Dr. Richard Sultan DO Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.2
  • 74 patient ratings
  • 17 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.1)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    72%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    1%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    15%
  • Wait Time 23 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 27th, 2016
Confused.
Wait time
10 minutes
Ok so my son saw Dr Sultan two years ago because he had really bad migraines. Seemed very thorough and ordered tests that came back negative. Then this is when things got hairy and I'm still smh. Dr starts asking my son who is 16 if the medicine he took worked when he had his migraine. My son answers No. Then doctor asks me why my son wasn't taking a certain medicine he prescribed. Then he looked back in his notes and saw that my insurance company denied it and offered another Triptan. He said I ddont know what insirance you have I said I have relally good Insurance so I don't know why they denied it but then said to doctor well maybe you can say he doesn't react to the medicine well and maybe that will help. He said No. So then he began shaking his head In disgust saying "LETS DO MY regime okay"! Like I doing something wrong??? Seriously. So freaken weird. He then gives me the same medicine that my insueqmxe denied twice. Wth!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 19th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Amazing doctor, thorough, informative, compassionate, goes above and beyond.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 5th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Always accessible and prompt in managing care. My son has been going to Dr Sultan for over 10 years. Would never change. Very satisfied.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Sultan was excellent with my son. I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 15th, 2014
Antiphospholipid syndrone
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Sultan was the second child neurologist we saw...and the one we are so grateful for! My granddaughter was 14 ... now 20 ... and we trust him beyond words for all the care and research he did to help diagnose and treat her. He can be intimidating...but on her first visit, he reassured her that he believed her and would review/ detect the problems to help. That support for her was what put him on the top of her list! He has a sense of humor...! He is thorough in explanations. He provided very good MD's to help also follow in her treatment. He has our utmost respect for his knowledge and treatment...which for her will be lifetime! His knowledge and dedication saved her life! Yes, getting the initial appointment is difficult...several months wait! BUT...in the end it was worth it...and followup appointments can be made with much less difficulty. We are now down to more 6-12 month visits and know to schedule far in advance. He believed she had a problem...the pediatrician didn't! The first neurologist knew nothing of what she was talking about. Dr. Sultan listened to us...! Great doctors are worth their weight in gold!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 6th, 2013
Highly Recommend
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Sultan is a very busy doctor who is top in his field. While at times his bedside manner can be a bit abrasive, he is completely professional and follows through with everything. My son was at Jersey Shore for seizures and I was soo happy when I was told that Dr. Sultan makes rounds 2x a day! He was proactive and cautious with my son's care. I would definitely recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 4th, 2013
He is the Man
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My daughter was having serious seizures, we were treated at JSMC by Dr Sultan. He explained each and every test that was administered , he was confident and precise on all of Diagnosis's. Currently my daughter is Seizure free under his care. Some may not like his demeanor, but if you want your child to be treated by one of the most respected Dr's in his field, this is the man to go too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 18th, 2012
Worst Care or Lack of
This man calls himself a doctor when he was the only neurologist on call at the hospital and he refused to see a 5 year old patient that was having a 20 minute seizure. He blatantly told the Dr treating the 5 year old that he REFUSES to see this patient. He should have his license taken from him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 5th, 2011
HIS EGO IS HIS WORST ENEMY
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I started seeing Dr.Sultan after seeing his associate at the hospital and this was in early 1990 near the beginning of his pratice which according to his records, he graduated from medical school in 1983. He was quick to pass judgement and even though I was seeing him for headaches anjd Migrane headache medicine was not availible yet, he put me on FUIRINAIL for headaches, but also the strong antidepresant ELEVILL without explaining the true type of drug it was. I found out fr5om a bartender who knew someone who took the ELEVILL and comitted suicide, which is a known side efect of the drug. WHEN I questioned him on why he didn't explain what he was realy prescribing, he got very loud and defensive. That was the last time I saw him as a patient. He sdpotted me out one day and yelled in my direction"HOW ARE THE HEADACHES"?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 24th, 2010
RN
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
very very dissatified could not recognize infant seizures
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2010
Dr. Sultan
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
I have been taking my Daughter to Dr. Sultan for over 12 years. He has been very patient with my daughter and with us as we asked many questions abou ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 3rd, 2010
Susan C.
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
I've been bringing my son Teddy who is autistic to Dr Sultan for years. He has helped change our lives at home by providing the right medication ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Sultan, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Neptune, NJ.

Doctor

Dr. Peter Barcas

30 years experience

3.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Alan Colicchio

33 years experience

2.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Anastasia Eswar

be the first to rate this Doctor