ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Robert Amato Is this you?
  • 23
  • 1
  • 5
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Wait Time
43.5 min
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Robert Amato?


33 Ratings with 11 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 13th, 2017

Active and Committed
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 14th, 2016

DR. Robert. Amato is a rare gem when it comes to doctors. He is an absolutely astounding physician, a wonderful personality, easy to talk to, exceptional oncology knowledge. He is just amazing wonderful man. There is Usually a long wait in the waiting room to get in to see him, but he is well worth the wait. His patients love him.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 14th, 2015

Extremely bright young oncologist experienced in many clinical trials, empathetic staff delivering hope

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 5th, 2012

Miraculous Dr/person/friend

Incredible-husband given 6 mo, Dr Amato gave him 6 more YEARS to live and know his 3 children at the tender age of 2,5,8. Dr. Amato is a kindered soul with passion for his work and patients,exceptional knowledge in his expertise and spot on with his drive to find cures

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 19th, 2012

Now you see him, now you don't

Recommend doing research to determine why his research clinic at Methodist was shut down. Suspect regulatory issues.When treatments stopped working, he did a disappearing act.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 6th, 2012

Dedicated Caring Oncologist

My husband is a long time patient of Dr. Amato. Dr. Amato has dedicated his life to his research to fight cancer. He is so positive and upbeat which puts his patients at ease with his treatment plans. He helps patients with the fight for their life with cutting edge expertise.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 15th, 2012

Highly Recommended

Dr. Amato spends time with each patient per their needs. He does not wear a watch. If you need time with him, he gives you the one on one time you need. If you don't need the time, he moves on to someone who does. Expect to spend some time in his waiting room. Bring reading material, or make friends with the people around you. You'll have time to talk. The excellent quality of treatment you receive when you see him comes at the price of spending time in the waiting room. He is very well regarded by his patient population. Dr Amato is a scientist who is concerned with saving his patients lives as well as finding a cure for cancer. He constantly improves his treatment, individualizing your treatment based on the specific cell attributes in your tumor. No "one size fits all" here. He is well ahead of the curve in the state of the art for cancer treatment because he is personally extending that curve. Expect him to read all of your lab work and radiology and render his opinion on your case with very little sugar coating. He will give you the facts. There is no cure for the diseases Dr Amato is fighting, and they are usually very aggressive, but I have seen him improve the quality of, and extend many lives. Expect him to provide a treatment specific to you. In my opinion Dr. Amato is excellent.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 5th, 2011

Would not recommend

Dr. Amato only cares about his research. He seems so concerned and caring until he pulls you in. Then it is terrible if you are sick. We waited for hours in his office. He lied about what the scans showed. He told us there was no change but when I got copies of the reports there was signifacant change. The cancer grew. He did not want us to know so my husbnd would remain in the trial and he would continue to get money and a guinie pig. My husband died and it is possible that Dr. Amato contributed to his death. I will never know for sure. What I do know is that his last 6 weeks of life was so horrible staying in that office and the lab many hours a day. I wish we had never heard of Dr. Amato.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 4th, 2011

I would recommend Dr. Amato to anyone who is looking for a highly knowlegable, caring and reputable doctor. He is the best!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 15th, 2010

Renal Cell

Dr. Amato has treated me since late 2007. He has been excellent at diagnosing my tumors and has had me on three protocols.Prior to seeing Dr. Amato, I had my left kidney with attached tumor removed, it was over 4lbs. large. Renal cell tumors were found in my right lung. My treatment has been significantly effective due to the excellent care I am getting.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 12th, 2009

TroVax trial

I couldn't have a better Dr. When I was in the fight for my life.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 10th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Robert Amato is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.

  • Dr. Andrew Hamilton

    Internal Medicine, Cardiovascular Disease

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    21
  • Dr. Lakshmipriya Kasirajan

    Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Disease, Sleep Medicine, Critical Care Medicine

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    18
  • Dr. Nisha Rathi

    Dr. Nisha Rathi

    Critical Care Medicine, Pulmonary Disease, Internal Medicine

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    17