The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Rick Player Is this you?

Filter Reviews

16 Ratings • 7 Comments

4.0
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
23.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Rick Player?

Showing 12 of 16 Ratings

Appreciative

Posted on May 27th, 2016

We took mom to Dr. Player about 6 mos. ago. She had been treated for COPD by other doctors for years but had developed a lot of pain and no one had satisfied her about what was causing the pain. She thought it was caused by something other than her known medical problems. Dr. Player went the extra mile, not giving up, and did the appropriate tests to find her problem and gave my mom the peace that she needed. He found cancerous tumors in multiple locations. He is a very caring doctor and he lets his patients feel that.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on July 16th, 2015

Do not go to this physician, his staff very very rude, and they will not call in or renew your medication that you have been taking for 10 years. Wants you to go to drug store and buy overcounter medicine. Patient cannot go without medicine that he has been taking for over 10 years and all of a sudden stop.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on December 22nd, 2014

Probably the worst office I have ever been to. Dr. Player is a decent man and a reasonably competent physician, but his office staff is terrible, rude, and unhelpful. They do not return calls at all promptly, the soonest I have ever been called back was 6 hours later, and it is usually the next day or later. They have written me the wrong prescription dosage more than once, and I have had to wait days to get it corrected.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Awesome Pulmonary Doctor

Posted on March 28th, 2013

Dr. Rick Player is a wonderful doctor!! He really care about his patients. I personally thank The Lord for him. He will get down to the bottom of what's wrong with his patients. He will compare new records with old. He will get your records from other hospital from you going to the emergency room to compare. I was in the lobby one day talking to a young man. He was about 25 I think. He said everyone had given up on him. He was in a comma. Dr. Player came along. Hey he is still here Thank God. Thank you Lord for sending us such a wonderful DOCTOR!!!!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 15th, 2012

Absolutely one of the most caring doctors I have came in contact with....I would use him for everything if I could.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 8th, 2011

Dr. Player provides quality care. If you have a question, he can,t answer at that time, he will research an get back to you.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

god complex

Posted on July 12th, 2011

excellent doctor.lacking in personality, god bless the fool.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 24th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on February 24th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on February 6th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on February 3rd, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on July 17th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Rick Player is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Birmingham, AL.