The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Robert Filer Is this you?
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 4
  • 6

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
11.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Robert Filer?


16 Ratings with 12 Comments

2.0 Rating

April 25th, 2016

This worst place ever , the staff are rude and the doctor should be fired . I felt that he didn't know what the he'll be was talking about .He is bit strange .

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 24th, 2015

Worst Experience

Inaccurate diagnosis. Perfomed very few test. The operating room was not what I would expect with a craftsmen tool box used to store medical tools. Pushed IVF with the use of donor eggs. When asked a question their was never an answer given. We spent alot of money and a year of time with him and left with no more answers and no further ahead then when we started. Recently went to another doctor and in 2 weeks was diagnosised with endometriosis. When copies of medical records were requested only portions of the records were given. Had to fight to get a complete set of medical records. Treats patients like a heard of cattle.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 18th, 2015

Great experience

We visited the office for the first time yesterday. Before I visited, I read these reviews and I almost cancelled my appointment. I even called my OB and asked her if she really thought this place was a good idea, because what I read on here was unsettling. She said they always recommend this practice and they have her full support. So I decided to try it bc I trust my OB. Our experience was amazing. We didn't see dr filer, we saw Dr. Munch. I read the reviews on her "attitude" and now I just laugh. She was the nicest lady I believe I have ever dealt with in the medical field. She reassured us, took about two hours with us to go over options and thoroughly explained things. We asked the same questions probably a million times and she didn't care, just explained it again. She even pushed a test through quicker for us, because we were very nervous about the results. I do not have anything bad to say about her or the office, it was a great experience and we have strong confidence that they will give us the best care possible. Don't believe everything you read online. Some of those incidents probably happened because of underlying medical issues that nobody can control. I would definitely recommend giving her a try. Im looking forward to my journey with them!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 23rd, 2015

Amazing doctor and staff

My experience with Dr. Filer and his staff was amazing. I have nothing negative to say. I have two beautiful children (via IVF) thanks to The Fertility Center. I am shocked to read these other reviews and would like to hear the entire story, as I don't believe that they are an accurate representation of what happened. I would suggest Dr. Filer to anyone and I consider him and his staff to be a part of my family. I will always be grateful to them. I would choose the personal experience I had with The Fertility Center over the business minded Shady Grove any day.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 20th, 2013

R-U-N!!!!! BEWARE!!!

Michelle Munch did an exam and found a fibroid that needed to come out before we could start fertility treatment. Had a consult prior to surgery with Dr.Filer. He told us this would be "routine" surgery and we could start treatment within 6 weeks of surgery. In the recovery room after surgery I was woken up to the news that Dr. filer did an emergency hysterectomy!!!!!!!!! WITHOUT MY CONSENT!!!! A nurse came to visit me in my hospital room because she was concerned about me and told me that Dr. Filer wasnt even going to tell me the mews......he was going to let my husband drop the bomb!!! when I went to his office for 1 week check up he was SUPER cold! When I asked him how often this type of thing happens, he said it was the first time in 30 years. Now I am finding out from other former patients of his that this happens ALL THE TIME!! BEWARE!!! I went to dr.filer to get pregnant and he took the opportunity from me FOREVER!!!!!

Wait time
5 minutes
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

April 5th, 2012

Waste of time and money

I was shocked on the lack of communication and knowledge. They didn't really do any testing prior and just jumped right to IUI. They drew one tube of blood. I have no idea why and heard nothing from that vial of blood. The Lancaster office is pretty much ran by two front desk staff. They had no badges or name tags. I didn't think they were nurses but they drew my blood. My iui worked but they called me and said expect a miscarriage. Told me to come back in a week. (they should have been doing my hcg levels every 2-3 days) then at my next appointment they said everything looks great and we will see you next week. I came back next week and they said to expect a miscarriage again. Then told me to come back in a week. Well I insisted on coming back in 3 days. Thank god I did that. Because that morning I miscarried and knew it. I told the lady drawing my blood. She totally ignored me. I told her again and she said okay well no one is here so they will call you. No one ever seems to be there. So finally they call me and say well yes you miscarried but you didn't pass it call us in a week if you don't pass it and we will do something. I have no idea what to look for or expect. I have to look up everything on the Internet the doctors never bother to call you they just tell their clueless frontdesk staff to do everything for them. Not to mention the one time they got me confused with another patient. Go somewhere else that is professional and wants to communicate with you and not just steal your money and time.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 15th, 2011

RUN RUN RUN

Our experience with The Fertility Center is exactly what you read in the other reviews (wish I had found this sooner). The process is very cryptic, the dont tell you much such as your levels after blood work,etc. The dont make you feel like part of the process more like it is happening to you. The nurse Sue, is mean not one for small talk slightly rude. Michelle Munch is direct but very aloof and Dr. Filer is quite animated gives me the feeling "I'm not a doctor, I just play one on tv". As far as the cycle, they triggered too soon so it was a wash and they dont grade the embryos. I wonder how experienced the embryologist is.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 20th, 2011

Rude

I agree- this should be 2 reviews; one for Dr. Filer and one for Michelle Munch, the NP. We never saw Dr. Filer, not even for our initial appointment. Our first visit with Michelle was great; she sat down with us and answered all of our questions. That was the only time she was great- every phone call to her office after that initial visit was never returned until I called a second time and then her return call was more than unfriendly. She has gone through IVF herself so she should be more understanding and caring for what her patients are going through. She also called and gave us TERRIBLE news over the phone, news that should have been told to us in person in the office. We have since turned to another infertility specialist and will not recommend Michelle Munch/ Dr. Filer to anyone.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 24th, 2010

Poor and inaccurate diagnosis

The diagnosis was very inaccurate. Wanted to push IVF with the use of donor eggs before doing proper testing. Went to another specialist and in 2 weeks had an accurate diagnoses of endometriosis,lesions, and tubal sists. Spent alot of money with filer over a one year period and left no further ahead then when we started. Not to mention the craftsmen toolbox in the operating room used to store medical tools.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 23rd, 2010

This really should be two ratings one for Dr. Filer and one for his nurse practioner, Michelle Munch. I saw Dr filer only a hand full of times & I though he was a great. Very caring. Michelle on the other hand wasn't nearly as nice and when we asked questions she never reallly answered us. As for diagnosing us, very few tests were done. We have moved on to another doc & have found out all sorts of things that were in Dr. Filer's file that we were never told! Things that should have caused them to skip some treatments yet the continued anyway. I think Dr Filer would be well served to handle a file himself and limit Michell's role. Seems like you only get to him if you go the IVF route and Michelle is NOT pleasant to work with!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 26th, 2010

Excellent practice
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.3 Rating

May 25th, 2010

Dr. Filer was nice during the few interactions we had with him. It seemed as though too much responsibility was passed on to his nurse practitioner. We rarely saw Dr. Filer. Nurse practitioner was sometimes rude when we had questions. Left to go to another practice and haven't looked back!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Robert Filer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near York, PA.

  • Dr. Melanie Ochalski

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    York, PA 0.01 mi

    4.2
    (5)
    10
  • Dr. Rebecca Burdette

    Gynecology, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    York, PA 0.21 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    24
  • Dr. Ronald Hempling

    Dr. Ronald Hempling

    Gynecologic Oncology, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    York, PA 1.10 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    43