Dr. Robert Amato DO Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.2
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (-0.7)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    67%
  • Satisfied
    10%
  • Neutral
    10%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Wait Time 42.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 14th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
DR. Robert. Amato is a rare gem when it comes to doctors. He is an absolutely astounding physician, a wonderful personality, easy to talk to, exceptional oncology knowledge. He is just amazing wonderful man. There is Usually a long wait in the waiting room to get in to see him, but he is well worth the wait. His patients love him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 14th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Extremely bright young oncologist experienced in many clinical trials, empathetic staff delivering hope
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 5th, 2012
Miraculous Dr/person/friend
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Incredible-husband given 6 mo, Dr Amato gave him 6 more YEARS to live and know his 3 children at the tender age of 2,5,8. Dr. Amato is a kindered soul with passion for his work and patients,exceptional knowledge in his expertise and spot on with his drive to find cures
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 19th, 2012
Now you see him, now you don't
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Recommend doing research to determine why his research clinic at Methodist was shut down. Suspect regulatory issues.When treatments stopped working, he did a disappearing act.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 6th, 2012
Dedicated Caring Oncologist
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband is a long time patient of Dr. Amato. Dr. Amato has dedicated his life to his research to fight cancer. He is so positive and upbeat which puts his patients at ease with his treatment plans. He helps patients with the fight for their life with cutting edge expertise.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 15th, 2012
Highly Recommended
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Amato spends time with each patient per their needs. He does not wear a watch. If you need time with him, he gives you the one on one time you need. If you don't need the time, he moves on to someone who does. Expect to spend some time in his waiting room. Bring reading material, or make friends with the people around you. You'll have time to talk. The excellent quality of treatment you receive when you see him comes at the price of spending time in the waiting room. He is very well regarded by his patient population. Dr Amato is a scientist who is concerned with saving his patients lives as well as finding a cure for cancer. He constantly improves his treatment, individualizing your treatment based on the specific cell attributes in your tumor. No "one size fits all" here. He is well ahead of the curve in the state of the art for cancer treatment because he is personally extending that curve. Expect him to read all of your lab work and radiology and render his opinion on your case with very little sugar coating. He will give you the facts. There is no cure for the diseases Dr Amato is fighting, and they are usually very aggressive, but I have seen him improve the quality of, and extend many lives. Expect him to provide a treatment specific to you. In my opinion Dr. Amato is excellent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 5th, 2011
Would not recommend
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Amato only cares about his research. He seems so concerned and caring until he pulls you in. Then it is terrible if you are sick. We waited for hours in his office. He lied about what the scans showed. He told us there was no change but when I got copies of the reports there was signifacant change. The cancer grew. He did not want us to know so my husbnd would remain in the trial and he would continue to get money and a guinie pig. My husband died and it is possible that Dr. Amato contributed to his death. I will never know for sure. What I do know is that his last 6 weeks of life was so horrible staying in that office and the lab many hours a day. I wish we had never heard of Dr. Amato.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 4th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would recommend Dr. Amato to anyone who is looking for a highly knowlegable, caring and reputable doctor. He is the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 15th, 2010
Renal Cell
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Amato has treated me since late 2007. He has been excellent at diagnosing my tumors and has had me on three protocols.Prior to seeing Dr. Amato, I had my left kidney with attached tumor removed, it was over 4lbs. large. Renal cell tumors were found in my right lung. My treatment has been significantly effective due to the excellent care I am getting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 11th, 2009
TroVax trial
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I couldn't have a better Dr. When I was in the fight for my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Robert Amato, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Binh Nguyen

9 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Syed Jafri

9 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Abhijeet Dhoble

9 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor