The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Rickey Mckenzie Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Rickey Mckenzie?

Ratings and Reviews

48 Ratings with 11 Comments

  • Excellent
    28
  • Great
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    8
  • Excellent
    28
  • Great
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    8

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
30.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 48 Ratings with 11 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 29th, 2016

I've sat in his office for 2 hrs waiting for pre op if my surgery tomorrow is this disorganized it's been good knowing y'all

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 4th, 2016

Sales Engineer

It has been one tear since Dr. McKenzie did my neck surgery and I have zero complaints. He was very professional and spoke to me like an intelligent human being. His demeanor is outstanding but mist of all he gives you any detail you request and will explain options if you do not understand the technical terminology. If I had an option of any doctor I wanted it would be him without any hesitation.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 24th, 2016

very professional

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 8th, 2013

Lacks empathy...

I am sure he is a wonderful surgeon and has many successes but he lacks the empathy required for consultations. I saw him last year for a herniated disk and was met with a very cold attitude and unwillingness to listen and understand how I was feeling,

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 5th, 2013

attorney

Performed 2 cervicsl fusions on me. Straight forward, answers all questions - couldn't get any better treatment as far as I am concerned. Would use services again and recommend to others

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 17th, 2012

He has done all 3 of my surgeries. He is the only Doctor I want to see. He will not do surgery if you do not need it. He is honest and up front with you.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 4th, 2012

NButler

I was in terrible shape when I had my first appointment. He gave me options and explained everything in detail. Great bedside manner. I had surgery in FEB and have been a new person since. My quality of life had been affected for so long it was frightening, and now that I am out of pain I can see how miserable I really was. I can't thank him enough. Now rehab. May the good Lord help me:)

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 9th, 2012

Conservative treatment, not quick to operate. Upfront about prognosis. After surgery spent time with me(patient) and my husband, explaining the results of what was found vs. what was done for treatment.Would use this doctor again if needed!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 17th, 2011

Very Rude, Biased and Not compassionate at all- Disrespectful to the patient conditions

I was reffered to his clinic. He has a very disrespectful attitude towards his patients. He has no compassion and cannot understand and care about patient needs. Has confict of interests and patient needs.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 10th, 2010

8 years and counting....

Dr. McKenzie performed an L4-L5 fusion on me 8 years ago! He gave me my life back! I have been fortunate enough to have held a few jobs since...school bus driver, preschool teacher and now I am a medical coder! None of this would have been possible if God had not crossed our paths! I am beyond grateful to Dr. Mckenzie! You are an angel!

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 16th, 2008

he performed a discectomy in 2001 on me. If it weren't for Dr. Mc, I'd not be walking today. He is an incredible surgeon.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 20th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Rickey Mckenzie is similar to the following 1 Doctors near Tuscaloosa, AL.

  • Dr. Bryan Givhan

    Dr. Bryan Givhan

    Neurological Surgery

    Tuscaloosa, AL 0 mi

    4.3
    (31)
    27