The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Robert Black Is this you?
  • 14
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 11

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
12.2 min
Bedside Manner

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Robert Black?


29 Ratings with 14 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 27th, 2017

Very Good Doctor

Dr. Black has always treated me as well as I could expect. I was in the hospital twice and not on his behalf but he showed up at my room everyday. He was there just to check on me. I think he cares very much for his patients as well as there families. He has always explained my situation where my wife and I understand.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 8th, 2017

First Appointment

Gave thorough examination with breathing tests, x rays, and physical exam/consultation with doctor. Was not happy with diagnosis, but glad the doctor caught my condition early .

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 27th, 2017

Difficult to Talk To

He is just not an easy doctor to talk with and appears to have no empathy or the ability to express feelings to the patient or family members to put them at ease.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 26th, 2016

Cold and detached are the two words I have for him. How would he like it if he had a family member seriously ill and was treated in the manner he treats them? No smile or word of encouragement much less empathy. Really sad because he is a great dr.

Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2016

He could be more personable and kind.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 18th, 2016

Flat-liner of compassion to the point it is insulting to both patient and family.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

February 6th, 2016

Post Lung Transplant Patient

Dr. Black may not have the bedside manner that everyone thinks he should, but I am alive today partly because of his excellent care. Great Doctor!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 11th, 2015

Not impressed mainly because he doesn't seem "approachable or as others have said, "compassionate." He does know his particular field but I want a doctor who has both qualities.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 9th, 2015

Bedside manners are horrible.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 24th, 2015

His bedside manner is horrible. When talking to the patient and their family, he could be more warm and compassionate. More than that, he could look the patient lying in that bed with a tube down their throat in the eye and introduce himself to them and say something kind. When the patient moves their head and eyes and looks at you and you say nothing at all, I consider that despicable, unkind, and totally unacceptable. I don't care if you are a great doctor because you are, not showing empathy or compassion completely over-rides it all. There are other doctors out there that ARE compassionate, DO show empathy, and take time to "sit down" and talk to the family...not to mention "the patient."

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 14th, 2015

Excellent physician

I have gone to Dr. Black for several years and have seen him in varying degrees of sickness and wellness. I have the utmost respect for his diagnostic abilities. I have always felt his bedside manner was very professional and appropriate.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 13th, 2015

Do not like his personality at all or his bedside manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Robert Black is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Dallas, TX.

  • Dr. Jeffrey Lilly

    Critical Care Medicine, Pulmonary Disease, Internal Medicine

    Dallas, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    12
  • Dr. Irving Prengler

    Hospitalist, Internal Medicine

    Dallas, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    37
  • Dr. Dan Schuller

    Dr. Dan Schuller

    Critical Care Medicine, Pulmonary Disease

    Dallas, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (8)
    31