Dr. Richard Kim MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Newport Beach, CA

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 40 patient ratings
  • 22 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.8)

22 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    60%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    25%
  • Wait Time 20.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 7th, 2016
Saved my life !
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Kim was the ONLY doctor out of 5 others that actually listened to my concerns, and was brilliant in his diagnosis. I had come to him with my issues, gave him my thoughts of what I thought it was, he listened and didn't pass me off as crazy, and we were both correct ! It has been a tough recovery, but he is so caring and sincere, I am very grateful for him. We are both in this for the long run and I am comforted to know he is there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 26th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Outstanding doctor. Took time to explain options & plan of action for a successful recovery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2016
Richard Kim is a great surgeon!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's an amazingly good surgeon! That's really all that matters when it's surgery, but he was also great in all other regards!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 19th, 2016
Don't be afraid of back surgery.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
While I waited for weeks to be seen by neurologists who didn't diagnose me correctly, Dr. Kim figured it out. Surgery was so successful, that I went back when the next disc failed. The latter was repaired before the others even got me into their office. That was almost 10 years ago, and I still surf, ski and sail regularly. Spectacular outcome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 7th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Kim is a great Dr and Surgeon! So glad I went with him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 29th, 2015
MD
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He and his office staff were great. He takes almost all insurances. He has great training and great experience. I am a doctor so I know more than most how good a doctor he is. He is very kind and honorable as well as a gifted surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 16th, 2014
Thank you so much Dr Kim!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Kim is a 10 out of 10!!!!! I was having bad back pain and it was getting worse day by day. I had my L4 & L5 fusion by Dr Kim and feel 100% better. I have my life back and I can not thank the team Dr Kim used to help me from day 1 until now enough!!! Thank you all so much! I now have "NO" pain and am back to doing everything I used to do. I am still very careful since its only been 6 months post op but back to working out running and holding my 6 year old son. Thank you Dr Kim!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 11th, 2014
Don G
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I waited for him for 40 minutes and he spoke to me for only 5 minutes. Didn't even show me my MRI. He is very vague in answering questions, will not explain in detail "why" I need surgery, very emotionless and arrogant. Trust me, you can find a much better doctor elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 11th, 2013
Couldn't ask for a better experience!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
First, let me say that I am SHOCKED that there are any bad reviews about Dr. Kim and his staff?! I have had nothing but a PERFECT experience all around. I consulted with Dr. Kim about severe degenerative disc disease (L4-L5 & L5-S1). He recommended a minimally-invasive two-level spinal fusion. He described everything in detail and answered ALL of my questions. Never tried to rush me out. I was totally sold. Then I had a slight problem with my insurance company. Jane (surgery scheduler) and Elia (Nurse Practitioner?) worked every day to get the surgery approved. Kept me in the loop the whole time. And it was approved! I had a my two-level lumbar fusion 2 weeks ago and couldn't be happier! My stay at Hoag was short but fabulous. I could've gone home the day after my surgery but decided to stay one more night...so I went home 2 days after my surgery. I was continuously checked on by Dr. Kim, Elia and Dr. Kim's partner. I had my first follow-up appointment yesterday and saw both Elia and Dr. Kim. All of my questions were answered and I will continue to see them for a few more months. My recovery is going great...I was able to walk a few laps around the hospital the day after my surgery. I can walk up to a mile now (but still get really tired). I am very optimistic about my surgery and recovery...and I think I'm well on my way to getting my life back! Thank you Dr. Kim and staff! I really couldn't have asked for a better experience!

5.0 of 5
September 13th, 2012
Great Dr and Great Staff
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
This entire practice is exceptional, from Dr Kim to his nurse practitioner as well as the entire office staff!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 25th, 2012
His NP is Really the Real Nurse Ratchett
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was diagnosed with a spinal epenymoma. Dr. Kim informed me that there was a 3-5% chance of some hamstring weakness, and this was all he told me pre-surgery. I had the surgery done at Hiag and stayed in the hospital 4 days. He saw me once right after surgery and told me by the way he had to sacrifice a nerve. He told me I had lost sensation in my left nerve and calf but, Don't worry. You may even get some of it back." I was terrified. He never warned me I would need to self catheterize, need to use a walker, and lose all of my sexual feeling following surgery. Three months post-op, luckily I am walking again--but not much else has improved. Dr. Kim was not present on my discharge date and had no idea his staff discharged me to a nursing home where I ran the risk of incurring a staff infection. He leaves all his follow up care to his NP who is conceited, totally devoid of compassion and just plain mean. I was in terrible pain today and called for a scrip refill. Dr. Kim's staff told me his office is closed Friday, so they would page his NP. When she called me to ask what was wrong, she yelled at me for having her paged on her day off. I tried to explain that her staff told me they had to page her. It's not my fault they don't know to call the on call Dr. Dr. Kim is a great surgeon, and he is very sweet. However, I was appalled by my lack of post-op care and his NP.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 5th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am very satisfied with my childs care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Kim, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Newport Beach, CA.