Dr. Robert Donnelly MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Clearwater, FL

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 38 patient ratings
  • 17 comments

Last 12 months:

3.4 (+ 0.1)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    45%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    8%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    34%
  • Wait Time 23.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
April 11th, 2017
EXPERIENCE, EXPERTISE & WISDOM FAR OUTWEIGH TIME SPENT CONVERSING IN A FRIENDLY MANNER.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I thinnk a healthy dose of PROFESSIONALISM is okay. most of us are full of fear and hypersensitive regarding our injury and the care needed. It is about the diagnosis and medical care needed. To me, I was put more at ease by his matter-of-fact nature. I don't need to be hand-held (I can get that from family and friends). I need to educated/knowledgable direction. Yes, Dr.Donnelly isn't the bubbly type, but he is personable. The more YOU ask the more YOU know. Best to you all & I can guarantee he has not been in practice 20yrs and learned nothing. Let's give him some credit. I found that when I didn't follow the pre-surgery physical therapy request, he ended up refusing to perform the surgery until I complied. I've had a 2nd and 3rd opinion (because I thought "Oh, the nerve of him.") and I could have gotten surgery elsewhere. Something told me that he was probably the most thorough and knowledgeable. Something still tells me that. Don't judge a book by its cover. He is actually a nice guy. *And for the record I am glad the surgeon he shared an office with left. I have to do some research or nothing would sit well with me! After review of THAT guys record, I almost threw Dr.Donnelly away.*
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 21st, 2017
OMG....RUN
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was able to get an appointment fairly quickly, but was called a week before the apt to hear it had to be cjphanged due to the dr not in that day....was given an apt for the next week. Wait time was ridiculous, well over an hour. Once I was taken back to the exam room, it was another 20 minute wait. He had his back towards me most of the visit, except for the quick look at my original knee replacement by another Dr that had a bit of pain after a year. He insisted I needed a decision, not that he did them any more but since I'm such a nice lady, he'd do mine...REALLY? Either you do them or you don't and how did he know if I'm nice, we didn't talk. Off to the surgery scheduler I ago...he had no time to answer any questions. The lady had me sign a waiver stating that if anything went wrong doing surgery, I couldn't sue with a jury, it had to go to arbitration....REALLY???? IVe never heard that one! I scheduled the surgery...drove home had total anxiety, so I called and canceled the surgery. I had a bad feeling about him and am so happy and relieved I didn't follow through, I'm sure there would have npbeen a lot of regrets. Thank yoipu angels for looking over me!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 27th, 2017
surgery
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Appropriate Follow-up
want him as my doctor to take care of me
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 4th, 2016
Stick with your gut!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The initial visit gave me a couple of red flags, but after a 3 1/2 hour wait to see him for the 2nd time, my frustration level was high! He has no regard for your pain level, "nothing more then advil or tylenol couldn't take care of" even though his diagnosis of needing surgery. The exterior of the Clearwater office does not project a well maintained professional clinic. The Dr's that were previously with him are no longer there. With more red flags, I happened upon this site and read his reviews, I have cancelled my surgery and am looking elsewhere. When you have that initial gut feeling, stick with it. Thank goodness for this site, for I would have been another "butchered" client!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 11th, 2016
Back Surgery gone wrong
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had back surgery in 2007 by Dr Donnelly and my life has been ruined from it. I worked and drove a car until the day before my surgery, and here it is 2016 and I'm stuck in a wheelchair and using a walker. He shouldn't be practicing medicine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 1st, 2016
Listen to that little voice...
Because of that little voice in my head after my initial visit I went for a second opinion - promptly canceled the surgery that was scheduled and will not go back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 5th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor butchered me. My incision is about 8 inches or more for hip replacement surgery. He sliced into my buttocks and it is deformed. I was at the hospital at 10:30 am and my surgery was after dark. I think he was tired and wanted to get it over with quick. I would not advise anyone to go to him. He's not personable or very polite, very standoffish.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 27th, 2016
Cortisone shot
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
I took my mother for a cortisone shot as she is bone on bone. He didn't appear to be with it! He fumbled for the shot, the alcohol, the band aide. Didn't explain X-ray results, overall a very unsettling experience, I would search for another Doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Donnelly was very thorough and I never felt rushed at all. He was very empathetic and gave great advice and range of options, I would highly recommend him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 6th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Donnelly needs to to hire a nurse and go back to school to learn how to aspirate fluid from a knee. He does not use an ultrasound to find the compartment and blindly stabbed my knee twice, hitting my nerve twice, unsuccessfully injecting cortisone as well. While the staff were very nice, stay away from the MD who requires that you sign away your rights to legal action.

5.0 of 5
April 9th, 2013
Ms
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Donnely is forthcoming, pleasant, well educated and trained. You must be honest with your Dr. I had needed the knee repla ed for about 10 yrs. He xrayed me, took a history and told me to s hedule an appt with Regina. Went to Largo Hosp, had surgery was fearful of pain, the pzin was in the muscle like I exercised to .ong, but 4 days later I was at home witn al ost 90degree bend. Dr. Donnely and his staff are stellar.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 27th, 2012
I DID NOT HAVE A GOOD EXPERIENCE. AVOID THIS DOCTOR.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My surgery was mishandled. My knee cap has given me a lot of problems. I had a total knee replacement and am having a lot of problems. Mentally Dr. Donnelly does not seem to be there. He is vague and does not have a caring personality. I would not recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Robert Donnelly, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Clearwater, FL.