time I was taken. The nurse that answers the phone at his office should stick to nursing. She admitted that she doesn't know anything about insurance. This is a given because she doesn't even know what insurance the doctor accepts even after a contract is provided to the office from my insurance carrier. She is and was very rude to me. She never let me get a word into the conversation. She always talked over me. She also rarely was there to answer the phone, most of the time I had to leave a message and wait and wait for a phone call back. As for the doctor...I saw him for many months and he was trying different forms of treatment and toward the end he basically through up his hands and said that he didn't know where to go from here and when I could not stand the pain to come and see him and he would do the surgery. He does seem knowledgeable to a point, he just needs a better support staff including nurses! Always check with your insurance carrier to see whether or not Dr. Shin is part of your network no matter what his office staff/nurses say because he was wrong for me.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 5th, 2017

4.0 Rating

July 29th, 2016

5.0 Rating

March 16th, 2015

5.0 Rating

July 1st, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Richard Shin is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Melrose Park, IL.

  • Dr. Paul Prinz

    Head and Neck Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery of the Hand

    Melrose Park, IL 1.19 mi

    4.8
    (31)
    29
  • Dr. Nicole Nemeth

    Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery of the Hand

    Maywood, IL 2.29 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    8
  • Dr. Frank Gerold

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery, Residency

    Maywood, IL 2.29 mi

    4.8
    (6)